We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Haast hotels

Heartland World Heritage Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   State Highway 6, Haast 7844, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Heartland World Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Heartland World Heritage Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
35%
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Haast
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    25
    28
    31
    28
See reviews for
29
51
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stopped in Haast for an overnight stay and found the staff to be lovely and helpful both at reception and in the restaurant/bar area. Whitebait was on the menu which was absolutely delightful. The accommodation was comfortable and clean and our room, although a little small for 3 adults, overlooked the countryside. All in all a nice stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We will start with the positive, the staff are friendly. End of positives. This cost us $225 per night, a two bedroom, seriously how very disappointing for NZ. We complained to reception about the bad smell in the room, how we could not turn off storage heaters and several other things. The internet is a complete rip off. This hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon J, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ginger, Firstly, thank you for meeting with me that morning. Your comments were valid and you gave me the opportunity to respond. We hope to complete the upgrade of our rooms in the near future, We do hope you revisit. Looking forward to be of service Thank you Simon Jackson More

Polis, Cyprus
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very comfortable bedding after a long day travelling! Had to pay for wifi in room after one hour free. Haast is the edge of true wilderness a perfect place for people to enjoy being out in the bush and nature! The restaurant at the hotel was good!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon J, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christopher, Thank you for the good feedback. We hope we can be of service again in the furture. Kind regards Simon More

Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed here on our way back home from Mt Cook. Originally we had not planed a stay over in Haast but due to the current situation around the Diana Falls and a bad weather forecast we left Mt Cook a day early and decided to book this hotel. What a wise decision! I personally cannot fail this place as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon J, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alexander, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay, we value your comments and I have passed them onto the team. We are glad the the family enjoyed the overnight stay. We hope to be of service again Kind regards Simon Jackson More

Emerald
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

we could only laugh the internet booking sites don't mention that there is no fridge having carted food for lunches etc to find that there was no fridge as we were told that the town doesn't have enough power - yet the town has a huge info centre - I think they were just scrimping on costs and we tossed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon J, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Beardy, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. Your comments are important to us. We are currently going through an upgrade which we hope to complete in the next year. The newly upgraded rooms have been well recevived by our guests. We hope you do visit again Kind regards Simon Jackson More

Geraldton, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We overnighted here on our way south. All we needed was a comfy bed, a good feed and breakfast the next day. We got all that but the place is nothing to write home about. The name is a bit misleading, the only thing "Heritage" is that it is in a heritage area. The whole place reminded us of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon J, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We do apologize for not meeting your expectations. The property is old, dating back to the late sixty's, however we continue to make improvements, We are currently in the middle of upgrading our rooms to uplift the Hotel. We do hope you visit us again Kind regard... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I chose this hotel as the price on the web was higher than others at Haast and therefore should have offered a better experience. We didn't book and when we arrived we were told there were only a couple of rooms left at NZ$160. The room had no flyscreen on the window (hence mosquitoes were a problem), no fridge and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon J, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paniri, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We do apologize for not meeting your expectations. We are currently going through upgrading our rooms, we have completed more than half of the hotel and aim to complete the rest, hopefully within the next six months. Once again we do apologize for any inconvenience caused Kind... More

Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We needed a family room, and as we'd driven to Jackson Bay and back (the end of the road) and it was getting late we went for this at $160. It's a large, elderly motel/hotel and not very inspiring, but the beds were extremely comfortable and the meal in the large bar/games room was surprisingly good. A large coach party... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon J, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. Your comments about the Staff, beds and food were passed onto the team. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holidays and will visit us next time round. Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. Kind regards Simon Jackson More

Picton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

If you want a cheap isolated pub, then go for it. I thought I was booking an old Hertiage type building, steeped in history, warm and friendly. Wrong on all counts. No welcome or smile from the lady who greeted me. Had to wait 10 minutes before she actually fronted up! Then she wasn't all that happy........ did I disturbed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon J, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We take our guests comments seriously and hope to improve our services. I do apologize for the poor service you experienced. Your comments were discussed at our weekly meetings and reiterated the fact that all guests are to be greeted with a smile, increase staffing levels as... More

Taree, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

A very average motel and there is bugger all in Haast. There are probably no better places to stay in Haast but we were disappointed. Wifi was reasonable with 1 hour free of $5 for the night. Not sure why they don't add it to the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon J, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in Haast. Haast is a vast area and has a lot to do however a one night stay is not enough time to explore what Haast has to offer. Internet in Haast remains on satellite therefore... More

Been to Heartland World Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland World Heritage Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Haast World Heritage
Address: State Highway 6, Haast 7844, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Haast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Haast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland World Heritage Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Heartland World Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heartland World Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.