We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge

4.0 of 5 High Street, Aylburton GL15 6DE, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    26
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
20
54
1
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (118)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and I together with 4 other friends visited The George for Sunday lunch. Once again we were not disappointed, we have been there before and always had an excellent meal. I had some Beef & Pork, the meat melted in your mouth. It was so tender and succulent. We will be going again. Brian Smith, Maisemore

Was this review helpful? Yes
PubLodgeCSM, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review Mr Smith. We work very hard to ensure the food we serve is of a very high quality and that is why we use a trusted and experienced local Butcher for our Sunday Carvery meats and start preparing the slow roasted meats from 5am every Sunday morning. We always value our customers feedback... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Being a veggie family, breakfasts in hotels can be a disappointing experience where you are made to feel 'odd' and like a second class citizen, just because you don't want to eat animals. Well the guys at The George were brilliant, going out of their way to get veggie food, and with a smile on their faces too! The restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We stayed for one night only, as we were going to a wedding in Lydney.The room was welcoming, clean and comfortable, with lots of storage and a very comfy bed too.There were tea/coffee making facilities. The shower was large and bathroom also had shower and hand gels.Lots of clean, fluffy towels were provided. Breakfast was fresh cooked to order and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

The people who moaned about their room must have been above us and made it absolutely clear they wasn't going to enjoy their stay from over heard conversations. The doors lock fine and we would just make sure our child didn't go out the door. We did hear them drag something across the room but really wouldn't be needed as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

If you want to stay in a place showing the qualities and hospitality of The Forest Of Dean this is not the place. In the lodge we had a two family rooms . One was number 12 at the top of the block with no inside lock meaning our 2 year old Granddaughter could open the door at the top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PubLodgeCSM, General Manager at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this review

I would firstly like to thank you for your feedback and would like to add a reply to the points raised in your review. My staff and I work very hard to ensure all our guests leave having received the best possible service and always ask that guests give us constructive feedback before checking out. We also ask to let... More 

Par, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

We stayed one night on route to Berkeley Gloucester just by selecting randomly.The room was amazing. The food was to die for the culinary skills of the head chef was superb.The staff were so welcoming and friendly. This place is so worth a visit we will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We ordered and waited and waited for the food well over 45 minutes for fish and chips. Only when ww asked was the food miraculously produced. Beer was not of good quality and not worthy of cask marque. Wont be coming here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Arrived early evening,was shown to our room which was lovely and had a meal in the pub,I would definitely recommend the steak,staff were very friendly and attentive. Would definitely stay again,loved it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed for 5 days in a ground floor room away from the traffic. Lovely welcome from the really helpful staff at the hotel, great accommodation with just a couple of pointers. As you will expect in a converted building the sound proofing isn't great but I now know the ins and outs of my angry northern neighbours insurance claim and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
cumbria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed for 1 night only. Had dinner in the pub and the food was really good. The room was comfortable (if not a bit noisy from next doors TV). Lots of space and overall a good stay. The bathroom didn't have toiletries and would have also benefited from there being an iron in the room rather than having to go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge

Address: High Street, Aylburton GL15 6DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Aylburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
0:48
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay