We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Heartland World Heritage Hotel

3.0 of 5 State Highway 6, Haast 7844, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heartland World Heritage Hotel
Professional photos View all
Heartland World Heritage Hotel
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    32
    32
    33
    29
See reviews for
34
59
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (143)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Called in for a beer on the way home from white baiting on a lovely hot day only to find that my mate & I had our wallets. Emma offered us a beer and we could pay on our back tomorrow. As non locals it was really appreciated and the restaurant meals we had over the season were good value... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon J, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the time to comment on your experience. Glad to hear you enjoyed the service and meals at our restaurant. Hope to see you next season Kind regards Simon Jackson More

Paris, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived at Heartland Hotel after a long drive and many adventures with helping Jucy customers with their broken car in Lake Paringa (third time around).The staff at Heartland Hotel was very helpful and efficient. The room was clean and warm. Enough for a good night rest. The restaurant was offering a woodfire, an 80's feeling, and venaison and bluecod... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon J, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the visit and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards Simon More

Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
44 hotel reviews
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in 9 different accommodations in New Zealand, and quite frankly, they were all very similar in room layout, age, and cost. Unlike most North American motels, most of the units we stayed in had a kitchen unit with cooking utensils and cutlery, usually along with a toaster and coffee maker. All of the units provided a few sachets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon J, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We do take them seriously and hope to provide better service. Our rates are higher due to our location, our running costs in such remote location differ from most places around NZ. Thank you for the mention of the cleanliness, our Housekeeping team do their best to achieve high standards. Once again thank... More

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

The room was nice and clean. It had all you need it for a night. When we arrived the weather was kindly cold and raining. The heater in the room was broken so I made a call to the front desk to see if they had solution for it. The lady over the phone asked my room number and asked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon J, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for praising the staff member that helped you out, we are pleased to hear comments as "blown away". We are the only place in Haast that provides Free WIFI to all our guests. We strive to keep a clean room for all our guests. We hope you visit us again. Kind regards Simon Jackson More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

The only hotel practically for miles when you are in Haast region, but they need no competition, they are so good. the people running the place are generously polite and helpful. Though I would have been happier with a more accomodating max pax policy in a room, considering we were two families with 4 children and 4 adults, we could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon J, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We take your comments seriously and currently working to rectify the heating as you mentioned. Glad to hear you enjoyed the food as we pride our selves with our local delicacies. I have passed on your comments to the staff and we are thankful. Once again thank... More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We stayed in August (when it was very cold) as a family... heaters in the rooms were not working, and it was very old and dated. We were encouraged to use the restaurant for dinner, but when we arrived for dinner we were told that the restaurant was booked out. We were placed in the pub, with little children up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon J, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Disappointing to hear you had an unpleasant stay. The noise we could have dealt with if we were warned. We do apologise for ignoring you during service, we continue to train staff to give everyone the same attention. I do thank you for the feedback and we hope to improve. Kind regards Simon Jackson More

Lanark, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Good place to stay close to Highway, a place to rest but not holiday. Well worth taking a drive through forest down the coast to Jacksons Bay. During the height of the holiday season, half the hotel was closed due to lack of guests. Facilities adequate but not spectacular for $172 per room per night, but restaurant served very good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
69 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Arriving at Haast from Fox Glacier and stay a night here.. Got a garden view room, and have a fabolous sunset with cold wind. The place itself had a bar or restaurant nearby, got a steak for dinner, bar full of people talking and beer-ing. The room heater just not working at that time, so we just got little bit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wahgunyah, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

The hotel looks a bit dated and the old heater in our room wasn't working (and it was freezing in August). There was no electric blanket either as stated on our booking. When we approached reception about this it was suggested we use the extra blankets provided and the hot water bottle (which the girl argued was in the wardrobe... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nambour
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Review of Restaurant only. I have previously submitted a negative review of this venue as a morning tea stop. I got a very gracious feedback from the manager with a promise of retraining in coffee making and thoughts on better ways to cater for casual passers by. Having just visited again, we found that they have definitely done so. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Heartland World Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland World Heritage Hotel

Address: State Highway 6, Haast 7844, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Haast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland World Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Heartland World Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Haast World Heritage

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Heartland World Heritage Hotel

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby