We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel des Bains

4.5 of 5 Avenue des Bains, 22, Yverdon-les-Bains CH-1400, Switzerland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel des Bains
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grand Hotel des Bains
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    40
    22
    23
    12
See reviews for
9
49
6
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (116)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Firstly, reading some of the reviews I felt like I had visited a different hotel; the staff were so friendly and charming, all we met couldn't have been more helpful. Sure, the rooms are a little tired and could do with some modernization but they are clean, well appointed, with a comfy bed and (free) beers in the fridge. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

I was supposed to stay at the hotel for 3 nights. I got a room 437. I found out there is a permanent sort of rumbling sound going on (air ventilation engine?). I unexpectedly couldn't sleep one minute, even with ear plugs. On the next day, I came earlier from the conference I was attending to take a nap. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementGHB, General Manager at Grand Hotel des Bains, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We thank you for your comment and are sorry to learn about the problem of noise in your room due to our ventilation system. We will ask our technician to check this because that's the first time we have a complain about this. Regarding the room, which has been booked, we ask you to check this problem with... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

it probably was a Grand Hotel in the past, but it looks and feels like a dying property; the only place when you see some other guests is during breakfast, where they pack 60 people in a 50 sqm room; overall a disappointment

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementGHB, General Manager at Grand Hotel des Bains, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are sorry to learn that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We hope you enjoyed the Centre Thermal of Yverdon-les-Bains We remain at your disposal Best regards Guy Lindt General Manager More 

Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
75 hotel reviews
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Just hopped in-and-out over a weekend, this is a wonderful place with a tasteful mixture of old-classic and new. Weel kept, good to very good service, clean and spacious rooms nothing missing. The breakfast buffet is amazing! Large pool filled with thermal water running at 34c.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementGHB, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Bains, responded to this review

We thank you for your feedback are very pleased that you had enjoyed your stay at the Grand Hotel Des Bains & Centre Thermal – Yverdon-les-Bains. Do not hesitate to join us again for your next stay in our Region Yours Sincerely Guy Lindt General Manager More 

varese
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We are just coming back from this disappointing, amatorial leaded hotel. We were there 2 days for a professional meeting, and everyone of us (about 20 people) found the meals not tasty, superficially prepared and served cold. The employees are not kind, not professional, it seems they are at their first day. For a bottle of red wine they charged... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementGHB, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Bains, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We would like take this opportunity to thank you for your comment. In regards to your feedback we have had look at it and are really sorry to hear about your experiences. We would appreciate if you have brought your experience into our attention immediately as we could change your experiences. Best regards Guy Lindt General Manager More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a relaxing week-end, the rooms with veranda are spacious and up to 4* standards, although the veranda need cleaning (spiderwebs) and renovation (damages due to humidity), and the wicker furniture in the veranda as well. The reception staff is friendly and helpful. We had cocktails at the bar before dinner, friendly but inexperienced service (hotel school management trainees).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementGHB, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Bains, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your constructive comment. We are sorry to read that your stay was not a success. We will check and solve internally the problems. Regarding the food, I can't say anything because it is your perception which will be different for other clients However, we hope you will come again in our hotel and you will... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

stayed in this hotel for a business trip. Very nice stay, great breakfast buffet, nice rooms. Location is close to city center in walkable distance. Unfortunately I did not have time to try the thermal bath, would definitely recommend to do this. I will next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementGHB, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Bains, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We thank you for your comment. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Hotel Des Bains. Do not hesitate to contact us for your next reservation and we hope that you will have time to use the 3 pools! 34°!!! Best regards Guy Lindt General Manager More 

Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Spent the one night at this hotel having completed a tour of this area of Switzerland. The hotel was everything you would expect for this quality of hotel. Our room was spacious, clean, all amenities plus free WiFi. Spent the latter part of the afternoon enjoying the excellent Spa facilities. Dinner was very good, catering for all the family. Service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementGHB, General Manager at Grand Hotel des Bains, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you very much for your comment. I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I assure you that your positive feedback motivates my team to deliver excellence every day. We look forward to welcoming you and your family soon! Guy Lindt General Manager More 

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
8 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed here for a few nights on Business. Hotel staff are very friendly & polite and can not do enough to help you out. The room was lovely with a complimentary mini bar (2 bottles of beer & water a day), dressing gown & slippers. The bathroom was spacious and clean. The room opened out onto a veranda of which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementGHB, General Manager at Grand Hotel des Bains, responded to this review

Dear Pumba1066, Thank you very much for your comment. Our hotel team is happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your appreciation is a great reward to us and we will work hard to make your next stay even better. We hope that you will have more free time during your next visit to enjoy Centre Thermal, as you... More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

It was a long week end stay and a very pleasant one. Great room with view over the Bains and the mountain. The staff was very helpful and the requests for special dietary at breakfast were completely respected.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementGHB, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Bains, responded to this review
Google Translation

Monsieur, Nous vous remercions pour votre commentaire et sommes heureux de lire que votre séjour s'est très bien passé. C'est... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Grand Hotel des Bains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel des Bains

Address: Avenue des Bains, 22, Yverdon-les-Bains CH-1400, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Yverdon-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel des Bains 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel des Bains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Yverdon

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay