We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Berwyn Arms

Certificate of Excellence
Glyndyfrdwy LL21 9EY, Wales
The Berwyn Arms
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    14
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
11
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (50)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Minffordd, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a very warm welcome at the Berwyn Arms, both from the real fire and friendly staff. Our Sunday lunch was really good quality, the meat was plentiful and cooked well, as was the veg. We sat on a table overlooking the views of the river which was lovely. The Berwyn Arms is openly a family restaurant and is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

A friend visited me from overseas and on her first night we dined at the Berwyn Arms, The waiter was very friendly the meal and service was very good, However the second night we visited was totally different in the fact that I was told.that if I wanted to keep my bill open for a dessert I would have to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015 via mobile

The whole place has a worn out feel with cheap furnishing rather than oldie worldy qaulity and despite the pleasant staff it's a bit depressing but the toilets and wash room are clean. Very average place really but not too expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Here's a challenge... Find a pub and bedroom with a warmer welcome, a more stunning view, and a more reasonable price tag than this one. What a place to arrive, eat, drink, sleep and wake up. I've driven past a thousand times, and never needed to stop before. Now, I wouldn't pass it by. Well done to the owners, who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JULIE r, Owner at The Berwyn Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you and your dogs return soon. From everybody at the berwyn arms More 

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

popped in at twoish for a sunday lunch with the wife and young son.nice looking place and clean, staff very friendly.the meats served were stringy and chewy as was the veg(as opposed to crunchy), yorkshire pud almost cremated.overall feeling was that this was re-heated or had stood for too long, very poor value at a tenner a meal I'm afraid

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JULIE r, Owner at The Berwyn Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. we are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal here. we wish you brought this to our attention on the day so we could have tried to rectify your meal. we hope you return to give us another chance. If you wish to return please make yourself known to management kind regards all at... More 

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We are a family of four with two young children, all looked good until We ordered our food, it looked appetising until I found a long brown hair in the sticky ribs, totally put me off eating the rest of my meal, the chef was very apologetic, the manager unfortunately was not! When I brought it to her attention she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
JULIE r, Owner at The Berwyn Arms, responded to this review

I am sorry about your experiance at the Berwyn arms but as we had refunded you on your meal and offered you a free dessert, I felt your request to give the whole family a free dessert wasn't reasonable. I wasnt rude to anyone it was more of a verble assault on me, I pride myself on customer service and... More 

Staffordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

My husband and I stopped here foe breakfast on our way to a weekend away and could not have been happier. The food was freshly cooked and delicious. The staff were very pleasant and the views astounding. I would certainly recommend to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We visited on a busy evening Staff were friendly and welcoming. The specials menu is extensive and offers a good alternative choice to the main menu. The food was cooked well. Steaks were cooked to perfection. Portion size was incredible. Its nice to find somewhere that does quality and quantity. Kids meal was great. She ate every bite and still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
coventry uk
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We ate here after coming across the place in the middle of a long road trip. The views from the restaurant were stunning. We both had roast beef dinners. Both were lovely and plentiful. Staff were very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

One of our favourite stops on the A5 for lunch. Enjoy the hot roast beef, onion and gravy baguettes with good chips. If the weather is good enjoy eating outside with the perfect view over the valley of the river Dee and the hills beyond, with the steam train passing below. Always friendly and helpful staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question