We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Donnington Guesthouse

3.0 of 5 43 Treyew Road, Truro TR1 2BY, England
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Donnington Guesthouse
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Donnington Guesthouse
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    22
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
12
18
17
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (76)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Majahual, Quintana Roo, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Recently stayed at The Donnington for a long weekend. Was impressed by the friendly greeting by the lady who showed us our room. All the staff were knowledgeable about the area, which was good as it was our first visit to Truro. Rooms were spotless and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We felt part of a family... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Given a room on the ground floor in the left hand house Opened the door to a stench of damp.... Looked up to a grid ceiling as you would find in an office. Bathroom mouldy.... Windows locked so unable to air. Vile and disgusting sums this hole up

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for three nights and used The Donnington as a base to visit Cornwall and surrounding areas. The room was basic but comfortable and had all we needed. The breakfasts are very good and the service was friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Mattress on the bed was ancient and uncomfortable, bed linen did not appear fresh. Toilet and shower fully functional but dated. Breakfast felt cramped and rushed. Paid 60 pounds out of season and wouldn't go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take on board your comments and will use them to improve our service to others. One area which we can improve for future guests straight away is where you mention a cramped feeling at breakfast.... More 

Ipplepen, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

We needed to be in Truro overnight and found this place through LateRooms.com. It was easy to find with ample free parking. We were warmly received and our double room was spacious with a large ensuite bath and shower room. Breakfast was tasty and served well and in a reasonable time. We will happily stay again if needing to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Stayed here for just 1 night whilst touring Cornwall. It's a nice place with a proper traditional guest house feel. I took a single room which had an en-suite shower and basin. The toilet was down the landin. The tarriff fairly reflected this. The room was nice with TV, hospitality tray and the bed was very comfortable. Although fine for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights while visiting Tall Ships Regatta at nearby Falmouth..... Was greeted with a warm and friendly welcome which was continued throughout the stay The staff were excellent and were always willing to assist with local information....Nothing was ever too much trouble for them Room was clean and comfortable and not obtrusively noisy even if it was at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I arrived at The Donnington without a booking late one Friday night in July 2014. I had been let down elsewhere. The friendly young man immediately took me in, offered a room, carried my heavy bag up several flights of stairs. The room was clean and pleasant with a lovely view of Truro. Next morning the friendly breakfast staff looked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Just stayed here only for one night to visit some family. Room was clean and tidy with a fridge which I suspect would be useful if you were staying for longer. Comfortable bed, good breakfast and very friendly staff. Will definitely stay again when this way again - great value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed with husband and adult daughter as visiting friends in truro. Slightly datedand small room but clean and provides everything you need. Very friendly helpful owner. Only real complaint very light curtains on a bright sunny morning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our guesthouse. We are delighted that you found us friendly and you had everything you need. We appreciate your comment about the curtains and we will look to an alternative or to have them lined. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Donnington Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donnington Guesthouse

Address: 43 Treyew Road, Truro TR1 2BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Donnington Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Donnington Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Donnington Guesthouse Truro, Cornwall

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay