We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ohope Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park

367 Harbour Road, Ohope, New Zealand
Ohope Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Add Your Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    17
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (70)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Literally one of the "fanciest" campgrounds I have ever been! I loved it here! Great little site by the beach & a skip/hop then you're on the beach. There were 2 schools staying here at the same time but too be honest you couldn't even tell. The facilities are very clean & nicely set up! Cute little vege gardens around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We took our motorhome here for a few nights and its a beautiful spot right on the beach. We found the grounds to be clean during our stay and generally were happy with the way things were run here. We would return and stay here in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sandra P, Manager at Ohope Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay. It is a lovely time of year to travel at the moment and we hope that you visit again. More 

Hastings, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a fantastic camp site. We have gone here for a few trips now. Pool is great. Kids the pool is great. kids club is miles better than it used to be. The beach with life guards is brilliant. We stay Surf and Sand side. Sadly this year the cockroaches were just plain negligent People were waking up with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandra P, Manager at Ohope Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

I was very dismayed to receive this review as I remember your family’s stay with us. I feel that your review is very unfair in many respects. Yes, we did have a particularly bad season with cockroaches. We have since had independent pest control advice that said many other residents along Ohope Beach suffered with them as well due to... More 

Waikanae, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a great stay and would have been 5 star..1).faults being having to pay for a very very poor WIFI. 2) the very inadequate electric BBQ, the nights we were there there we at least 20 groups who gave up trying to use it, the office staff even warned us before we used it that it wasn't very good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandra P, Manager at Ohope Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Anything that helps us to improve our service is welcomed. I apologise that your WIFI signal was poor. We are currently working with our WIFI provider IAC, to improve our signals in the weaker areas of our park. Our electric BBQ's will also be reviewed this year as to their effectiveness with the current demand.... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Overall my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at Ohope Beach top 10 holiday park. Our site was great, the staff were helpful and the facilities were always clean and available. We enjoyed the local cafes, and the swimming and surf casting was great especially on the inlet side of the peninsular. That's the plus side...on the negative... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandra P, Manager at Ohope Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your experience with us. We are extremely sorry that you suffered a spider bite and had to receive medical treatment. Not a very nice experience at all. We do have a pest control programme in place for cockroaches and spiders and will review our procedures based on the feedback this summer. We do... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Approximately half way through our four week sojurn in our caravan we stopped at this lovely spot at Ohope Beach. I have to say the facilities are what we expect from Top Ten a great place with lots to do especially for those with children. However the office staff showed little interest in helping us with information about the area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sandra P, Owner at Ohope Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for making me aware of the issues you had with the cockroaches. I am unsure what site you were on but would appear it was bordering onto the cockroaches natural habitat, the dunes or the DOC boundary. We do operate a spraying programme during the year but unable to spray once people are in the park in numbers.... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015 via mobile

we had booked well in advance 2 sites for 6 people, traveling a 6 hour drive away, I was to arrive late on New Years as I was working and this had been bought to the attention of the staff, I had all the camp gear and for some reason I wasn't able to bring my car on site even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandra P, Owner at Ohope Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for making me aware of what certainly appeared to be a shortfall in service on our part whether a communication breakdown between reception and night securtiy - i am not sure, however, what took place for you that evening was unacceptable. Our gates do get locked at 10.30pm each evening but the night securtiy after being informed by... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Great campsite at the eastern end of Ohope beach. Loads of activities at the campsite plus "NZ's favourite beach". Patrolled area right at the camp which was fantastic for peace of mind. Very busy at peak times and we were a bit packed in but overall AWESOME.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandra P, Manager at Ohope Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We were very lucky to have a fabulous stretch of hot sunny weather were we did look our best and of course it was perfect conditions for camping. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

We have a great time in this holiday park while we stayed for 2 nights / 3 days. They have great facilities, the staff are very accommodating, and they have pool that our kids are having fun, beach is really amazing for kids and adult. A part from those great experienced, we also have negative feedback and I hope that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sandra P, Owner at Ohope Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you and always appreciate feedback. So pleased you enjoyed the experience and location on the whole but understand by your review the cockroaches were undesirable visitors to say the least. Firstly, we do have a spraying programme and have sound advice on how this should be maintained, however, we cannot spray while people are present. In our shop onsite... More 

Takapuna
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

Having seen Ohope Top Ten on the website and hearing from friends that it was an awesome camp we were delighted to be able to secure a tent site for a week just after Christmas till early January. We used the amenities block at Surf and Sand and found this to be very clean and well maintained which is very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sandra P, Manager at Ohope Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Park. We are glad that you mostly enjoyed your first stay here with us. We do take pride in our property and try to maintain all the facilities to a high standard. Yes, we do acknowledge that cockroaches have disturbed some guests, around the perimeter of the property, this year.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question