We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 55 Saas-Fee hotels

The Dom Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfplatz 2, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Save Saved
You added The Dom Hotel to your Saves list
The Dom Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
93%
Ranked #11 of 55 hotels in Saas-Fee
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014
Sard-eller Basel, Switzerland
  • Reviews (83)
  • Photos (78)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (17)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
54
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I had the pleasure to stay in this charming small hotel for a ski weekend and I was indeed an excellent experience. Price was unbeatable in Swiss for that quality. Room very stylish and newly renovated. (IPad controlling everything in the room is nice but didn't work that well -indeed a very minor problem). Bathroom had a very comfortable walk-in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simone W, Manager at The Dom Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive Review and I hope that we can welcome you back to The Dom very soon. All the best wishes. Simone Werner General Manager More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This place had a cool Alpine vibe, but not too heavily applied : timber, slate and those increasingly ubiquitous Swiss army blankets (which I still love, however). Very generously sized room with a balcony overlooking the street scene. Breakfast was excellent as were the front desk staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Simone W, Manager at The Dom Hotel, responded to this review

Dear scoochlondon, I am sorry for the late reply but I wanted to thank you for the wonderful Review you have taken the time to write. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon. Until then we wish you all the best. Kind regards, Simone More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had a great stay here. The room was beautifully decorated, and one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. And of course, the view from our balcony was stunning. We didn't eat in for an evening meal, but the breakfast was also very nice, with a great selection of cheeses. The Dom Bar downstairs was also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Daniel W, Manager at The Dom Hotel, responded to this review

Dear "lardosuk", thank you for your time to rate our The Dom Hotel in Saas Fee. Indeed, I am seeing the same things like you. We are already in contact with a professional company to fix our light problem with the Ipad. We know now the problem, and we can fix it during durind the next weeks if the hotel... More

Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We booked a room many months before knowing that this place had great reviews. Service was very good and attentive: they picked us up at the parking within 10 minutes of our arrival and they had been very precise in handling our booking by email even days before we checked in. We had a corner room with a balcony and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Daniel W, Manager at The Dom Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marco, thank you again for the very good ratimng of my hotel. I am very happy to see that our work is successfull for our guets. We will keep the wine testing also during the summer season - we think it is very important to get more and more in touche with our guests. I wish you all the... More

Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Sure, the location is great and the rooms esthetically appealing but there is so much wrong with this hotel, first and foremost the service. Our problems started months before we arrived when we made a booking with a Swiss coupon deal. We booked a weekend stay not even an hour after purchasing the deal on,y to be sent an email... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Simone W, General Manager at The Dom Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mjlothar, as the rude person you are describing, I allow myself to answer to your statements. It is interesting that when the first check out happened you were raving about your stay with us at the reception. I understand that the experience got tarnished as we discovered that the voucher you were trying to pay with had been reclaimed... More

Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My wife and I and our two children recently spent 4 days at the Dom in Saas Fee. The hotel is very well located. About 5 mins walk from the ski station. The hotel was built in 1881 and has recently been tastefully and well refurbished. The rooms are large, clean and have very comfortable beds. Also the best designed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Simone W, General Manager at The Dom Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tavli, thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our house. I am very glad that you enjoyed the facilities and the breakfast. What concerned me was that the service in the restaurant was so poor and I will take action in correcting this situation asap. I am confident that upon your next visit we will... More

london
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I was spending 3 days on my own in Saas Fee and booked this hotel from the internet not really knowing what to expect. Arrived with a lovely welcome of coffee, tea, wine and maps of the town and piste- really thoughtful and welcoming The room was lovely and for once a good size as opposed to the typically tiny... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simone W, Manager at The Dom Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jetqueen, thanks a lot for this fantastic comment. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and relaxed a little. Hope to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Simone More

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed at The Dom in December for a long weekend skiing. The hotel is excellent great staff a location in the centre of town. All the facilities at the hotel are first class we highly recommend the hotel and will come back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simone W, Manager at The Dom Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gary_James_n, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we would be more than happy to welcome you back soon. So just ring us and the room is yours again. Kind regards, Simone Hotel Manager More

Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Booked this hotel because of a large number of good reviews but… Design and style rule in The Dom sacrificing any functionality and common sense. The big screen flat TV and radio are managed via iPAD. Great – but it was out of order the next day we arrived and we were given a good old remote contol instead. Needless... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simone W, Manager at The Dom Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Oleg, thank you for letting us know of the problems encountered during your stay. I am quite shocked to hear that our cleaning was absolutely not up to standard and I take personal responsibility that this does not happen again and all items in the room are refilled every day. I am unforunately only left to apologize and assure... More

Larne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed here with friends during the New Year. We had picked this hotel because it is overlooking the square where the New Year's Eve firework display happens. The location is ideal for this.The room was large and well equipped with an in-room safe, fridge, a great coffee machine, etc. There was lots of storage space. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simone W, Manager at The Dom Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for letting us know your experiences from a frequent travellers point of view. We had not considered the amount of problems which our standard swiss sockets are causing. We do have further extension cords with sockets in a row. I was highly concerned about your remark for lack of Service Training. I have therefore scheduled extensive... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Dom Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Dom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dom Hotel

Address: Dorfplatz 2, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dom Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Dom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unique Hotel Saas Fee

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saas-Fee #3 Romantic Hotel in Saas-Fee #16 Family Hotel in Saas-Fee
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel The Dom – Where tradition and modernity meetOur hotel is situated in the center of Saas-Fee, a location with the best-possible guarantee of snow in Europe, and embedded in the typical architecture of the 19th century, when tourism was dominated by the English. In 2011 we restored this historical building, the oldest hotel in the village, at great effort and, at the same time, with great care. The interior captivates with its modern elegance paired with antique elements. Our lovingly furnished 28 rooms also offer you technological comfort of the highest standard. Each room comes with an iPad, and thus for the duration of your stay in our hotel you have access to a diverse and individually tailored information and entertainment offering. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
28

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer