We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse Inn

The Street, Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham ME13 9AL, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The White Horse Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The White Horse Inn
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    36
    16
    16
    10
See reviews for
23
65
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (128)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here early may .the staff here are really good and very efficient and friendly good food and drink .great breakfast surved by a very nice lady .but the rooms we stayed in need some T. L.C .the beds although comfortable are far to low and the decoration is old and badly done .£85 is to high for that standard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RamsgateOrange, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback. We are aware that some rooms require some TLC and we do have a program of working on this when time allows. The room you stayed in unfortunately requires the most work so apologies for that. And is the only room with a low bed. Thanks again for your feedback More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is one of those little hidden gems that quite often get missed these days Great food, great beer, great old world charm full of character and great company! If you're looking for a one stop British old world charm stop then you don't need to look any further. They do it all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RamsgateOrange, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for kind words! More 

Bristol
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

I stayed for one night as a sole female traveler. Checking in was straight forward and I stayed in room 9, a well presented double room. I headed down to have some food and ordered the 'Spicy falafal and spinach burger'. What came out was anything but spicy! Very bland, reheated frozen veggie burger in a cheap bun. Very disappointing.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RamsgateOrange, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. The burger is mildly spiced and we use brioche buns, not burger buns, but this was sadly not to your taste. I am very sorry he cups were dirty, there is no excuse for that and staff will be spoken to. The shower button and head is fixed. We offer an evening checkout to prevent people... More 

Kingswinford
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015 via mobile

Two of us stopped here again for buisness purposes. Amazing food as always. Very friendly and attentive staff and bedrooms comfotable. Breakfast is always my favourite when we stop here. Fair prices too. Couldnt ask for any more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RamsgateOrange, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your very kind comments! More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

A number of small things that could have been better, added up to an average stay. My main complaints were:- Food only served until 7.30 on a Sunday evening, although I did hear the Landlord say "We are a hotel". Otherwise the food was of a good standard. we enjoyed our dinner on the first night, even though the restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RamsgateOrange, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. I am sorry you felt '2nd class' at breakfast. We do not normally allocate tables at breakfast, but did on this occasion as we had several groups who were sitting together so we wanted to make sure they were directed to the right table. I am not sure why your room was left out but this... More 

Billericay
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

We recently had a two night stay in Room 3 at the White Horse and found the place to be clean and relatively comfortable. However, it has to said that our room looked like it had had a hard life, with various fixtures and fittings either loose or broken. The bed was also on the very soft side which certainly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RamsgateOrange, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback. There is now a new mattress. On looking at the room we are not to sure what fixtures and fittings are loose or broken. It would have been useful if we could have been told when you checked out so we could remedy the situation. The room is next on the list to be decorated.... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Consider trying a nearby Premier Inn as your first choice before coming here. Bedroom 3; whilst the room was a good size with a desk, good sized wardrobe with draws and an acceptable bathroom the overall experience was ruined by a very small / short double bed with a mattress that Chaucer probably slept on whilst visiting Canterbury in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RamsgateOrange, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

thanks for your review. A new mattress has been ordered. This is a standard double bed, not a small double bed but very soon we will be upgrading this room to a kingsize double. We have never, ever served tinned mushrooms, and never, ever will serve tinned mushrooms. Our mushrooms are fresh and cooked in butter unlike many breakfasts where... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

We arrived at the White Horse yesterday afternoon for a one night stay with evening meal & breakfast. Immediately we were met by friendly and professional staff. The room was quaint, clean and comfortable. The atmosphere in the bar in the evening was warm and friendly. We were made very welcome in the restaurant and the 3 course meal was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RamsgateOrange, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words! More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

My friend and I stayed for two nights - Friday and Saturday. The first night was pleasant - the food was great, the restaurant and bar were very pleasant and the staff relatively friendly and helpful. The room was really comfortable, we requested a room with a bath which we got at no extra cost which we appreciated. The problems... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

My partner & I have stayed here a couple of times. The first time in the main building where we had a nice room but the door to the bathroom was only about five foot six inches high so I ended up banging my head in the middle of the night. The second occasion we had an annex room which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities