We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hannah's Homestead

1921 Haast - Jackson Bay Road | Hannah's Clearing, Haast 7844, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hannah\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

10 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    4
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (10)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (1)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

Had a very comfortable stay. Great beds, more spacious than we expected and quiet. Ruth very helpful and Wayne very entertaining in the Jet boat trip that they run. Re previous reviews yes sand files are an issue but hey - it is the West Coast of NZ so you have to expect and prepare for them everywhere you go.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RuthAndWayneWaiatoto, Manager at Hannah's Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We appreciate you taking the time out to share your thoughts about the motel, us and the river safari. Thanks for your emails too, enjoy the rest of your holiday. Kind regards, Ruth. More 

Glaziers Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

Stayed here after a paddling trip down the Waiatoto. Great place. Clean and our hosts Wayne and Ruth were lovely. The shower was the best shower I have had in my entire life and not because we just got back from the bush. Insane pressure and plenty of hot water for all of us to indulge. Cheers Wayne and Ruth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RuthAndWayneWaiatoto, Manager at Hannah's Homestead, responded to this review

Elias, thank you for your very kind review. We enjoyed helping you out, it was a pleasure. And I am still delighting the very dark chocolate you left....Thanks! More 

FORT COLLINS
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This is quite a distance from the main road in a very remote area. When we found it we were concerned as from the outside it looked unacceptable. Our key and our name was taped to the door. We never saw the owners. But we were pleasantly surprised. We had a very nice room with a small kitchenette.The bath was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RuthAndWayneWaiatoto, Owner at Hannah's Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed yourself. The unit is only rented out to one group at a time, the other room is for if there are more people in your own group. Breakfast can be requested on booking and then left in your room the evening before. As we operate a tourism business we may... More 

New York, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Hi folks, It's been a year since we visited NZ and really felt compelled to write a review just to thank folks for the nice overnight stay. We hit a strange patch of wet weather during our trip, and we were welcomed with open arms, a wonderful steak dinner, and friendly hospitality. Felt like we were staying with family. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HannahsHomestead, Owner at Hannah's Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to write your review, it is appreciated. We are new owners but I am pleased you had a good time here when you stayed. It is a lovely location. We have made one change that means we do not offer the dinner that you spoke of, because we are also owner operators of... More 

Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment. From the outside it didn't look much, but inside it was modern-ish comfortable and clean. There were only 2 things which let it down. Firstly, there were dozens upon dozens of dead sand flies all over the windows. I don't expect the windows to be cleaned after each guest has checked out. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HannahsHomestead, Owner at Hannah's Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. It is unfortunate that you did not ask us for more Wi-Fi tickets. On check in, we explain about how to purchase Wi-Fi and one free ticket is given out. It is up to the guest to purchase more. Because we are on satellite internet, the cost is very high which is why we cannot... More 

Peterborough
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The four of us (two couples) stayed the night before doing the river safari the following day ( it's run from the same place). The accommodation had everything we needed, clean, good beds and with a great shower. Might be best to bring food as when we went out to have a meal the fish and chip shop in Haast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HannahsHomestead, Owner at Hannah's Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to reply. Yes we are 19km away from the shop, so good idea to bring food. We leave insect repellant in the motel unit but I always recommend long trousers, as that is how I avoid the sandflies. The view from the beach is amazing all the same. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My family (2 adults, 2 teenaged girls) recently toured the west coast of the South Island of New Zealand in the middle of their winter. We were looking forward to no crowds, gorgeous scenery, fresh air, some adventure, genuine characters and a little quirkiness. In the more isolated areas we were expecting basic accommodation…as long as it was clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
HannahsHomestead, Manager at Hannah's Homestead, responded to this review

I am really please that you enjoyed your stay at Hannah's Homestead, thank-you for your great description of what folks wanting to stay in and around Haast can expect at Hannh's Homestead. I hope to see you back sometime soon.. More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

A lovely stay My wife and I have just got back from a 6 week tour of Australia, New Zealand and Singapore (3 weeks in NZ) – we are in our early fifties. During our adventure we have stayed in many hotels, apartments etc with varying price ranges (including the last 3 days in a luxury suite on the 53rd... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HannahsHomestead, Owner at Hannah's Homestead, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking the time to review our wee spot of heaven, we really did enjoy your company and the pleasure was all ours. More 

Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

We where recommended to stay here by a friend and his wife who stayed at Hannahs Homestead in January, they really enjoyed their stay and the home cooked meal, but we where not even offered that, and then we see they dont cook meals there anymore (would if been nice to know), so it was either 27km up the road... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hanau
Level Contributor
114 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

The room was not as nice as on the homepage, decoration and bathrobes were missing, but was still o.k.. As there was nowhere else to go, we booked dinner ahead which was tasteful homecooking, not the three course dinner advertised. Food combination was a bit unusual, too. Catherine's service was a bit chaotic, but she was very friendly. She gave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haast hotels
10.7 mi away
Heartland World Heritage Hotel
7.2 mi away
Bay Road Motel
Bay Road Motel
#3 of 4 in Haast
4.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
10.0 mi away
Aspiring Court Motel
Aspiring Court Motel
#1 of 2 in Haast
3.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay