We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Hotel Wisby

#4 of 14 Hotels in Visby
Certificate of Excellence
Strandgatan 6, Visby, Gotland 62124, Sweden
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Wisby
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clarion Hotel Wisby
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    86
    20
    3
    5
See reviews for
21
94
13
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (220)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (85)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
368 reviews 368 reviews
79 hotel reviews
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For those who visit Visby the Clarion hotel is the best choice. It ticks most of the boxes one hopes for in regional Sweden. The location can't be beaten.Its in the centre of the old town,close to the port and a 10 minute taxi ride to the airport. Rooms are spacious and well maintained. The hotel is built across 5... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Riga
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
63 hotel reviews
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

this hotel has a great location and you are within walking distance to harbor and waterfront and also within short walking distance to many other sites. Hotel reception is something special and also lobby bar, which is nicely decorated with all chandeliers and classy furniture peaces. now about room! this hotel still have classical single bed room! room is spacious,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sanna K, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely repsonse! Will fix you a spacious bathroom next time:-) Kind regards Sanna Kleven Managing Director Clarion Hotel Wisby More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

I'm actually a bit disappointed in this hotel. The service was good, the location is excellent but there where some problems with the room and breakfast. It's located in the middle of the city and you're close to everything and if you eat/drink much in the evening you only have to walk downhill and not uphill, which is great! :D... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sanna K, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review

Dear guest, We love to hear that our service was good, the location was excellent and other things which have been great! Thanks! But we are very sorry to hear that you are disappointed in our hotel concerning your room. The "Deluxe twin" rooms as you say has a huge window with a great view! We have never heard before... More 

Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

The hotel is old and very nice, with so much atmosphere. The staff was very friendly, breakfast was great (especially the teas). We got our room before the official check-in time, and when we asked for help with a late-night tea in our room we got everything we needed. I liked our short stay very much.

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sanna K, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review
Google Translation

Åh stort tack för ert fina omdöme. Vi blir så glada för högsta betyg. Jippie! Med vänlig hälsning Sanna Kleven... More 

Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

My husband and I, along with my sister, enjoyed staying on a recent visit to the island two nights in this hotel, even though, disappointingly, the spa was still under renovation (after three months?) and the lobby was somewhat disrupted with construction work. The staff was friendly and helpful and the rooms we got well-appointed, although they had no coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sanna K, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your response. We hope you will find your way back soon. Kind regards Sanna Kleven General Manager Clarion Hotel WIsby More 

Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

I am very pleased with this hotel in the center of the old town of Visby, worth a visit even in march, when the town is very calm. The rooms are very nice, maybe a bit small, but cosy and nicely decorated. Breakfast was very good, nothing missing, even with gluten-free bread and lactosefree choices. All the staff is very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sanna K, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review
Google Translation

Tack för ditt fina omdöme och välkommen snart igen. Med vänliga hälsningar Sanna Kleven VD Clarion Hotel Wisby More 

Helsinki, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

All was good, despite the on-going renovation of the SPA, which didn't bother me. Breakfast room was moved to lobby bar, but surprisingly functional. Some issues with WLAN coverage in the room. Eco-thinking has lead to minimize the number of towels, which I don't like; normal amount is one hand, and two body towels / person.

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sanna K, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your fine response, we are very happy that you took your time to review us. We love feedback! Many of our guests are satisfied with one towel and that really contributes to our we care programme. But guess what? You are even more important to us, so next time ask for a extra towel we... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Spent 10 days at hotel as we visited family in Gotland. Staff very friendly when approached, room was excellent. No coffee/tea facility in room, limited tv viewing for non Swedish guests. WiFi was clunky with constant log in required. Excellent breakfast but no other food offered in hotel. Nice Spa and pool, but expensive to use - even for hotel... More 

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sanna K, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review

Dear guest, Happy to receive your top review and very happy hear that our staff was very friendly at all times and that your room was excellent. Almost everything you ask for is actually available. We do have coffee/tea facilitys in our upper range rooms, deluxe and above. We will be happy to book that for you next time. Constant... More 

Stockholm
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

The hotel has a good location in the city, close to the port. My room was rather small and rather dark, but with a nice view. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast, included in the rate, was good with plenty to choose from. The staff was helfpful and kind. The hotel has also a spa, which I did not visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sanna K, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hej, Vad kul att du trivdes hos oss. Kom snart tillbaka som att vi får chans att överträffa oss och... More 

Upplands-Väsby, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

The bed was very good, breakfast was good, nice bar in a winter garden. The only drawback was that the minibar was not filled up during Saturday and my room was not cleaned. Someone had been in my room because the bed was made but nothing more what I could see. I had really been looking forward during the day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sanna K, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hej Vad bra att du har trivts under din vistelse och tack för att du tog dig tid att ge... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay