We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Quinta de Sarapiqui Country Inn

96 kilometers from San Jose | Puerto Viejo de Sarapiquí, 18 Km South, La Virgen 3069, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Quinta de Sarapiqui Country Inn
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
La Quinta de Sarapiqui Country Inn
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    55
    34
    4
    4
See reviews for
38
44
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (127)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
There are newer reviews for La Quinta de Sarapiqui Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
bucks
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed at La. Quinta de Sarapiqui for a couple of nights. It's quite a simple inn, we had one of the better rooms with a veranda that felt like we were in the rainforest. Staff were very nice here. A bit off the beaten track so too far to walk to nearest small towns, we had buffet that was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We recently stayed at La Quinta with a large family group spanning 3 generations and had a fantastic time. Even before arrival, one of the owners, Beatriz, patiently spent a lot of time with us arranging excursions and transportation. Our rooms were spacious and clean but basic. The grounds were beautiful with plenty of wildlife and the facilities were fine.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Buffalo, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel on a large family vacation and loved our time there. There were wildlife including monkeys, frogs, caimen, birds and butterflies throughout the grounds. Our children enjoyed exploring the large gardens and grounds. The staff provided fishing equipment for them to catch fish in the creek. We had the opportunity to meet a group of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Everything about this place is sad. Rooms: "exfoliating" & thin towels, pilly sheets, AC set to 24C , no adjustments allowed, just on/off, towel bar loose, hot & cold water in sink reversed, broken shower head, broken safe, bathroom tile looked like it was installed by someone doing it for the first time. Walls so thin one can hear a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
helenagamez, Propietario at La Quinta de Sarapiqui Country Inn, responded to this review

We are all very sad to hear you had a bad stay at La Quinta. Please allow us to give you the explanation that you deserve. While this is not a luxury hotel and we do not advertise as one, we do expect a level of excellence and we assure you that we will act based on your comments. We... More 

San Ramon, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

All around the property is set to help you to find good birds, the little lake with some caimans helps also. If you are lucky to get there when they have a grill dinner, you will enjoy Leo's hand, Pura Vida!!! The rooms are basic but nice, only one down side, the trucks coming from the pineapple packing plant start... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aldridge
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had a lovely two night stay here. Saw an amazing array of wildlife and enjoyed the accommodation, especially the lovely outside area with a hammock. I enjoyed a full body massage for fifty dollars which lasted a full hour and ten minutes. One of the best massages I have ever had! Food was fine and the customer services were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ridgetown
Top Contributor
512 reviews 512 reviews
81 hotel reviews
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We found this hotel comfortable, if rustic and our room was spacious. The grounds were large and interesting but rather run down. The butterfly sanctuary had few butterflies. There is so much potential here but some tender loving care is needed. Breakfast was fine but supper left a lot to be desired. They tried but still served half-raw chicken (some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Buntingford, Herts UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at La Quinta. We found the rooms in the semi-detached chalets to be comfortable and reasonably spacious which also included an outside sitting area. An adequate breakfast was included in the rate whilst dinner was either a buffet or a snack-style a-la-carte menu. We found the buffet very average but that the snack menu surprisingly good and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a quaint place which is ideal for those with a passion for birds in particular but also for monkeys and frogs. The twin rooms are clean but basic with a rustic charm but totally adequate especially as most visitors are here I'd guess to view the wildlife. Air conditioning, room safe, shower and terrace are standard. A walkway... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Faringdon, Oxfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

You need to manage your expectations when staying here. It sells itself as an eco-tourism destination and it does a very good job of being one. If you're looking for five star luxury then you shouldn't come here. If you're here to view Costa Rica's wildlife and scenery with minimal impact on the environment then this hotel is probably the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question