We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Hanselewirt

Mitteldorf 13, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Hanselewirt
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Zug
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel location is great - only a few minutes drive away from the castle! The room is clean and tidy. The services are great, and staff are friendly. The price is unbeatable - best value for money! You can also use their services to buy tickets for the castle, avoid the queue at the ticket office.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chensj
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015

We stayed only one night in the hotel and we really liked it. The room was small but cosy and comfortable. The breakfast offered a quite good selection. Great location to visit the castles in the area. really good value for the money

Helpful?
Thank ilaria f
Bologna, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

Very near from a bus stop for the Neuschwanschtain castle. The room was wide enough for my family with two active children. The restaurant served with really delicious dishes of traditional German foods.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank anonymoustraveler452
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

Average accommodation but very good breakfast. Not impressed that restaurant closed when we arrived (Thursday is a quiet day apparently!). Also rude welcome from host as apparently we didn't let him know that we arriving an hour after our estimated time of 7pm. What happens to the customer is always right saying!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015

Parking is limited but possible at this family feel hotel. It's not the most smart, stylish or modern but everything was clean and comfortable. It's the sort of place where they should get new towels but the bathroom is large and the shower works well so what the heck. Unusually in our experience of southern Germany, it also had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank judith h
rschweiger, Manager at Hotel Hanselewirt, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments about our guesthouse. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your meals in our restaurant and the spectacular views of Neuschwanstein Castle and the Bavarian Alps that can be seen from our first floor terrace and our rooms with castle views. Most of our staff speak English, so I am sorry that... More 

Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2015

We had 3 nights in this lovely hotel. We really enjoyed our stay but it wasn't perfect, nothing ever is. Firstly, we loved the position of the hotel, just one block off the main road in the centre of town, because of the position there is no road noise. You can easily walk to the castles and the cable car... More 

Helpful?
Thank MaggieO2312
rschweiger, Manager at Hotel Hanselewirt, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed most things about your stay. The room you booked is described as "Small Double Room with Low Ceiling". And it is exactly that. Both you and your husband are quite tall, so I can imagine our small room with low ceiling probably wasn't best suited to you. We... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

We were a family of 4 and received a nice area to ourselves, including a spacious bathroom, spacious living area space in bedroom and another separate bedroom. Nice, clean and cozy. Rooms decorated nicely. The only drawback of the rooms were because it was hot, we had to leave windows open and neighbours were loud partying away till late at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Crazyfeline
rschweiger, Manager at Hotel Hanselewirt, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The family room you stayed in is new this zear and very popular with our guests because of its size and comfort. I am very sorry that our neighbours were so loud. It is not normal for this to happen. We were extremely busy... More 

Claremont, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

Booked the night before while in Italy during a two month journey. When we got off the train in Innsbruck, we discovered that train, road, bus, taxi, everything had been stopped into the Garmish area due to the G7 Summit as a security precaution. We had booked a non-refundable room here, but though we would still go ahead and explain... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank shellz61
rschweiger, Manager at Hotel Hanselewirt, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out to fill out comments on our hotel, even though you never stayed here. I am genuinely sorry that we couldn't cancel your booking free of charge at 6pm on the day of your reservation as you requested, quite insistently. I don't think we were rude, we just couldn't comply with what you were requesting... More 

Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

This was a last minute stay for us as I had to do some location scouting for an upcoming photo shoot here and the other places were already booked. First the rooms are clean and functional, the staff (except for the large guy at nite) was very sweet and pleasant. The restaurant is quite wonderful and we will return as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vinion
Edmonton
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

We stayed at this hotel so while visiting the nearby Neuschwanstein Castle. We booked a small room and when we arrived she had upgraded us because there were only two people staying in the Hotel. Apparently a small room applies to the ceiling height and not just the square footage. She said I (being 6'3") would not be comfortable in... More 

Helpful?
Thank terry_brent
rschweiger, Manager at Hotel Hanselewirt, responded to this review

Thank you so much Terry for your very kind review of our hotel. On your visit, the hotel was very quiet so we were happy to give you the free upgrade. As with many of our visitors, your reason for staying was Neuschwanstein castle. While here to see Neuschwanstein Castle, we hope you also had time to take in the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

104 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schwangau
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#2 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
0.9 mi away
Landhotel Guglhupf
Landhotel Guglhupf
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Weinbauer
Hotel Weinbauer
#4 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Helmerhof
Hotel Helmerhof
#6 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Waldmann
Hotel Waldmann
#5 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#3 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay