We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Pontoon hotels

Pontoon Bridge Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Pontoon, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Pontoon Bridge Hotel to your Saves list
Pontoon Bridge Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
71%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pontoon
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
bernie129 mayo, Ireland
  • Overview
  • Reviews (451)
  • Photos (115)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (147)
  • More
true
Write a Review

451 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    113
    62
    29
    43
See reviews for
93
221
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location, reasonable food but cleanliness is a real problem. how any owner can look at their establishment and not see the disgraceful stains on carpets along with dirty windows is beyond me. I am sure the staff, who by and large are very pleasant, bear the brunt of unhappy guests.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Omagh
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Having spied this hotel on the web we thought this looks the spot and cancelled the reservation that we had in Westport... What a disappointment!!!!! Cleanliness disgraceful....cobwebs on the ceiling....plug holder in the sink had to be lifted out to let the water escape.... Windows etc not good....... Superior room my eye. Nothing superior about it.... The balcony was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Pontoon Bridge ... G, Manager at Pontoon Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback, I am disappointed you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Your review will be discussed at out next management meeting as it is not acceptable and definitely not Pontoon standard. Kind Regards- Denise More

Newry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

After travelling for 4hours to get to this hotel I could not believe what we had let ourselves in for. Faulty Towers would be in better shape than this hotel. Rooms with balcony's absolutely disgraceful! Biggest health and safety risk I have ever seen, concrete steps from the bedroom to what could only be describe as somewhere you would keep... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Pontoon Bridge ... G, Manager at Pontoon Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback as it is through this feedback we strive to improve our service. I am disappointed you didn't enjoy your stay with us. My apologies if we were told when you made the booking to have a room near the lift, we would have allocated your mum in a more... More

mayo, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Attended a family wedding here recently. The hotel is very picturesque and pretty with great views onto the lakes and on first impressions was clean and inviting. The reception staff are pleasant and helpful and chatty. The food at the wedding was fairly average fair but nicely presented, the mushroom vol a vent was really good. There was extra portions... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pontoon Bridge ... G, Manager at Pontoon Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the wedding party. Thank you for the kind words about our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Pontoon in the near future. Kind Regards - Denise More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If I had paid full rate I would not have been happy but....,. As it was I paid half of that AND was nevertheless upgraded to a suite with a balcony onto the lake (possibly the best room in the hotel????) So I have to give it a very good rating because there were just too many minor things that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pontoon Bridge ... G, Manager at Pontoon Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback as it is through this feedback we strive to improve our service for our guests. Thank you for your very kind words about our staff, I have to agree we are extremely lucky to have such amazing staff who I do know bend over backwards for our guests. It... More

Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The scene on arriving at the hotel was a warning, cars were all parked along side the road, on verges and paving. Asked for assistance with baggage though reception phoned immediately it took 15 mins before someone arrived. The room was a good enough size but carpet good have done with a good cleaning, we then noticed that the toiletries... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pontoon Bridge ... G, Manager at Pontoon Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback, I am disappointed you did not overly enjoy your stay with us. Your review will be discussed at our next management meeting as it is not Pontoon Standard. Kind Regards- Denise More

County Clare, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited here as a surprise birthday 2 nights away and was soo disappointed. Receptionist was lovely and we got to our room. The room was absolutely freezing at 7pm in the evening, I rang reception and was told the heating comes on a hour before bedtime?? The chair in the room broke when I sat on it, the blinds fell... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Pontoon Bridge ... G, Manager at Pontoon Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback, I am disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your review will be discussed at our next management meeting as it is not Pontoon Standard.Thank you for your kind words about our staff. Kind Regards- Denise More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited here with husband and two kids. Was very disappointed when arrived and considered checking out but as Westport was very busy we stayed. A few very simple things could make a very big difference. The hallways and bedrooms need a coat of paint, furniture throughout is dated, the bar area is old and tired looking . Maybe some comfortable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pontoon Bridge ... G, Manager at Pontoon Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback, I am disappointed you did not overly enjoy your stay with us. Your review will be discussed at our next management meeting as it is not Pontoon Standard. Kind Regards- Denise More

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My fiancé & I chose this hotel for our wedding ceremony and celebrations over the May Bank Holiday weekend 2014. We were won over not only by the amazing lakeside location, but also the staff, and the wonderful relaxed feeling we had when we stayed there. Noel was just great, answering questions, catering to requests, preparing a unique ceremony space,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an online deal, but that's no excuse for the poor services received. Don't stay here if you like, clean sheets and wifi. Rooms are very dated and poorly maintained, there are obviously two types of guest, the ones that pay full price and those that avail of an online deal. If you are the second type then you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Pontoon Bridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Pontoon Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontoon Bridge Hotel

Address: Main Street, Pontoon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Pontoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pontoon Bridge Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Pontoon Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontoon Bridge Foxford
Hotel Pontoon Bridge

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
0:48
All traveler photos (105)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Twin Lakes Restaurant with panoramic views of Lough Conn and magical sunsets. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
28

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Pontoon Bridge Hotel and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Pontoon Bridge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer