We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

540 on Great South Motel

540 Great South Road, Otahuhu 1062, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
540 on Great South Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    33
    21
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
20
18
5
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (71)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

My wife and I stayed a night here after a long drive up from Te Kuiti because it was cheap and easy to get to from the Motorway. We were pleasantly surprised by the room which (even though it had two big columns running through it) was comfortable and well laid out with the bed partitioned off. The sofa was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We are excited to share that we have new Sofa's in house and would love to see you back! More 

Greater Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

my husband and I enjoyed our 5 day stay. we were in room 28 with a huge spa which was to kill for. room was clean and cleaner came in every day. the management and staff were all polite and very helpful. I would recommend this motel to my friends. 1 problem we had was the fridge.....it kept freezing up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback - we look forward to seeing you again soon. John More 

Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015 via mobile

This was a last minute booking as the rest of town was full for a Rod Stewart Concert (really???). We booked late and, as we were extremely late getting in, were appreciative of the fact that the reception was still open. The room was tidy, if a little unusually shaped but was clean and tidy. I'd recommend this place if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback! I hope you enjoyed your stay and made use of the great Shuttle service to and from the concert! look forward to seeing you soon. More 

Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We just stayed overnight for the Eagles Concert as the city was booked out for Saturday. The hosts were lovely and provided a shuttle to the concert and it ended up a better proximity to the stadium than the city. Very clean, service with a smile, well decorated, and comfortable beds - all we wanted

Was this review helpful? Yes
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind feedback. We hope to see you again when you are next in Auckland for a concert. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Blown away with the great service provided by 540. Stayed for The Eagles concert buses were organised to take us there and pick us up. The man at the counter (sorry didn't get your name) was outstanding and went the extra mile. Nothing was a problem and he was very helpful. The family room was clean and tidy but it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon when you are next in Auckland. We have many guests stay while attending concerts at Mt Smart stadium and we endeavour to take away the hassle of transport by having the buses all arranged for concert goers. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

We stayed here over the weekend of the Foo Fighters concert and it was great! We had no idea on how we were going to get to the concert and the Motel had Shuttle services organised to and from Mt Smart! Great rooms and thanks to the staff for organising transport! We were able to get an early check in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your great feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the Transport to and from the concert! We enjoy taking the hassle out of transport for concert goers. Hope to see you soon. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

We recently arranged bookings for some staff members through our travel management service providers. The reservations were re-confirmed by email to the correct email address for Motel 540 reservation (re-tested within the last couple of days). On arrival at Motel 540 our staff members were advised that no bookings were held for them. After a four hour road trip to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. As explained to your travel agent there was no booking in our system, however we offered a large family room (25) to your staff which would have accommodated them, but the did not want to share the Family room offered. We than arranged rooms at Sky City but they received a call for rooms at... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Hotel is an old nursing home converted to a hotel. Area is industrial with no attractions near by. A few minutes from airport but much better options closer then this one. Room we had was terrible for the price, would not stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Hi - I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We hope you will come again and we will be more than happy to give you the extra special VIP treatment! More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

My wife and I stayed here for over a month with our 2 children. The staff have been exceptional to say the least. Always accommodating to our needs and very helpful. Everyone here is so friendly and cheerful. My kids made friends with the owners and the very pleasant bubbly cleaning ladies. The room we stayed in was of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great feedback! We are glad that you and your family stayed with us. We have tried to call you but the number is not connected. Could you please give us a call as we want to discuss an item of lost property with you. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Be aware that early departure is NOT possible after arrival. Noisy because it is on Great South road and window are thin. Nice big bathtub room 28. But it won't be clean during your stay. Nice soft bed sheet. poor sofa from the 80s.

Was this review helpful? Yes
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We are sorry you had issues with your sofa, however we replaced it with a brand new sofa which is fantastic. The Housekeeping team noted the Do not disturb sign on your door and did not interupt you. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otahuhu
1.0 mi away
Grange Lodge Motel
Grange Lodge Motel
#1 of 6 in Manukau
5.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
3.0 mi away
Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge
3.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
3.3 mi away
Manukau Motor Lodge
Manukau Motor Lodge
#3 of 6 in Manukau
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay