We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portobello Motel

Travelers' Choice award winner
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
10 Harington Point Road, Portobello, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
Portobello Motel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portobello
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Samblin85 Christchurch, New Zealand
Add Photo Write a Review

313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    258
    51
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
83
179
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (313)
  • Mar-May only
    (110)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (128)
All months
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This motel is in an incredible location, and is run by lovely people. Just going for a short stroll around Portobello is lovely, it was bitterly cold when we were there but this didn't deter us from exploring. Keith and Sue were amazing hosts. They informed us how to and where to catch the bus, so we didn't have to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind comments!! We try very hard to make our visitors feel welcome so it is very nice to get your feedback. We're delighted you loved the location and found how easy it was to use our local transport. We'd love to welcome you back again so please return soon!! Kind regards, Sue and Keith More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This review is long overdue, (Wrote this up, but just realized that for whatever reason TA never got it published) Anyway, I can't say enough good things about the owners of this small family-run hotel. We spent a month in NZ and came to see the penguins, which was a fabulous experience. We made a long drive to get to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, and for bothering to follow it once you realised the original hadn't been published. We were so pleased you finally arrived safely. We were very worried about you!! It was so good that you were able to relax after your long journey and enjoy the peace of Portobello. It's very nice to know... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I found the owners to be very helpful, and the room very clean with every thing we needed. The morning after our stay I had a flat battery, so the owner took my grandson and his friend to their course at the aquarium and then gave my car a jump start. I would use this motel any time I'm in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We were very pleased to help you out with getting the boys to the Aquarium. Hopefully the car got you home safely!! Do please come again soon!! Kind regards, Sue and Keith More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We got into town late so we missed the Penguin tours. While the motel was fine, as others have mentioned there isn't squat for restaurants out here and the two days we were out there, there wasn't great wildlife. We saw better wild life in the Catlins. But if you're dead set on the peninsula, this would be a great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.We appreciate you taking the time to write it. We are delighted you were pleased with your accommodation and our motel met your expectations. However, we are very disappointed that you did not see the wildlife you were expecting. The blue penguins appear every night at Taioroa Head... over a hundred in the height of the... More 

Tasmania, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

We originally booked one night at Portobello Motel but loved it so much we spent another 3 nights there and 'commuted' into Dunedin each day. We didn't mind the 20-25 min drive each way, knowing we could return to a peaceful and comfortable retreat at night. Sue and Keith made us feel very welcome and were a delight to chat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. And what a fabulous photo!! We were so pleased you decided to extend your stay. We always take that as a compliment that you were comfortable!! We were delighted you decided to stay with us. Hope you enjoyed your whole New Zealand experience and will come back again some time!! Kind regards,... More 

Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

We had a lovely two night stay here and the motel is well positioned in Portobello overlooking the harbour. Some awesome scenery and wildlife nearby. If you can, take a walk round Sandymount reserve. Allan's Beach is worth seeing too. If Sue recommends a wildlife tour take that as well. Two nights wasn't really enough. The units were well appointed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate our guests taking the time to write. There is so much to see and do here so 2 or 3 days is a must!! We hope you can come back and see some more! Thank you for choosing our motel. We appreciate your custom very much. Kind regards, Sue and Keith More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

Located on the mountain, the room in portobello is clean and well-ordered. The one we stay at was upgraded by Sue the owner. Cooking facility is good enough, laundry is good, but for those who wants to cook fish this motel might not be an option since it's prohibited. Sue and Keith are so kind and helpful in everything, like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're very pleased you enjoyed yourselves here. As you have mentioned, we have had to ask guests not to cook fish as we find this leaves a lingering smell which is very difficult to get rid of and unpleasant for incoming guests.Also, the kitchenettes are only intended for preparing very... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

We are from the North Island on one of our frequent South Island tours and booked unit 2 on the basis of very good trip advisor reviews of the motel. We weren't disappointed as we had a very pleasant outlook even though the weather was very cold and windy. The unit had adequate heating and the bed was very comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive review. We are, of course, very pleased that the Studio was to your liking and it met your expectations.It's very good to hear. Every low season we carry out maintenance and renewals in order to keep the motel up to date and fresh. This year we are redecorating and re... More 

Christchurch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

Arrived in atrocious weather, greeted by friendly staff. Unit was small but comfortable and had everything we required, not to mention a fantastic view. Very clean, warm and comfortable, modern appliances and new furnishings all in good order. Owners were extremely friendly and helpful, as were other staff we spoke to. Portobello and the Otago Peninsula are truly beautiful, tranquil... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're so pleased you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay in spite of the cold! We would be very happy to see you back here any time, to continue your exploring of the area. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review. Kind regards, Sue and Keith More 

NZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

We spent one night here on our way South. The staff were so friendly and helpful, taking the time to chat about local places and giving tips for the best ways to see the local wildlife. The unit was clean, modern and perfect for our family. We highly recommend Portobello Motels as a lovely motel with outstanding views. Thank you,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review!! It is our aim to provide homely, comfortable accommodation and a warm greeting so it is always nice to know we've got it right!! Thanks again. Kind regards, Sue and Keith More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay