We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Berwyn Arms

Certificate of Excellence
Glyndyfrdwy LL21 9EY, Wales
The Berwyn Arms
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    14
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
13
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (53)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
England
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
18 hotel reviews
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Four of us called in for a meal didn't book but it was Tuesday, no problem. Couple of Plessey beers to start with, girls had white wine and soda, my son had lamb curry, daughter in law mixed grill, the wife steak and ale pie and I had medium rare rib-eye steak, a bottle of Rioja to wash it down.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been there a few times. Very friendly staff. Food was great and fresh.Atmosphere relaxing and friendly. Great scenery over looking the stunning hillsThink I will be going more often. Looking forward to trying the Sunday Lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Torquay, Devon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and I had lunch here on Thursday 26th March, We where staying at locally and decided to try the Berwyn arms for lunch as it looked like a child friendly place, and I was right the staff were so helpful gettina high chair for us and offering to give my little boy a smaller portion of soup (he... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minffordd, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

We had a very warm welcome at the Berwyn Arms, both from the real fire and friendly staff. Our Sunday lunch was really good quality, the meat was plentiful and cooked well, as was the veg. We sat on a table overlooking the views of the river which was lovely. The Berwyn Arms is openly a family restaurant and is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

A friend visited me from overseas and on her first night we dined at the Berwyn Arms, The waiter was very friendly the meal and service was very good, However the second night we visited was totally different in the fact that I was told.that if I wanted to keep my bill open for a dessert I would have to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015 via mobile

The whole place has a worn out feel with cheap furnishing rather than oldie worldy qaulity and despite the pleasant staff it's a bit depressing but the toilets and wash room are clean. Very average place really but not too expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Here's a challenge... Find a pub and bedroom with a warmer welcome, a more stunning view, and a more reasonable price tag than this one. What a place to arrive, eat, drink, sleep and wake up. I've driven past a thousand times, and never needed to stop before. Now, I wouldn't pass it by. Well done to the owners, who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JULIE r, Owner at The Berwyn Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you and your dogs return soon. From everybody at the berwyn arms More 

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

popped in at twoish for a sunday lunch with the wife and young son.nice looking place and clean, staff very friendly.the meats served were stringy and chewy as was the veg(as opposed to crunchy), yorkshire pud almost cremated.overall feeling was that this was re-heated or had stood for too long, very poor value at a tenner a meal I'm afraid

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JULIE r, Owner at The Berwyn Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. we are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal here. we wish you brought this to our attention on the day so we could have tried to rectify your meal. we hope you return to give us another chance. If you wish to return please make yourself known to management kind regards all at... More 

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We are a family of four with two young children, all looked good until We ordered our food, it looked appetising until I found a long brown hair in the sticky ribs, totally put me off eating the rest of my meal, the chef was very apologetic, the manager unfortunately was not! When I brought it to her attention she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
JULIE r, Owner at The Berwyn Arms, responded to this review

I am sorry about your experiance at the Berwyn arms but as we had refunded you on your meal and offered you a free dessert, I felt your request to give the whole family a free dessert wasn't reasonable. I wasnt rude to anyone it was more of a verble assault on me, I pride myself on customer service and... More 

Staffordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

My husband and I stopped here foe breakfast on our way to a weekend away and could not have been happier. The food was freshly cooked and delicious. The staff were very pleasant and the views astounding. I would certainly recommend to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question