We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kings Arms

Certificate of Excellence
2 Front Street, Portesham, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kings Arms
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Kings Arms
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    25
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
26
34
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (82)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Kings Arms
See the most recent reviews
Dorset, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
30 hotel reviews
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Lived in Dorset for over 20 years and always avoided this pub until recently as it looked uninviting. I believe it changed hands recently and it is now not only attraction from the outside but lovely inside. Very welcoming staff, a lovely lay out inside with soft seating as well as tables and chairs for dining and drinking. They also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KingsArmsPortesham, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write. Glad the outside changes were enough to encourage you to come and try us. Even more pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience once inside. We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks Jo More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had visited the restaurant at the Kings Arms a few months ago but found the food and ambience to be distinctly average. Since then, the the restaurant has changed hands and the improvement is simply stellar. Being welcomed by the owner at the front door with a warm, friendly smile is a nice touch and we were made to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KingsArmsPortesham, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Always good to hear when a guest has enjoyed their time with us and appreciate the effort that has gone into the service, ambience and overall experience. We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks Jo More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were looking for a nice beer garden while driving between Bridport and Weymouth and spotted The King's Arms. I used to live in Dorset so I was pleased to see some Otter Amber on tap which was my favorite local ale, the temperature and pouring was spot on. We decided to have the fish platter with a couple of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KingsArmsPortesham, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write. Great to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us. We will shortly be starting our Summer menu which will include a good selection of new seafood dishes to enjoy. Thanks Jo More 

London
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had dinner here with some friends on a Sunday evening, when the place was fairly quiet. Food was very good. Pleasant room and general ambience. Attentive service from the ebullient Claud. And reasonable prices. All round, a very agreeable experience and I wish the new owners well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KingsArmsPortesham, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and wishes in our new venture at The Kings Arms. Also much appreciated in recognising Claude in his efforts to always provide a warm and welcoming service. We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks Jo More 

Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Very good attentive service, lovely to be welcomed and looked after well. Plates nice and hot , good sized starters, and all of our table of five had very good sized manageable main meals., the seabass was delicious, as was the gurnard, good not to see any peas on the plates! So thanks for a happy evening. , ,

Was this review helpful? Yes
KingsArmsPortesham, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, and nice to hear you and your family enjoyed your meal with us. We look forward to seeing you again in The Kings Arms. Regards Jo More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our surprise visit to the King's Arms, we had a lovely meal the food was tasty and well presented. Lovely to see a place which welcomes doggies and children. Will definitely visit next time we are in the village.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KingsArmsPortesham, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming you when you are passing next. Thanks Jo More 

Dorset
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We don't eat out often, but since the new owners have taken over we've eaten here 4 times. The Kings Arms is our local, but it's not felt like it for a long long time. Last night we popped in for supper and it was so good to see so many locals in The new owners have made a huge,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KingsArmsPortesham, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write, and it is great to read your comments and get feedback of our work hitting the right note with the local community. We look forward to welcoming you in the future. More 

London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Dropped by on bank Holiday Monday for a quick coffee and lunch, was welcomed on arrival by very friendly staff and shown to a table by the fire as it was freezing out. 2 good cafe lattes turned up and we ordered the fig and goats cheese tart, excellent and the Welsh rarebit, very tasty but could have been cheesier!!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KingsArmsPortesham, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Obviously some time has passed (see reason below). We noted your comments on the rarebit, and are now using a stronger cheese. Glad you enjoyed your time with us. More 

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Since the new people have taken over they have made a big effort to move upmarket and become "POSH". I do not think this will work in the area. Food is expensive and the portions are small. There is a quite caravan site almost opposite, all mature couples and small families. This could be the "bread and butter" trade for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KingsArmsPortesham, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, and apologies for the delay in responding. We queried the post as it said The Kings Head, and obviously we are The Kings Arms. This query caused a 'clitch' in the Trip Advisor system in allowing us to respond to reviews. Eventually this has now been corrected. We have noted your comments, more on our business... More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Thank you for a lovely Mother's Day lunch! We brought our 3 week old son along for lunch to celebrate my first Mother's Day and our Mums' first one as Grannies! I hadn't been to the pub for about 20 years since we used to escape the Weymouth chaos on carnival day each year and have dinner by the stream!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KingsArmsPortesham, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Great to hear your family enjoyed your lunch with us. We took over in November and refurbished in February. We have our new photography back, which you can see on Trip Advisor, and a new website is following soon - which will reflect a lot more about what you do and offer. We look forward to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question