We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Horquetas hotels

Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 | Sarapiqui, Horquetas 3630-1000, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horquetas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Rosemary M Princeville, Hawaii
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    32
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
21
37
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (107)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
Princeville, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I knew this was going to be cool when we had to walk across a bridge to get to the hotel. No cars come to the hotel. We were with Trafalgar Eco tour and everything was managed for us. The grounds were beautiful, and you are in the middle of the jungle. We enjoyed nature walking, horse back riding and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent two nights in this hotel. It's quite a long way on a gravel road from the main street to the hotel. The hotel was quiet. Barely any other tourists, maybe 20 in total and that's how it felt. A lot of constructions and the staff could have been nicer. We had a room with glas which actually turned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FedeGallegos G, Gerente at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Viola, Thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent visit. We are sorry you did not receive the service expected. Certainly we'll make everything possible and take immediate measures so these situations will not be repeated. We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again. Federico Gallegos More 

Godstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

The first thing you need to know if you are driving to this hotel is that you're arrival may seem like an episode of Top Gear. You have to negotiate two suspended bridges over the river - only saying as once you're over the initial surprise it is quite an experience. The hotel (which hosted US 'I'm a Celebrity') was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FedeGallegos G, Gerente at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Cath, Thank you for sharing your opinion about your stay in Hacienda Sueño Azul. We are very pleased to know that you brought with you good memories of your stay. We are always concerned about improving and providing our clients the service and attention you deserve, your opinions are always very important to us. We look forward to have... More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The long drive from the road along stony tracks and ancient single track suspension bridges brought a certain trepidation as to what we would find at the end. The hotel is set out as terraces of single story rooms in some extensive grounds around a lake and besides the Sarapiqui River. It is a little decrepit and in need in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FedeGallegos G, General Manager at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Milton, We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. Our vision has always been to involve our client in the vast and lush nature that leads from the road to the same hotel and its surroundings. We appreciate your feedback and assure you that we take into account all views to enhance the experience of all... More 

Herts
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
38 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Some trepidation before our 2 night stay based on previous reviews but we had a great time. Sure, the place is a little tired in places but to us that didn't detract and gave the resort a certain charm. The room was large, clean and comfortable and we had no hot water issues. The food was ok but nothing special,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FedeGallegos G, General Manager at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Mike, Thank you for sending us your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. Our desire has always been that our customers fully enjoy the vast and lush nature that leads from the road to the same hotel and its surroundings. We welcome your comments and certainly we will take into account all views to enhance the experience... More 

San Jose
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The hotel is in a nice location but the infrastructure is old and need maintenance. The rooms are at most "basic". I paid for a "superior" room but the mattress was terrible. The shower "sometime" has hot water. The restaurant was supposed to have menu "a la carta" but you only get buffet. The staff was rude and seemed annoyed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FedeGallegos G, General Manager at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Guest , We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. Each day, we take into account the views of all our customers who have enjoyed the charm of the area of Sarapiqui. Our mission has always been to have an eco-tourist hotel where nature is the main protagonist and our customers enjoy the peace that nature... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Let's start with we made a reservation 1 week ahead when we did the reservation no one told us that you can bring food we get there with all the family we have a 5 month old baby and an 80 year old senior citizen the staff was very rude so we asked to speak to some type of manager... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FedeGallegos G, General Manager at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Nelson, We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. My apologies for your experience. Each day, we take into account the views of all our customers who have enjoyed the charm of the area of Sarapiqui. Our mission has always been to have an eco-tourist hotel where nature is the main protagonist and our customers enjoy... More 

Brick, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights - many problems with this place. The hotel was lacking basic necessities - hot water, telephone, cell phone connection, television, access to a computer. We could not control the temperature in the room -It was very cold and there was 1 sheet and 1 unwashed comfort. The food made 7 of the 12 in our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
FedeGallegos G, General Manager at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Lucia, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It will be very helpful for all readers. We will be looking for ways to improve ourselves in order to avoid bad experiences from our guests. "Hacienda Sueño Azul" is a nature experience, so, the mail goal is to disconnect from daily stress. We apologies for your bad... More 

Countryside, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights with a Perillo tour and were disappointed with the hotel. Not only is it difficult to get to, it is also far from other towns and activities. Walking over the swaying bridge was an experience. The room offered no amenities, not even a clock. The air conditioner worked erratically and the room did not seem... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FedeGallegos G, General Manager at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Mary, We truly value the opinions of our guests and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are working to improve the service and details. We invite you to stay again at Sueño Azul and enjoy the nature and relaxed vacations. Best Regards, Federico Gallegos General Manager More 

bingo,ny
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

we were on a PERILLO GROUP PRE-ARRANGED TOUR that promotes quality!! and we ended up at this place on our 2nd nite. we had no hot water for 2 nites[large nice shower area], camp like rustic accomodations. ac system that could not be controlled, flimsy bedding, holes in the spreads. certainly no quality. i will say the staff were lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FedeGallegos G, General Manager at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Parbingo, Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay. However, we are very sad to read your comments about our hospitality and service. We are usually known for our attentive and friendly staff. We are trully sorry and we would like to apologize for that. Best Regards, Federico Gallegos General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul

Address: 12 | Sarapiqui, Horquetas 3630-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > Horquetas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul Costa Rica/Sarapiqui - Horquetas

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (83)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay