We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Horquetas hotels

Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 | Sarapiqui, Horquetas 3630-1000, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul to your Saves list
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
65%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Horquetas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Middlemiss Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (102)
  • Photos (69)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    29
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
21
33
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The long drive from the road along stony tracks and ancient single track suspension bridges brought a certain trepidation as to what we would find at the end. The hotel is set out as terraces of single story rooms in some extensive grounds around a lake and besides the Sarapiqui River. It is a little decrepit and in need in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FedeGallegos G, General Manager at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Milton, We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. Our vision has always been to involve our client in the vast and lush nature that leads from the road to the same hotel and its surroundings. We appreciate your feedback and assure you that we take into account all views to enhance the experience of all... More

Herts
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Some trepidation before our 2 night stay based on previous reviews but we had a great time. Sure, the place is a little tired in places but to us that didn't detract and gave the resort a certain charm. The room was large, clean and comfortable and we had no hot water issues. The food was ok but nothing special,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FedeGallegos G, General Manager at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Mike, Thank you for sending us your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. Our desire has always been that our customers fully enjoy the vast and lush nature that leads from the road to the same hotel and its surroundings. We welcome your comments and certainly we will take into account all views to enhance the experience... More

San Jose
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The hotel is in a nice location but the infrastructure is old and need maintenance. The rooms are at most "basic". I paid for a "superior" room but the mattress was terrible. The shower "sometime" has hot water. The restaurant was supposed to have menu "a la carta" but you only get buffet. The staff was rude and seemed annoyed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FedeGallegos G, General Manager at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Guest , We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. Each day, we take into account the views of all our customers who have enjoyed the charm of the area of Sarapiqui. Our mission has always been to have an eco-tourist hotel where nature is the main protagonist and our customers enjoy the peace that nature... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Let's start with we made a reservation 1 week ahead when we did the reservation no one told us that you can bring food we get there with all the family we have a 5 month old baby and an 80 year old senior citizen the staff was very rude so we asked to speak to some type of manager... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FedeGallegos G, General Manager at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Nelson, We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. My apologies for your experience. Each day, we take into account the views of all our customers who have enjoyed the charm of the area of Sarapiqui. Our mission has always been to have an eco-tourist hotel where nature is the main protagonist and our customers enjoy... More

Brick, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights - many problems with this place. The hotel was lacking basic necessities - hot water, telephone, cell phone connection, television, access to a computer. We could not control the temperature in the room -It was very cold and there was 1 sheet and 1 unwashed comfort. The food made 7 of the 12 in our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
FedeGallegos G, General Manager at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Lucia, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It will be very helpful for all readers. We will be looking for ways to improve ourselves in order to avoid bad experiences from our guests. "Hacienda Sueño Azul" is a nature experience, so, the mail goal is to disconnect from daily stress. We apologies for your bad... More

Countryside, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights with a Perillo tour and were disappointed with the hotel. Not only is it difficult to get to, it is also far from other towns and activities. Walking over the swaying bridge was an experience. The room offered no amenities, not even a clock. The air conditioner worked erratically and the room did not seem... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FedeGallegos G, General Manager at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Mary, We truly value the opinions of our guests and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are working to improve the service and details. We invite you to stay again at Sueño Azul and enjoy the nature and relaxed vacations. Best Regards, Federico Gallegos General Manager More

bingo,ny
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

we were on a PERILLO GROUP PRE-ARRANGED TOUR that promotes quality!! and we ended up at this place on our 2nd nite. we had no hot water for 2 nites[large nice shower area], camp like rustic accomodations. ac system that could not be controlled, flimsy bedding, holes in the spreads. certainly no quality. i will say the staff were lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FedeGallegos G, General Manager at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Parbingo, Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay. However, we are very sad to read your comments about our hospitality and service. We are usually known for our attentive and friendly staff. We are trully sorry and we would like to apologize for that. Best Regards, Federico Gallegos General Manager More

Cologne, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Every morning when I wake up at Sueno Azul I think: "Another day in paradise". You hear amazing nature sounds while lying in bed, once you get up you have the most beautiful view from your back porch. The rooms are comfortable and very clean and so are the bathrooms with windows and spacious showers. The staff is incredibly friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FedeGallegos G, General Manager at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Ralf, We feel really happy with your review. Read about your great experience in our hotel is wonderful. Hope you be back soon with your family. Best Regards, Federico Gallegos More

Rosengarten, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Sueno Azul is the most beautiful Location I've ever been to. My husband and I are coming back every year, since 5 years now to spend time with friends from all over the world. The rooms are all beautiful, the views on the porches are amazing. The stuff is very sweet, the food simply delicious and the spa treatments are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FedeGallegos G, General Manager at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hacienda! Nice to hear your great experience. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best. Regards, Federico Gallegos General Manager More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Sueno Azul is an amazing resort. During my recent stay, I went zip lining, horse back riding and swimming in the river. The grounds are beautifully maintained and full of amazing birds and wildlife. The food is especially great. A real joy to eat in their open air dining room. I have been here for 6 years and will be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FedeGallegos G, General Manager at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Guess, Thanks for recommend us. Nice to read you enjoyed Hacienda Sueño Azul. Hope to see you back soon. Regards, Federico Gallegos General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul

Address: 12 | Sarapiqui, Horquetas 3630-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > Horquetas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul Costa Rica/Sarapiqui - Horquetas

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Other (17)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul has a unique rustic elegance style where good taste and nature stand out. It is a magnificent place to rest and detoxify both mind and body. Sueno Azul is the perfect blend between nature and comfort. With an excellent panoramic view towards lakes and mountains, its 64 rooms are beautifully decorated with a rustic touch, furnished with Queen beds, ceiling fan or air conditioning, private bath with hot water, hair dryer, safety box, and a private terrace. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
64

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer