We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Hotel Wisby

#3 of 14 Hotels in Visby
Certificate of Excellence
Strandgatan 6, Visby, Gotland 62124, Sweden
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Wisby
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clarion Hotel Wisby
Add Photo Write a Review

238 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    113
    92
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
23
103
14
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (238)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (100)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel for a primary reason--the heated basement pool, built into the very old foundation. (I'm still recovering from knee and foot surgery, and knew this would be soothing after my long flights.) Even my booking confirmation had a promotion for the hotel's pool and spa. Imagine my surprise when I checked in and discovered that the pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Middle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is central placed in the middle of Visby (inside the wall). The rooms are very well furnished in dark tree. Very good beds and nice bathroom. The lobby bar is also furnished in the same nice stile as the rooms but we could not get a Caperinha, a small minus for that. We liked that we could choose... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An excellent hotel in a prime position in the old town - we loved it. We were very satisfied with our stay there and would strongly recommend it to all. All the hotel staff we came across were friendly and very helpful indeed, the breakfasts were superb, and an evening meal in the restaurant very good indeed. Wifi was fine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sanna K, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review

You made my day! What a lovely response. Thank you! We will really consider tea and coffe making facilities in the rooms. I wish you very welcome back soon. Kind regards Sanna Kleven Managing Director Clarion Hotel Wisby More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
371 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

For those who visit Visby the Clarion hotel is the best choice. It ticks most of the boxes one hopes for in regional Sweden. The location can't be beaten.Its in the centre of the old town,close to the port and a 10 minute taxi ride to the airport. Rooms are spacious and well maintained. The hotel is built across 5... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sanna K, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Tripadvisor. I'm very glad that you are so satiesfied with the hotell. We have had some serious mishaps during the renovation of the mediavial areas in the SPA. And it has taken so much longer than anybody wanted or expected. Believe me I´m even more devistated... More 

Riga
Level Contributor
349 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

this hotel has a great location and you are within walking distance to harbor and waterfront and also within short walking distance to many other sites. Hotel reception is something special and also lobby bar, which is nicely decorated with all chandeliers and classy furniture peaces. now about room! this hotel still have classical single bed room! room is spacious,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sanna K, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely repsonse! Will fix you a spacious bathroom next time:-) Kind regards Sanna Kleven Managing Director Clarion Hotel Wisby More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

I'm actually a bit disappointed in this hotel. The service was good, the location is excellent but there where some problems with the room and breakfast. It's located in the middle of the city and you're close to everything and if you eat/drink much in the evening you only have to walk downhill and not uphill, which is great! :D... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sanna K, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review

Dear guest, We love to hear that our service was good, the location was excellent and other things which have been great! Thanks! But we are very sorry to hear that you are disappointed in our hotel concerning your room. The "Deluxe twin" rooms as you say has a huge window with a great view! We have never heard before... More 

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

The hotel is old and very nice, with so much atmosphere. The staff was very friendly, breakfast was great (especially the teas). We got our room before the official check-in time, and when we asked for help with a late-night tea in our room we got everything we needed. I liked our short stay very much.

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sanna K, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review
Google Translation

Åh stort tack för ert fina omdöme. Vi blir så glada för högsta betyg. Jippie! Med vänlig hälsning Sanna Kleven... More 

Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

My husband and I, along with my sister, enjoyed staying on a recent visit to the island two nights in this hotel, even though, disappointingly, the spa was still under renovation (after three months?) and the lobby was somewhat disrupted with construction work. The staff was friendly and helpful and the rooms we got well-appointed, although they had no coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sanna K, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your response. We hope you will find your way back soon. Kind regards Sanna Kleven General Manager Clarion Hotel WIsby More 

Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

I am very pleased with this hotel in the center of the old town of Visby, worth a visit even in march, when the town is very calm. The rooms are very nice, maybe a bit small, but cosy and nicely decorated. Breakfast was very good, nothing missing, even with gluten-free bread and lactosefree choices. All the staff is very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sanna K, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review
Google Translation

Tack för ditt fina omdöme och välkommen snart igen. Med vänliga hälsningar Sanna Kleven VD Clarion Hotel Wisby More 

Helsinki, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

All was good, despite the on-going renovation of the SPA, which didn't bother me. Breakfast room was moved to lobby bar, but surprisingly functional. Some issues with WLAN coverage in the room. Eco-thinking has lead to minimize the number of towels, which I don't like; normal amount is one hand, and two body towels / person.

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sanna K, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your fine response, we are very happy that you took your time to review us. We love feedback! Many of our guests are satisfied with one towel and that really contributes to our we care programme. But guess what? You are even more important to us, so next time ask for a extra towel we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay