We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel des Bains

Avenue des Bains, 22, Yverdon-les-Bains CH-1400, Switzerland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel des Bains
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grand Hotel des Bains
Add Photo

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    29
    49
    28
    26
    14
See reviews for
14
64
8
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (146)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It was our first time staying at this hotel. I realized that the hotel photos in the internet were the old ones. The parking space was very convenient just in the hotel ground. spacious rooms and safe in the room. Free WiFi, free mini bar, filled with two mineral bottles and beers every day. We did not drink beers but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adliswil, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The place is tired and needs some money spent on it. The staff were kind and friendly. The place was clean and the breakfast was excellent. It just has this feeling of neglect. The other really annoying thing is that there is no tea and coffee making facilities. I am British and I like to start my day with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015 via mobile

Best experience of a heritage hotel by far. The rooms were huge and exceptional. They have this kind of bar and piano just outside the dining hall which is a great place to hang out! Wifi service was good and fast. Wanted to try the much heard "thermal pools" but dis not get enough time to do so! Breakfast spread... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagementGHB, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Bains, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for your comment and are pleased to read that your enjoyed your stay with us Looking forward to welcoming you soon Best regards Guy Lindt General Manager More 

Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

My room was 317. The room was clean, elegant, stylish with big TV. Minibar (2 bears, 2 water) was included to the price. The hotel has a small pool. Service at a high level and they speak English, French, Polish, Czech, Spanish! Plenty of choice for breakfast. Tasty. Hotel is really nice and i recommend it to spend time there.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagementGHB, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Bains, responded to this review
Google Translation

Bonjour, Nous vous remercions pour votre commentaire et sommes ravis que vous ayez passé un agréable sejour. Nous vous recommandons... More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Firstly, reading some of the reviews I felt like I had visited a different hotel; the staff were so friendly and charming, all we met couldn't have been more helpful. Sure, the rooms are a little tired and could do with some modernization but they are clean, well appointed, with a comfy bed and (free) beers in the fridge. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagementGHB, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Bains, responded to this review
Google Translation

Bonjour, Nous vous remercions pour votre commentaire et sommes ravis que votre séjour se soit bien déroulé. Nous restons à... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

I was supposed to stay at the hotel for 3 nights. I got a room 437. I found out there is a permanent sort of rumbling sound going on (air ventilation engine?). I unexpectedly couldn't sleep one minute, even with ear plugs. On the next day, I came earlier from the conference I was attending to take a nap. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagementGHB, General Manager at Grand Hotel des Bains, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We thank you for your comment and are sorry to learn about the problem of noise in your room due to our ventilation system. We will ask our technician to check this because that's the first time we have a complain about this. Regarding the room, which has been booked, we ask you to check this problem with... More 

Travelers are raving about these Yverdon-les-Bains hotels

Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

it probably was a Grand Hotel in the past, but it looks and feels like a dying property; the only place when you see some other guests is during breakfast, where they pack 60 people in a 50 sqm room; overall a disappointment

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagementGHB, General Manager at Grand Hotel des Bains, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are sorry to learn that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We hope you enjoyed the Centre Thermal of Yverdon-les-Bains We remain at your disposal Best regards Guy Lindt General Manager More 

Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
79 hotel reviews
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Just hopped in-and-out over a weekend, this is a wonderful place with a tasteful mixture of old-classic and new. Weel kept, good to very good service, clean and spacious rooms nothing missing. The breakfast buffet is amazing! Large pool filled with thermal water running at 34c.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagementGHB, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Bains, responded to this review

We thank you for your feedback are very pleased that you had enjoyed your stay at the Grand Hotel Des Bains & Centre Thermal – Yverdon-les-Bains. Do not hesitate to join us again for your next stay in our Region Yours Sincerely Guy Lindt General Manager More 

varese
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We are just coming back from this disappointing, amatorial leaded hotel. We were there 2 days for a professional meeting, and everyone of us (about 20 people) found the meals not tasty, superficially prepared and served cold. The employees are not kind, not professional, it seems they are at their first day. For a bottle of red wine they charged... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagementGHB, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Bains, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We would like take this opportunity to thank you for your comment. In regards to your feedback we have had look at it and are really sorry to hear about your experiences. We would appreciate if you have brought your experience into our attention immediately as we could change your experiences. Best regards Guy Lindt General Manager More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a relaxing week-end, the rooms with veranda are spacious and up to 4* standards, although the veranda need cleaning (spiderwebs) and renovation (damages due to humidity), and the wicker furniture in the veranda as well. The reception staff is friendly and helpful. We had cocktails at the bar before dinner, friendly but inexperienced service (hotel school management trainees).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagementGHB, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Bains, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your constructive comment. We are sorry to read that your stay was not a success. We will check and solve internally the problems. Regarding the food, I can't say anything because it is your perception which will be different for other clients However, we hope you will come again in our hotel and you will... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay