We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Auckland Takapuna Oaks

1 Beresford Street, Bayswater 1011, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Auckland Takapuna Oaks
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

509 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Maleny, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We, four adults needed a place to stay, but were not wanting the hustle of the city, so as the first stay a few years ago was great, we returned. Rooms are very comfortable, as are the beds. A very quiet tranquil setting by the harbour, no passing traffic. And topped off with a great view of the city lights... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank KevinRL
North Island
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff did their best but I think for the money you pay to stay here and the rating, you do expect better. It needs to do better across a number of levels. It is the first hotel I have ever stayed in where smoke from an outsider, on one of the balconies, waffled into the room and it stunk... More 

Helpful?
Thank soloflier
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped here for one night to visit Auckland before leaving NZ. Wasn't a bad hotel, you pay a lot for location I think. Room was spacious and all the extras you need, but the breakfast is the let down and leaves you feeling they probably should charge for a good breakfast rather than give you a poor breakfast in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
VRGroup, Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your comment and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. Your feedback helps us to look specific criteria to improve. We do offer a buffet continental breakfast for $10 and upgrade with cooked breakfast at $8.00. But, I am sorry that, we were not able to meet... More 

Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is hard to rate because I'm not sure it knows what it's going for. First off, it's in Takapuna, a beautiful area with good restaurants in town and in Devonport. Also, very close to the ferry to Auckland, with lovely views from many rooms. It's clean, the staff is friendly, the beds very comfortable. But it just needs... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank pamalam
VRGroup, General Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Pamalam, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable. Please stay in touch with us and we look forward... More 

Brighton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016

There had been poor communication between Booking.com and the hotel - our package included a cooked breakfast but the staff (including the Manager) disputed this on a daily basis - really poor service which spoiled our stay. When I produced the confirmation, the breakfast was offered but it was very disappointing and many of the options on the Menu weren't... More 

Helpful?
Thank whyayeman
VRGroup, General Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Whyayeman, Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. We pride ourselves in offering a high level of service. I am very disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay. Miscommunication with booking.com has been sorted and Front Desk staff has... More 

Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for four nights at the start of a business trip to NZ. The hotel made a room available at 9am (for a $65 additional fee) after I arrived at 630am off my flight. They let me have breakfast that morning, stored my bags and gave me somewhere to wait until my room was ready. Staff throughout my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob J
VRGroup, General Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Rob J, Thank you for taking your time to write your review on Trip Advisor and for giving us 4*! We appreciate all feedback we can get from our guests to be able to enhance our service and facilities continuously. I was delighted to learn that the reception staff could enrich your experience with us, we love what we... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and it was not bad. Place needs a refurbishment though. Hallways look like this place is from the movie "The Shining" - bit creepy. Bed doona a had blood stain, gross!!! Booked one bed and ended up with 2 single beds joined together, apparently this was an upgrade, would have loved to seen the room I... More 

Helpful?
Thank traveler_worldy
VRGroup, General Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Traveler_ Worldly, Thank you so much for your feedback. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address. I am glad you chose to stay at... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

Great stay, not far from the shops, clean rooms..I will rate the costumer service average, I think they need another receptionist, it takes ages waiting just to sort your room. Excellent views from the room where we stayed!

Helpful?
Thank MaestraLoSViajes
VRGroup, General Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at Auckland Takapuna Oaks and writing your review on TripAdvisor. It is indeed very encouraging to note that you enjoyed your stay with us from most aspects. Your experience at the reception that you have pointed has already been sorted and I am certain you will find change for the better... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

We stayed more than 2 weeks in different rooms. Always with sea view. Perfect if you don't want to be in the center of Auckland. Nice and friendly staff. Easy to park. A big area near the hotel to play with kids.

Helpful?
Thank ptiteprincesse
VRGroup, General Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm Regards General Manager More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

Very poor service. Curry came out with no rice. Jim beam and coke was $20. When I tried ordering eggs for breakfast they told me that they had run out of eggs!!! Great location. Beautiful view from balcony

Helpful?
Thank Rory B
VRGroup, General Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback on your experience at our onsite Restaurant, we appreciate all constructive comments, giving us a better idea on future improvements. We are extremely disappointed that the service you received fell below both your expectations and our standards. All of your comments will be dealt with at an Executive level and relayed back... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

133 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (126)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayswater
1.7 mi away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
2.1 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
2.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Auckland
2.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,868 reviews
2.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay