We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Essendon hotels

BEST WESTERN Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments

3.5 of 5 Motel   |   980 Mt Alexander Road, Essendon, Moonee Valley, Victoria 3040, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
39%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Essendon
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Stumpie8 Echuca, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (57)
  • Photos (15)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    21
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
16
17
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Echuca, Australia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
41 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This place was picked for my stopover in Melbourne based on the review from TripAdvisor. When arrived the friendly staff was so helpful. The room i had is a bit old but very comfortable and warm. I was on the second floor with access only via stairs. The room is very quite from the road noise which i love. Recommend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
west wyalong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall motel was fine, loved the shower and hot water, both beds comftable, adequate tea, coffee, milk,biscuits etc. can catch tram just out front, we did mention to staff someones new condom packets left in draw (we didnt need LOL) & tiny bit rubbish under bed but all else fine. Fredricks restaurant fantastic food for functions. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albury, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Irrespective of name or place this is just a good budget motel.I only spent a night there but the check-in was quick,friendly.A 2 storey with stairs only.The room was comfortable and adequate for the price.The free wi-fi network was hard at best to use and would drop out at a minutes notice and take a while to re-load.The restaurant on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manila
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Best Western Alexander Motel 980 Mount Alexander Hotel Essendon, Melbourne, Victoria A$430 - 3-nights Family room 1-double, 1-single bed Toaster, kettle, fridge, heater, balcony for smoking. We arrived by car, so the trade-off was a suburban motel versus expensive in-town hotel with parking charges. From here, a 30-minute drive to the city centre with toll charges and A$8 parking charge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlexanderMotorInn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Sir. We are sorry you were not complimentary of the room allocated. Microwave ovens are only available in our Serviced Apartment section, not the Motel rooms. Most international tourists believe Melbourne is over priced which is unfortunate. Best wishes. More

Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here as were visiting some friends close by. Driving into the city didn't take long, unsure how long it would have taken on the tram or train - although it is located walking distance to either. A few nice cafes within 5-10 mins walk and Coles about 10-15 min walk or 2 min drive. Place was clean but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

I stayed on a quick business trip. There is not a lot you can do with an ageing hotel unfortunately and this one seemed well below the normal Best Western standard. Off road parking was good and the warm peanuts from the foyer were excellent, as was the service...but the room sadly was just so 70's motel. It was clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I've marked this as "average" but don't take that as meaning bad. It is an older hotel and quite dated, but the location is good and it is kept clean. The price is quite reasonable, so it's really a matter of "you get what you pay for". If you are looking for just a cheap place to stay while in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed there for one night. I am guessing the hotel is from the 60's.The Queen bed room was very "compact" but no complaints about its' cleanliness. Heating was barely adequate. Sound insulation was also sub standard; we were in a ground floor room & could hear the kids playing in the room above us. Not quite up to the usual... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlexanderMotorInn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Sir. We thank you for your response. Our aim is to provide the travelling public good basic accommodation with modern amenities at very competitive pricing. That said, we appreciate you noting a very clean room. Unfortunately we cannot control the general public behavior and apologize for disruptions. Best wishes. More

Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed here over the Easter weekend. Had a 2 bedroom apartment. When we arrived we were told there are permanent residents and we had to keep the noise down at night, this didn't apply to the permanent residents as loud music and shouting on the Saturday night from them. We complained to the reception and were told the manager couldn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlexanderMotorInn, Owner at BEST WESTERN Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Alexandra C. Thanks for your feedback. Contents of your dissatisfaction have been considered and discussed. It appears that noise complaints by the apartment adjoining you were investigated immediately by the duty manager however nothing was evident. For that we apologize if during the night noise levels increased which is beyond our control. It is interesting that concerns regarding cleanliness... More

Albion Park Rail, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This motel offers quality accommodation at reasonable rates and the staff are very friendly and efficient. The rooms are well appointed, beds comfortable and the breakfast good. The location is handy and close to city with good public transport close by.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments

Address: 980 Mt Alexander Road, Essendon, Moonee Valley, Victoria 3040, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Moonee Valley > Essendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Melbourne

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
45

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    ;