We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Haast B&Bs / inns

Hannah's Homestead

Save Saved
You added Hannah's Homestead to your Saves list
Jackson Bay Road | Hannah's Clearing, Haast 7844, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (8)
  • Photos (7)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (2)
  • More
Hannah's Homestead
Ranked #3 of 3 Haast B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haast
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
FORT COLLINS
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This is quite a distance from the main road in a very remote area. When we found it we were concerned as from the outside it looked unacceptable. Our key and our name was taped to the door. We never saw the owners. But we were pleasantly surprised. We had a very nice room with a small kitchenette.The bath was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RuthAndWayneWaiatoto, Owner at Hannah's Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed yourself. The unit is only rented out to one group at a time, the other room is for if there are more people in your own group. Breakfast can be requested on booking and then left in your room the evening before. As we operate a tourism business we may... More

New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Hi folks, It's been a year since we visited NZ and really felt compelled to write a review just to thank folks for the nice overnight stay. We hit a strange patch of wet weather during our trip, and we were welcomed with open arms, a wonderful steak dinner, and friendly hospitality. Felt like we were staying with family. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HannahsHomestead, Owner at Hannah's Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to write your review, it is appreciated. We are new owners but I am pleased you had a good time here when you stayed. It is a lovely location. We have made one change that means we do not offer the dinner that you spoke of, because we are also owner operators of... More

Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment. From the outside it didn't look much, but inside it was modern-ish comfortable and clean. There were only 2 things which let it down. Firstly, there were dozens upon dozens of dead sand flies all over the windows. I don't expect the windows to be cleaned after each guest has checked out. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HannahsHomestead, Owner at Hannah's Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. It is unfortunate that you did not ask us for more Wi-Fi tickets. On check in, we explain about how to purchase Wi-Fi and one free ticket is given out. It is up to the guest to purchase more. Because we are on satellite internet, the cost is very high which is why we cannot... More

Peterborough
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The four of us (two couples) stayed the night before doing the river safari the following day ( it's run from the same place). The accommodation had everything we needed, clean, good beds and with a great shower. Might be best to bring food as when we went out to have a meal the fish and chip shop in Haast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HannahsHomestead, Owner at Hannah's Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to reply. Yes we are 19km away from the shop, so good idea to bring food. We leave insect repellant in the motel unit but I always recommend long trousers, as that is how I avoid the sandflies. The view from the beach is amazing all the same. More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My family (2 adults, 2 teenaged girls) recently toured the west coast of the South Island of New Zealand in the middle of their winter. We were looking forward to no crowds, gorgeous scenery, fresh air, some adventure, genuine characters and a little quirkiness. In the more isolated areas we were expecting basic accommodation…as long as it was clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
HannahsHomestead, Manager at Hannah's Homestead, responded to this review

I am really please that you enjoyed your stay at Hannah's Homestead, thank-you for your great description of what folks wanting to stay in and around Haast can expect at Hannh's Homestead. I hope to see you back sometime soon.. More

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

A lovely stay My wife and I have just got back from a 6 week tour of Australia, New Zealand and Singapore (3 weeks in NZ) – we are in our early fifties. During our adventure we have stayed in many hotels, apartments etc with varying price ranges (including the last 3 days in a luxury suite on the 53rd... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HannahsHomestead, Owner at Hannah's Homestead, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking the time to review our wee spot of heaven, we really did enjoy your company and the pleasure was all ours. More

Melbourne
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

We where recommended to stay here by a friend and his wife who stayed at Hannahs Homestead in January, they really enjoyed their stay and the home cooked meal, but we where not even offered that, and then we see they dont cook meals there anymore (would if been nice to know), so it was either 27km up the road... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hanau
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
65 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

The room was not as nice as on the homepage, decoration and bathrobes were missing, but was still o.k.. As there was nowhere else to go, we booked dinner ahead which was tasteful homecooking, not the three course dinner advertised. Food combination was a bit unusual, too. Catherine's service was a bit chaotic, but she was very friendly. She gave... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hannah's Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hannah's Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hannah's Homestead

Address: Jackson Bay Road | Hannah's Clearing, Haast 7844, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Haast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

7 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Haast with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
On New Zealand’s West Coast of the South Island, you will find Hannah's Homestead with a two bedroom ground flour, access friendly, en-suite motel unit, which is perfectly situated on the scenic road to Jackson Bay, at Hannah's Clearing, Haast. The homestead sits right on the edge of the west coast wilderness and is only a few minutes walk from the Tasman Sea. Hannah's Homestead Motel was built in 2009 and offers comfortable West Coast accommodation. Whether you are planning on a one night stay or a full-on week of sightseeing and outdoor adventures, Hannah's Homestead Motel is the perfect place to reside. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
6

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hannah's Homestead staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer