We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Donnington Guesthouse

43 Treyew Road, Truro TR1 2BY, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Donnington Guesthouse
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Donnington Guesthouse
Review This Hotel

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    23
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
13
21
17
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (80)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 1 night and on arrival was greeted by Tracey, who was very Friendly and helpful. We were very disappointed with the room as we booked a 'Deluxe Room' which was far from Deluxe, in the bathroom the taps on the sink were loose, the curtains in the bedroom are missing hooks and didn't look good and bedside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The owner was very friendly, the bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the shower gave a good jet of water, and the breakfast was good. Although we were in a front room the traffic was not too bad during the night (until after 7.00am). Having given the above good points, I have felt unable to grade it more than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Me and my boyfriend stayed a week in the guest house. The staff were very friendly and happy to help we stayed in room 1 which overlooked the cathedral. The room was nice, came with a heater as it did tend to get cold due to the sash windows. Extra duvets are also provided. I would recommend this hotel, you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

I really cant say enough great things about this guesthouse, after turning up at just before midnight without any prior booking (after been stranded in Truro for the night) me and a friend and my 5 year old son was given a very friendly welcome by Darragh. We was taken straight to a room which was spotless and very spacious.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Majahual, Quintana Roo, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Recently stayed at The Donnington for a long weekend. Was impressed by the friendly greeting by the lady who showed us our room. All the staff were knowledgeable about the area, which was good as it was our first visit to Truro. Rooms were spotless and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We felt part of a family... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

Given a room on the ground floor in the left hand house Opened the door to a stench of damp.... Looked up to a grid ceiling as you would find in an office. Bathroom mouldy.... Windows locked so unable to air. Vile and disgusting sums this hole up

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

We stayed here for three nights and used The Donnington as a base to visit Cornwall and surrounding areas. The room was basic but comfortable and had all we needed. The breakfasts are very good and the service was friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Mattress on the bed was ancient and uncomfortable, bed linen did not appear fresh. Toilet and shower fully functional but dated. Breakfast felt cramped and rushed. Paid 60 pounds out of season and wouldn't go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take on board your comments and will use them to improve our service to others. One area which we can improve for future guests straight away is where you mention a cramped feeling at breakfast.... More 

Ipplepen, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

We needed to be in Truro overnight and found this place through LateRooms.com. It was easy to find with ample free parking. We were warmly received and our double room was spacious with a large ensuite bath and shower room. Breakfast was tasty and served well and in a reasonable time. We will happily stay again if needing to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Stayed here for just 1 night whilst touring Cornwall. It's a nice place with a proper traditional guest house feel. I took a single room which had an en-suite shower and basin. The toilet was down the landin. The tarriff fairly reflected this. The room was nice with TV, hospitality tray and the bed was very comfortable. Although fine for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question