We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Shoal Bay hotels

Ramada Resort Shoal Bay

4.5 of 5 Resort   |   35-45 Shoal Bay Road, Shoal Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Shoal Bay Resort & Spa)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ramada Resort Shoal Bay to your Saves list
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
50%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Shoal Bay
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
TavSyd Sydney, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (359)
  • Photos (95)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (83)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    97
    85
    54
    48
See reviews for
119
124
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The shower had no door which meant the floor and toilet got absolutely flooded each time you shower. The pool and gym closed at 7.30pm so it was hard to exercise before bed. No information about the resort or area in the room and uncomfortable furniture and the bed!!!- was two singles pushed together with a big gap. For the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in this Resort when it was known as Shoal bay resort and spa and we were impressed with amenities.Staff was great and helpful back then. Its located next to beach and have live entertainment on the weekends in their bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
105 hotel reviews
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On the positive side the staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was just OK. The bedroom area was tiny and the bathroom had zero space for toiletries but the sitting area was reasonably spacious. There was also a small balcony, which might have been nice in fine weather. The bathroom had no towel racks, which meant that if you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

To my horror there was no evacuation procedure anywhere in the room. Also no compendium with local information such as hospital, doctor, chemist etc. We stayed three nights and on second morning the water in the shower took a good five minutes to come warm then kept going cold. It is winter and I was not happy. Room was quite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ramada S, Front Office Manager at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay here at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay. On all floors of our accommodation buildings within the resort, we have Emergency Evacuation & Fire Plan's displayed at the lifts which show our designated evacuation assembly areas for guests to refer to. All staff are fully trained in fire emergency response procedures... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was pleasantly surprised on arrival to see how close the beach was to the Resort. It's a nice beach too with clean looking white sand, inviting Tasman Sea and many easy points for access/egress. The Marina facing the Resort makes a pleasant walk 'into' the Bay, and seems to be one of the favourite fishing spots in the area;... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I have been here the past two nights and have one more night to stay. The room is nice although I called up the day before check in to ask what our 'kitchen' would be exactly so I knew whether to bring an electric fry pan etc.. When I rang reception she said it was a kitchenette... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed over this weekend, disappointed with changes since new ownership with Ramada. Hubby had ordered a surprise strawberries,wine & cheese which was not there and needed a phone call reminder.. Which still arrived wrong! Our room was located opposite the beach views were gorgeous, but for a Penthouse Suite.. The name certainly does not meet the expectation!! Room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ramada S, Front Office Manager at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay here at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay. I am saddened to hear that your stay was not what you had expected and that you were not satisfied with your stay. To all our guests that book direct, we do provide the option of a breakfast inclusion in their rate should... More

Travelers are raving about these Shoal Bay hotels

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I stayed in a room with a side view, would highly recommend as we had a spacious terrace which offered great views of the bay. Room was clean & spacious with a great kitchenette. Furniture was basic however we were only there to sleep. Situated vey close to Nelson bay where there are great restaurant's if you are looking for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buderim, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The accommodation was comfortable, the " kitchenette" was more a kitchen with everything you could need! Two negatives the sofa was not the most comfortable to sit on and the pillows were too soft. A great view of the bay with good size balcony and secure undercover parking. I'll be back for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My family and I stayed here over the Easter - Anzac Day week and had a wonderful time. We were concerned after reading negative reviews (in my opinion inaccurate) but were pleasantly surprised and would definitely stay here again. The location is perfect - directly across the road from a beach and gorgeous views. Plenty of options for dining in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ramada Resort Shoal Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Shoal Bay

Address: 35-45 Shoal Bay Road, Shoal Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Shoal Bay Resort & Spa)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Shoal Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Resort Shoal Bay 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Resort Shoal Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoal Bay Hotel Shoal Bay

95 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (81)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Shoal Bay Resort & Spa is the ultimate beachfront Resort perfect for romantic escapes, family holidays, pamper weekends, beach getaways, weddings, special events and meetings and business. Shoal Bay lays by the entrance to Port Stephens, overlooking the white sands and the magnificent volcanic Tomaree headlands. Boasting crystal clear waterways and extensive National Park with unspoiled bushland, Shoal Bay is certainly one of New South Wales most stunning destinations. Just 2.5 hr drive north of Sydney and 30mins from Newcastle, this award winning Resort offers a diverse range of accommodation styles and options to suit a variety of budgets and can accommodate up to 700 guests. Accommodation ranges from Standard Studios through to Waterview, Beachfront and Bayview rooms with a choice of 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments located across 7 accommodation buildings. The Resort features 4 restaurants including the award winning Catch at Shoal Bay, 5 bars, the iconic Country Club Hotel, Occie’s Kids Club (operating throughout NSW School Holidays periods), Shoal Bay Resort Store, Whitesands Conference Centre, an outdoor heated Resort pool with children’s wading area and complimentary secure undercover parking. Relax at the Aqua Spa wellbeing sanctuary for adults (min 16 yrs+) offering a true Thalassotherapy experience for guests through the 3 mineral spa pools and 25m heated lap pool. Take yourself on a journey to revive your mind, body and soul, indulge in a range of menu treatments that enhance the total well being and surrender to the experience of products that will relax, de-stress and energise you. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
183

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ramada Resort Shoal Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer