We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Auckland Takapuna Oaks

Travelers' Choice award winner
1 Beresford Street, Bayswater 1011, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auckland Takapuna Oaks
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Auckland Takapuna Oaks
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    130
    41
    17
    11
See reviews for
117
235
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (464)
  • Mar-May only
    (124)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (101)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (143)
All months
Te Puke
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is a little remote by road being at the Bayswater Marina but is an easy ferry trip from the CBD. Hotel rooms are spacious and very well equipped those on the upper floors have a wonderful harbour view. The staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurant has the best view of all and serves some excellent dishes although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed on Sunday evening and enjoyed our spacious harbour view room. We so appreciated the welcome glass of wine and our dinner was excellant. Views from the restaurant are fabulous. The included breakfast is good with the option to upgrade to cooked. In all we were very impressed with the hotel and their obliging staff. Easy parking. Good value... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VRGroup, General Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Barb Wiersma, Thank you so much for your review including your kind comments on my team. We strive to provide an environment that is as comfortable and welcoming as possible so you truly do feel like the hotel is ‘a home away from home’. I am so glad that the team achieved this for you for your stay. We... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place to stay, real friendly staff , great service and excellent food. Just a short drive to Devonport ,which is great to walk just around. Don't forget to take a horse and cart ride. Even a 5 minute walk to ferry from hotel is a bonus.15 min drive to Takapuna equals great shopping . Will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
VRGroup, General Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Mal W, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable. Please stay in touch with us and we look... More 

Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Checked in on the Friday afternoon and found that my email of a late checkout request had not been noted but that was ok reconfirmed the late checkout for the Sunday and went down to a nice clean well fitted out room. Unfortunately to find that we had no hot water for our shower and a light switch that gave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VRGroup, General Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Monica C, Thank you so much for your feedback. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. I am sorry about your late check out request, which was not handled properly, staff has already been briefed to pay utmost attention to such requests. For hot water, I have addressed your concerns with our Maintenance Manager to make sure... More 

Burton Bradstock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose this primarily for the location and free parking. The accommodation is excellent without apartment having see views and everything you could need for a longer stay including washing machine! Very friendly staff, my disappointment was our restaurant dining experience. The restaurant has lovely views when we arrived the maître d was collecting food from the kitchen several floors... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VRGroup, General Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback on your experience at our onsite Restaurant, we appreciate all constructive comments, giving us a better idea on future improvements. We are so glad to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Great rooms, Great location and Great views. Take care and I hope to welcome you back... More 

Whangarei, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very good hotel in a very quiet residential location. The price is very good. We paid $204 for a one bedroom unit which has a living room, bedroom, and kitchenette. The rates also include continental breakfast for three. If we pay $7 extra per person we will get a cooked breakfast (which looks great) but we thought a continental... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VRGroup, General Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Nitra 001, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable. Please stay in touch with us and we look... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
51 hotel reviews
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The reception staff were excellent. The rooms are true apartments and give much more space than a motel/hotel room. All was clean and well set up. The included breakfast was very good and a cooked option is available for a small extra cost. The breakfast room is a bit small when busy. You need a car if staying here. While... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VRGroup, General Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable. Please stay in touch with us and we look... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed an evening in this hotel- it has a great outlook- the rooms are well appointed, clean and spacious we liked the generous free glass of wine on arrival the wifi is somewhat difficult to work- so that could do with some attention

Was this review helpful? Yes
VRGroup, General Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards, General Manager More 

Ashburton, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here. It was quiet, the room was tastefully decorated and modern, and there are some lovely views of the water. The complimentary breakfast was excellent. All staff were very professional and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
VRGroup, General Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Claire R, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable. Please stay in touch with us and we look... More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Auckland Takapuna Oaks is a very good quality hotel. It is beautifully positioned with views across the Waitematā harbour to Auckland City. The southern motorway onto the bridge is also within sight so it is very easy to judge the traffic flow without having to deal with motorway noise. It is within driving distance of both Takapuna and Devonport... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VRGroup, General Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Te Hurinui C We are so glad to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Great rooms, Great price, Great location with wonderful views – there are no properties in Auckland that can match what we offer with complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. Take care and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

120 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (101)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay