We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alpha Hotel Canberra

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
46 Rowland Rees Crescent | Greenway, Tuggeranong 2900, Australia (Formerly Country Comfort Greenway)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpha Hotel Canberra
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Alpha Hotel Canberra
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    55
    41
    11
    6
See reviews for
43
35
11
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (162)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed there for a wedding and found it to initially feel like a good caravan park, in the public areas. But the room was fine, although the bathroom was a bit small and the shower was over the bath with a curtain. Otherwise it was fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Another visit to the Alpha with slight improvements on the last visit. My main gripe is why the single beds!!! I was unfortunate enough to score a single bed for the second time!! If a booking is made for an adult surely the minimum expectation should be a standard adult sized bed. The place is clean and the service is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed here several times for business. Rooms are always clean although shower/bathtub could use some attention as grout/silicon is getting a bit mouldy. Hotel is on the whole quiet with very minimal noise from hallways and adjoining rooms. Staff are always pleasant and check in/out never a drama. Bit disappointing to see room service only available until 9pm,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle. NSW
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Clean close to govt offices in fact if raining will run a shuttle bus to the large ones close Does a cafe breakfast. Or a room service takeaway breakfast cold approx $12.50. And a small packed lunch $9.99 Handy and reasonable. Details in your room coffee machine at reception. Rooms are clean and tidy has room with baths or just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hobart
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015 via mobile

as a business traveller this place had everything that I wanted. It was very quiet at night, had a good gym and is close to some good food places. Very approachable and efficient staff. Happy to stay here again when working in Greenway. Thanks guys and see you next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

The alpha is undergoing a renovation and tidy up. Rooms are well appointed and quiet. The gym is new and offers plenty for the fitness fanatics. It is close to the business/government precinct in tuggeranong. The Vikings club is next door and offers quality affordable dining, drinks and coffee shop.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager A, Manager at Alpha Hotel Canberra, responded to this review

Thanks for your review of Alpha Hotel Canberra I am delighted you noticed our renovation works and found our rooms well appointed and quiet. The gym has been one of our bigger recent investments and is appreciated by serious fitness fanatics with brand new Technogym Equipment. We hope to see you back again soon More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

I was unfortunately locked out of my house for the night as I had forgotten my keys and my no one was able to unlock the door for me until the next day. I chose to stay at Alpha Hotel because it was close to home, and reasonably priced for a last minute stay. The room itself is clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager A, Manager at Alpha Hotel Canberra, responded to this review

Thanks for your review of Alpha Hotel Canberra Sorry to hear about your lockout. I am glad we could provide you with a clean, well maintained and fairly priced alternative place to stay for the night. The recycling you would have heard must have come from the Club behind us as our recycling point is at the far end of... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 via mobile

we stayed over the Australia day weekend. We found the hotel clean friendly staff very close to shops rooms were cleaned daily they have a nice gym staff on the front desk was nice and help full price was great for what you get We will come back for sure A1+++++ wendy

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager A, Manager at Alpha Hotel Canberra, responded to this review

Thanks for your review of Alpha Hotel Canberra As always, I am genuinely grateful when our customers go out of their way to provide positive commentary and recognise great service where they find it. Too often it is easier to complain when we are let down rather than commend when we are impressed. Thank you for taking this time. Friendliness... More 

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

We stayed here 1 night as we were passing through Canberra and had a good experience. Staff were lovely, the room was clean and decor was up to date. Location wise it is walking distance from the major shops and not too long to drive to Canberra central. Seeing the Kangaroo's outside was also a bonus. I have no problems... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager A, Manager at Alpha Hotel Canberra, responded to this review

Thanks for your review of Alpha Hotel Canberra It gives me great delight when we hear from our customers about the friendly staff and the cleanliness of our rooms. We try hard to ensure our service delights our customers and that it is consistent. As you can imagine, it is a moving target so we appreciate your positive reinforcement. We... More 

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Slightly disappointed - while the room was large and the bed was comfortable - we shared our room with numerous cobwebs and spiders. Additionally, the shower head wouldn't stay up, the shampoo dispenser didn't work, nor did the exhaust fan, and our quilt cover was non existent, instead a sheet on either side of the quilt. Were promised a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager A, Manager at Alpha Hotel Canberra, responded to this review

Thanks for your review of Alpha Hotel Canberra Whilst I am delighted to see that you enjoyed our large rooms and comfortable beds, I am sorry that we disappointed you. You mention that you found our team friendly and I appreciate that you acknowledge that they most likely would have solved the issues for you had they been given an... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question