We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Freckenham B&Bs / inns

Golden Boar Inn

The Street, Freckenham IP28 8HZ, England
Hotel amenities
Golden Boar Inn

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Booking.com Priceline.com
and 2 more sites!
61%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Tattsfilly Newmarket, United Kingdom
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    2
    5
    6
See reviews for
7
8
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnham-on-crouch, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The place looks so inviting as you approach. The interior has a superb inglenook type fireplace. There the good points end. Should have walked, the place empty. The Waitress was indifferent to bloody minded with a sneer in place of a smile. Three meals were chosen only to be told, "Its off", or "aint got no Ham, so want extra... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Somerset
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was greeted by two very different characters at the bar when checking in. One extremely lovely helpful bar manager and one very rude and agressive owner who was shouting at the staff in front of me. He's definitely in the wrong job!! I was shown to my room which was very average but the thing that stood out the most... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Freckenham hotels

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely pub/restaurant with a great atmosphere. Food was well presented and tasty but portions were small and, I felt, a little overpriced. Not rustic, more nouvelle cuisine - this is an observation, not a criticism. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Before writing a review I took the time to look over the others to see if it was just me being picky but it seems not. I came here with some friends and found the place to be quite flat. There was no atmosphere in the place which I suppose isnt surprising as we were the only ones there. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Newmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

My family and friends visited the golden boar on dec 21st ! And they all commented on how much they enjoyed the evening,the service and food were excellent, the venison pie was delicious! Thank you for another memorable evening, hope to see you soon, keep up the good work

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We recently had a birthday meal in a large group here, and a number of the meals had to be returned as they were cold - which for what they cost, I would not expect. Also, a few of the party wanted to have one of the "nibbles" menu choices as a starter, and asked for it to be brought... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
L9spy, Manager at Golden Boar Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Chris although we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We are even more disappointed that you have felt it necessary to share this with our other potential customers as we feel the issues you have raised were dealt with promptly & professionally at the time. Our response was indeed greeted... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stopped off for Sunday lunch and had no complaints on any aspect and although the food did not set the world on fire it was plentiful and good value for money. The staff were attentive but not over bearing and it let you relax over the lunch rather than feeling hurried.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have eaten at the golden boar on numerous occasions over the last few years and have never had a bad meal. We have always had a polite and courteous welcome and service from the staff and owner. I have read some of the reviews however this is not a reflection of our experience at all. The food we have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were really disappointed with our stay at the Golden Boar and would definitely not recommend this accommodation, From check in to check out we found the Owner, to be unwelcoming, rude and definitely in the wrong industry! After phoning ahead to say that we would be checking in at 3pm we were told that they were closed until 5.30... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Luke S, Owner at Golden Boar Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review although I do feel that your representation of events is factually inaccurate, largely fabricated and certainly exaggerated. When you originally booked you were made aware of our check-in times of between 3-9pm & informed us that you would arrive early to drop off your bags and collect your keys which seemed no problem to you... More

Ayr
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Considering the cost £ 125 a night plus a £40 late check in this represents poor value. I I expected a lovely inn with oldy world charm and a generous host. Not so. One tea bag per person and one coffee satchel. When I asked the manger if I could have a couple of tea bags he told me that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5

Been to Golden Boar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Boar Inn

Address: The Street, Freckenham IP28 8HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Freckenham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Freckenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Golden Boar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Boar Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Golden Boar Inn to your Saves list