We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Truro B&Bs / inns

The Donnington Guesthouse

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   43 Treyew Road, Truro TR1 2BY, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Donnington Guesthouse to your Saves list
The Donnington Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
80%
Ranked #23 of 38 Truro B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Chris B Chippenham, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (68)
  • Photos (35)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    18
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
15
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just stayed here only for one night to visit some family. Room was clean and tidy with a fridge which I suspect would be useful if you were staying for longer. Comfortable bed, good breakfast and very friendly staff. Will definitely stay again when this way again - great value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed with husband and adult daughter as visiting friends in truro. Slightly datedand small room but clean and provides everything you need. Very friendly helpful owner. Only real complaint very light curtains on a bright sunny morning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our guesthouse. We are delighted that you found us friendly and you had everything you need. We appreciate your comment about the curtains and we will look to an alternative or to have them lined. More

Magnetic Island, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived here after a long drive and were very welcomed by the staff. Our room was clean and comfortable. We had a problem with the heating of the shower and after contacting the staff - who was very helpful - told us we would need to wait for 30 minutes before my husband could have his shower. I feel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our guesthouse. We too, were very disappointed about the shower situation, which was due to really unfortunate circumstances and shouldn't happen again after a visit from a plumber. We were very sorry this happened. We are pleased that you found us all helpful and the breakfast tasty and I... More

Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although this B&B had quite a 1980s feel about it and perhaps would benefit from being updated, everything was absolutely okay - clean room, ensuite (though a tiny basin!), comfortable bed, friendly staff and standard breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are delighted you noted our commitment to cleanliness, comfort and friendliness. I have passed your comments on to the team as they work very hard and deserve this recognition. We hope we offer value but not at the expense of comfort and quality of experience and the vast... More

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ok, so you book a room for £35 including full english - you know it is not going to trouble the Ritz. However whilst the room was compact, and to be fair could do with a spruce up I have stayed at places twice the price and had a worse deal. The welcome from the owner was 'welcome' after a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your very fair review of one of our single rooms. Our three singles gain many more reviews than our other rooms. We do hope that we charge a very reasonable rate for them, from £25 to £35 depending on the season. As you noted, this rate includes a full English cooked breakfast, parking and a location which... More

Wigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Donnington and I have to say it was all round lovely experience. I have never felt so comfortable at a guest house, we had such a lovely welcome the staff at the guest house could not have been more helpful! We had a double room which had lovely views was very clean, light and somewhat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our guesthouse. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated our commitment to cleanliness, friendliness and comfort. I have passed your kind words on to our team. More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

The online booking was simple to use and confirmation arrived quickly. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly member of staff who showed us the breakfast room and then showed us to our room and made sure everything was ok. Our room was on the top floor and other than 2 flights of stairs it was lovely and homely.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our guesthouse and we very much appreciate your recognition of our friendliness in the title of your review. We were very sorry that there were a couple of issues because as with all our guests' stays we hope there are no problems at all. I was pleased that we... More

Tasmania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was my second stay at the Donnington with the same warm welcome as previously, however this time I stayed in the house that contains the dining room and kitchen. My room was lovely and sunny but also stifling hot. The heating was on high even though it was June and with no windows open it was like an oven.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of one of our single rooms. Our three singles gain many more reviews than our other rooms. We do hope that we charge a very reasonable rate for them, from £25 to £35 depending on the season. This rate includes a full English cooked breakfast, free parking and a location which is walking distance to... More

Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Having had a horrific experience at another B&B where we couldn't face even putting our bags down in the room, Donnington was a welcome relief. A quick phone call to check availability, we turned up 5 minutes later to a warm and friendly welcome, a clean ensuite room and fantastic service. Only thing I would say is it would help... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and we were so pleased that you came to stay with us so that you had a good stay in Truro. We have passed your comments on to the team and they are delighted too. We hope we will see you again next time you are visiting the area. More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
66 hotel reviews
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The wrelcome was warm but the room was not good, the shower and the basin shared the room with the bed, with the toilet across the landing. The mattress was very old as was the linen. The only new thing was the TV. If the room was as nice as the welcome then I would come back not as it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of one of our single rooms. Our three singles gain many more reviews than our other rooms. We do hope that we charge a very reasonable rate for them, from £25 to £35 depending on the season and this rate includes a full English cooked breakfast, parking and a location which is walking distance to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Donnington Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Donnington Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donnington Guesthouse

Address: 43 Treyew Road, Truro TR1 2BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Donnington Guesthouse 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Donnington Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Donnington Guesthouse Truro, Cornwall

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Truro with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
6

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Donnington Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer