We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Donnington Guesthouse

43 Treyew Road, Truro TR1 2BY, England
Hotel amenities
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Donnington Guesthouse
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
The Donnington Guesthouse
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    39
    23
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
14
21
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (82)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
44 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked through hotels.com. Received a phone call morning of arrival asking what time I'd be checking in, as the lady needed to go shopping and wanted to be there when I arrived. Whilst I appreciated not turning up to no-one there, it then put me under pressure to be back from visiting my friend at the time I'd said I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we very much appreciate your feedback. We do ask all our guests for an approximate time of arrival when they book with us. We are a family run business and so having an approximate time means we can be absolutely sure that we are here when guests arrive. We... More 

Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

Booked the hotel via Expedia as it was very close to where I needed to be in Truro. Booking was fine as was the price. Went with my 6 year old daughter. Booked the room that could sleep up to 4 people, or so I thought. My first insight into the hotel was a phone call asking me when I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and this feedback was very useful for us. We are really sorry that you were disappointed. Your reservation that we received through Expedia was for one adult in a double en-suite room and had no time of arrival. We contacted you for an approximate time of arrival in case it... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

We stayed for 1 night and on arrival was greeted by Tracey, who was very Friendly and helpful. We were very disappointed with the room as we booked a 'Deluxe Room' which was far from Deluxe, in the bathroom the taps on the sink were loose, the curtains in the bedroom are missing hooks and didn't look good and bedside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

The owner was very friendly, the bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the shower gave a good jet of water, and the breakfast was good. Although we were in a front room the traffic was not too bad during the night (until after 7.00am). Having given the above good points, I have felt unable to grade it more than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Me and my boyfriend stayed a week in the guest house. The staff were very friendly and happy to help we stayed in room 1 which overlooked the cathedral. The room was nice, came with a heater as it did tend to get cold due to the sash windows. Extra duvets are also provided. I would recommend this hotel, you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

I really cant say enough great things about this guesthouse, after turning up at just before midnight without any prior booking (after been stranded in Truro for the night) me and a friend and my 5 year old son was given a very friendly welcome by Darragh. We was taken straight to a room which was spotless and very spacious.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Majahual, Quintana Roo, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Recently stayed at The Donnington for a long weekend. Was impressed by the friendly greeting by the lady who showed us our room. All the staff were knowledgeable about the area, which was good as it was our first visit to Truro. Rooms were spotless and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We felt part of a family... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

Given a room on the ground floor in the left hand house Opened the door to a stench of damp.... Looked up to a grid ceiling as you would find in an office. Bathroom mouldy.... Windows locked so unable to air. Vile and disgusting sums this hole up

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

We stayed here for three nights and used The Donnington as a base to visit Cornwall and surrounding areas. The room was basic but comfortable and had all we needed. The breakfasts are very good and the service was friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Mattress on the bed was ancient and uncomfortable, bed linen did not appear fresh. Toilet and shower fully functional but dated. Breakfast felt cramped and rushed. Paid 60 pounds out of season and wouldn't go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take on board your comments and will use them to improve our service to others. One area which we can improve for future guests straight away is where you mention a cramped feeling at breakfast.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay