We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kennett River Holiday Park

Great Ocean Road, Kennett River, Victoria 3234, Australia (Formerly Kennett River Caravan Park)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kennett River Holiday Park
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kennett River Holiday Park
Kennett River Holiday Park
Kennett River Holiday Park
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    20
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (56)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Despite having only one playground this is a great campground for families with young kids. Big shady sites, firepits (seasonal), koalas roaming through the park, rosellas and kookaburras, gloworms up the road, a nice beach, fishing in the river ... the list goes on.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We travelled to Kennet River as part of a regular group of VW enthusiasts and were warmly welcomed with our kombis old and new. The camp has reasonable amenities (though the showers are the smallest I have ever experienced), everything is clean and well maintained. The management are really helpful loaning us a drill to attach our awning and dropping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kennettriver, Manager at Kennett River Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Crispin_melb, Thankyou very much for the review. It was great to have the VW Club at Kennett River Holiday Park. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Thanks Again Paul More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great: location on Great Ocean Road, near the beaches and scenery. Tent site was next to common area/kitchen, ground soft enough that tent stakes were placed easily. There were lots of families with kids. Less appealing: watch for duck poop, ducks roam freely. The shower stalls are few in number, and even though there is a sign asking users to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kennettriver, Owner at Kennett River Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Theresa P, Thankyou for your visit and your review. Kennett River Holiday Park is a popular place to stay, particularly with families on the weekends and school holidays throughout the peak season, December - April. We do have 4 toilets in the park that are open for public access and at times these do get busy. All other bathrooms... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It would be superb, EXCEPT -- the management provide these huge, amateur-looking home made fireplace drums to anybody who wants one. In a park of only a few dozen sites, it's likely you will be totally surrounded by poorly-burning smoky campfires. Many people bring their own crummy wood from home (I noticed people burning treated pine and formaldehyde plywood, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kennettriver, Owner at Kennett River Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Ado 10001, Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. I was sorry to hear the smoke from campfires had an impact on your stay. Wood fires are not for everyone. We are one of the few parks around that still allows fires. Fires are very popular with many of our guests and are one of the reasons... More 

Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Generally a lovely caravan-park.. but OMG the big bus Tour Groups!!! Once they`re flocking into the park in search of koala bears after 11am , make sure you have built heavy boundaries around your campsite. A clothes line or camping chairs won`t stop them. We managed to get more privacy after we parked the car in front of the Caravan... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kennettriver, Owner at Kennett River Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi NiccOnThe Road, Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am sorry to hear the tour group had an impact on your stay at Kennett River Holiday Park. We try hard behind the scenes to manage tour groups and keep an eye on tourists while inside the park. The busy tour time is 11am -12am. Your advise... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

The holiday park is such a great way to interact with wildlife and to get away from the city life. Very family friendly. It is such a great place to spend time with the family. Kennett River is the place to be.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kennettriver, Owner at Kennett River Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Melitaaaj, Thanks so much for the kind words. I am glad to hear your family enjoyed their time at Kennett River Holiday Park. Regards Paul More 

Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

We stayed one night at a cabin in Kennett River Holiday Park, and it was a great experience. There are plenty of koalas on trees of this park and many parrots and cockatoos. The park is very close to a nice beach, where you can enjoy the relaxing sounds of oceans waves from your room, especially during night when fewer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

On arrival check in was effortless with the staff being very friendly. We stepped out of our car and up to our cabin we were surrounded by Sulphur Crested Cockatoos and Lorikeets before we even opened our door. The cabin was very spacious and very tastefully furnished with excellent cooking facilities. We put our bags away and headed out to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Muckleford, Victoria, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

We stayed at Kennett River from 10/11/14 to 14/11/14, it was fantastic!! We were greeted by lovely friendly hosts, nothing was too much trouble for them. The cabin we stayed in was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Everything we needed was supplied in the cabin. But the best part, for us, was outside, there were Koala's in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
North Mackay, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in the July school holidays, based on the fact that we were told by the owners that we would definitely see koalas. We arrived and immediately saw them on the walk ,to the side of the park and lots too,was truly amazing. Didn't see them anywhere else on the Great Ocean Road. The park... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (68)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question