We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 39 Truro B&Bs / inns

The Donnington Guesthouse

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   43 Treyew Road, Truro TR1 2BY, England
Hotel amenities
The Donnington Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The Donnington Guesthouse to your Saves list
81%
Ranked #24 of 39 Truro B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014
Tony M Ipplepen, England, United Kingdom
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    21
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
16
17
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (72)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Ipplepen, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

We needed to be in Truro overnight and found this place through LateRooms.com. It was easy to find with ample free parking. We were warmly received and our double room was spacious with a large ensuite bath and shower room. Breakfast was tasty and served well and in a reasonable time. We will happily stay again if needing to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Stayed here for just 1 night whilst touring Cornwall. It's a nice place with a proper traditional guest house feel. I took a single room which had an en-suite shower and basin. The toilet was down the landin. The tarriff fairly reflected this. The room was nice with TV, hospitality tray and the bed was very comfortable. Although fine for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights while visiting Tall Ships Regatta at nearby Falmouth..... Was greeted with a warm and friendly welcome which was continued throughout the stay The staff were excellent and were always willing to assist with local information....Nothing was ever too much trouble for them Room was clean and comfortable and not obtrusively noisy even if it was at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I arrived at The Donnington without a booking late one Friday night in July 2014. I had been let down elsewhere. The friendly young man immediately took me in, offered a room, carried my heavy bag up several flights of stairs. The room was clean and pleasant with a lovely view of Truro. Next morning the friendly breakfast staff looked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Just stayed here only for one night to visit some family. Room was clean and tidy with a fridge which I suspect would be useful if you were staying for longer. Comfortable bed, good breakfast and very friendly staff. Will definitely stay again when this way again - great value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed with husband and adult daughter as visiting friends in truro. Slightly datedand small room but clean and provides everything you need. Very friendly helpful owner. Only real complaint very light curtains on a bright sunny morning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our guesthouse. We are delighted that you found us friendly and you had everything you need. We appreciate your comment about the curtains and we will look to an alternative or to have them lined. More

Magnetic Island, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We arrived here after a long drive and were very welcomed by the staff. Our room was clean and comfortable. We had a problem with the heating of the shower and after contacting the staff - who was very helpful - told us we would need to wait for 30 minutes before my husband could have his shower. I feel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our guesthouse. We too, were very disappointed about the shower situation, which was due to really unfortunate circumstances and shouldn't happen again after a visit from a plumber. We were very sorry this happened. We are pleased that you found us all helpful and the breakfast tasty and I... More

Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Although this B&B had quite a 1980s feel about it and perhaps would benefit from being updated, everything was absolutely okay - clean room, ensuite (though a tiny basin!), comfortable bed, friendly staff and standard breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are delighted you noted our commitment to cleanliness, comfort and friendliness. I have passed your comments on to the team as they work very hard and deserve this recognition. We hope we offer value but not at the expense of comfort and quality of experience and the vast... More

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Ok, so you book a room for £35 including full english - you know it is not going to trouble the Ritz. However whilst the room was compact, and to be fair could do with a spruce up I have stayed at places twice the price and had a worse deal. The welcome from the owner was 'welcome' after a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your very fair review of one of our single rooms. Our three singles gain many more reviews than our other rooms. We do hope that we charge a very reasonable rate for them, from £25 to £35 depending on the season. As you noted, this rate includes a full English cooked breakfast, parking and a location which... More

Wigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Donnington and I have to say it was all round lovely experience. I have never felt so comfortable at a guest house, we had such a lovely welcome the staff at the guest house could not have been more helpful! We had a double room which had lovely views was very clean, light and somewhat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our guesthouse. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated our commitment to cleanliness, friendliness and comfort. I have passed your kind words on to our team. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Donnington Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donnington Guesthouse

Address: 43 Treyew Road, Truro TR1 2BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Donnington Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your The Donnington Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Donnington Guesthouse Truro, Cornwall

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay