We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
High Street | Forest of Dean, Aylburton GL15 6DE, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have just spent a very enjoyable weekend at Millingbrook Lodge & The George Inn. Our room at The Lodge was well appointed, comfortable and above all very clean, with lovely traditional furnishings. We ate breakfast and evening meals at the George Inn and all were delicious and freshly cooked. All the staff were friendly and polite and made us... More 

Helpful?
Thank jalous410
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was great no sign of damp but a very strong smell of it. Opening the bathroom door was like getting a whiff of old wet towels. Room smelt a tad damp too. That said it's nothing a really good air freshner couldn't fix. The bed however was a total nightmare and very very poor quality. I've never slept so... More 

Helpful?
Thank 58trace
donnylassGloucester, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this review

We take all reviews seriously it helps us to continually improve our service.All our rooms are aired by the cleaning staff on a daily basis and cleaned to a high standard also air freshened.As per the beds all the mattresses have been replaced the only thing we the owners can't do is cater for everyones ergonomic bed requirements i.e. soft,... More 

Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We checked into reception easily, which is attached to the bar. The bar has a local feel but very friendly and warm. It has a restaurant with a fantastic English menu in a lovely setting with exposed timber and fairy lighting. Food was exceptional!!! The room is very clean and spacious with clean white bedding but finished off with coloured... More 

Helpful?
Thank taragoviews
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having never stayed in Lydney before I did a search for somewhere to stay and was not disappointed with my choice. Millingbrook Lodge was only 5 minutes away from my customer so was ideal. Good room with ensuite facilities, clean and wifi so could do some work after dinner. The food in the George is very good as were the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Malcolmelwood
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here in january! We were pleasantly suprised upon entering the room, with open stone walls and lovely decor in a spacious room. There is a small tv and basic facilities including kettle and cups. The bathroom seemed clean and nicely decorated however on a slight negative there was a really awful smell coming from there,not sure if it's drains... More 

Helpful?
Thank lorean811
West Country
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

Disappointing Sunday lunch - overcooked, tough beef, teeny Yorkshire pud (with a stuffing ball in the centre!), potatoes and parsnips that tasted deep fried, veg ok. Have had much better carveries elsewhere for the same price? Will look for somewhere else to eat when we next visit relatives in Lydney.

Helpful?
Thank Happycouple01
donnylassGloucester, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for your response. We had served over 100 people on the carvery and no other negative comments were forthcoming about the beef.All the potatoes and parsnips are straight from the oven roasted and all the veg is indeed prepared on the day so as to maintain freshness. If you would have informed me on the day i could have... More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

Haven't stayed in the rooms as I live local but I have visited several times for the restaurant as well as returning for the 2nd year in a row for the festive menu with some friends. We always have a great time - beautiful decor and ambiance to set the feel, and the food is excellent and well worth the... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChalkyB8792
donnylassGloucester, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review good value as well as great tasting food is always at the top of our priorities here at the george inn.We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us hope to see you soon. Have a good 2016 Ian & Carole More 

Lydney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015

I have just had one of the best meals, ever. Though we were just there for a meal, the hotel part of the business, in a separate attractive building looked most inviting situated on the other side of a forecourt. The George is the restaurant and pub side of the business. It looks attractive , both inside and out. My... More 

Helpful?
Thank deardarth1
donnylassGloucester, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review we are always pleased to greet customers both old and new. We like to think our menu certainly gives food for thought. We have a great team in the kitchen who home cook most of our food and we are very proud to do so hope to see you again soon. Best regards Carole &... More 

gloucestershire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015

We popped in early 5.30pm on a wet & windy Friday evening.... the little blonde waitress was very welcoming as was the owner who informed us most of the food was homemade......I chose the duck my husband the chicken.......both beautifully cooked....we often eat here....so we're pleased to see the standards are still very high. We will be returning again very... More 

Helpful?
Thank essvana
donnylassGloucester, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind review We hope to see you again in the near future we always endeavour to keep our standards at a high level and reviews like this mean we are still maintaining a high standard Best regards Carole & Ian More 

Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

Went here as the pub we were going to was closed on a Tuesday lunchtime. Saw a Trip Advisor sticker on the door so was confident we would find good food here. We had various meals including fish and chips, cottage pie, scampi, chicken goujons (home made) and sausage and mash. Everyone agreed that what they had was extremely good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
donnylassGloucester, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review were so glad we could accommodate you and also pleased you enjoyed your dining experience with us, 80% of our food is homemade with fresh produce all made by our chefs. We certainly look forward to seeing you again if you are in the area. best regards Carole Ian & the team. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylburton
6.4 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
4.7 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
0.9 mi away
DeanGate Motel
DeanGate Motel
#1 of 1 in Lydney
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#8 of 10 in Coleford
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay