We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Rottach-Egern hotels

Bachmair Hotel am See

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seestr. 47, 83700 Rottach-Egern, Bavaria, Germany
Hotel amenities
Bachmair Hotel am See
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bachmair Hotel am See to your Saves list
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Rottach-Egern
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014
PAPoodles Palo Alto
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    26
    25
    11
    10
See reviews for
19
34
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (85)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Palo Alto
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

This is a large hotel that consists of many traditional Bavarian style buildings. Our rooms faced the lake and the view was terrific. The breakfast buffet was excellent, providing an over the top selection. The rooms are large and comfortable. The only suggestion is that the rooms and lobbies could use some updating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian B, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Bachmair Hotel am See, responded to this review

Dear guests! We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Your compliments regarding breakfast and room are really great to read! Thank you very much! More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

the hotel is really great located right on the tegernsee lake, but thats about it. The hotel is quiet run down and doesnt give the feeling of care and welcoming as we would have expected. the restaurant was really old fashion however the staff was great and that hence the only reason I did not gave it a one star... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian B, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Bachmair Hotel am See, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you very much for your review. We are glad, that you enjoyed our good service. Unfortunately, it seems that you stayed in one of our not yet renovated rooms. If you happen to return to Rottach-Egern give us another try, you will be surprised how much will have changed! More

Boston, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We ( family of 4 plus grandparents) really enjoyed this hotel. Very good breakfast, nice park. Food quality excellent. Rooms clean and cozy. Nice pool. Staff generally friendly. Beautiful surroundings. Nice hikes. Not a new hotel but full of character.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christian B, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Bachmair Hotel am See, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice words! We are very glad that you liked your stay at Bachmair am See and we are looking forward to see you again! More

Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed here with a group of friends during one of the "Waldfest" events. While the area itself is stunningly beautiful, this hotel is seriously overpriced. We payed more than 300 Euros for a room which might be nice for half the price, but definitely not worth this kind of money. Breakfast was OK, but again, you'd expect more for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian B, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Bachmair Hotel am See, responded to this review

Dear guest! We offer different room rates for different room sizes, and your room was one of our largest rooms. You can stay at us for half the prize and with full service. I can´t understand your statement about non-existing service, usually this is one of our outstanding strong points. More

Erie, PA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The greet staff were very nice. We enjoyed our rooms and the outdoor pool. The breakfast buffet was the best we had in our two week stay in Germany and the Italian wait staff there made it special. Our one problem there came because we stayed as part of a self-guided travel package with Ryder Walker, and there was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian B, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Bachmair Hotel am See, responded to this review

Dear Guest! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at us! We are sorry for the confusion at dinner, but finally this problem could be solved! Thank you very much for being our guest! More

Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

The hotel has gone down in quality over the years unfortunately. This is such a pity given the super location the great tradition it once had. The fitness and sauna area was not working and very old and unkept in appearance. Bedrooms are ok but nothing special. Welcome at reception was so so, average. All in all nothing. Special and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Christian B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Bachmair Hotel am See, responded to this review

Dear guest! I´m very sorry to read about your dissatisfaction. Usually we are proud for our friendly staff, especially at the reception. The major problems with sauna and bath are solved now, but I understand that this is no apology for our faults during your stay. Please, if you happen to come back to Tegernsee, take a lokk at Hotel... More

Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The hotel is a bit worn out and out of date. It was quiet on a Friday evening, as was the whole city. We did not have a view to the lake from our room, which was a small disappointment. The room itself was clean and spacey. The bed was not very comfortable, but it was ok for one night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian B, Leiter Front Office at Bachmair Hotel am See, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you very much for your report. As you know now, we offer more than 250 rooms in 7 different buildings. Not all of them have lake view, and of course there are differences in the room rate. You booked one of our best-price rooms, which are smaller than the regular double rooms and also have smaller matresses... More

Mougins
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The hotel is in front of the Tegernsee lake, with a beautiful view especially from the panorama restaurant. The hotel is really big, with rooms in two buildings. They gave me a room in the second building. The room was clean but really old style: it definitely requires some interior renewal. Similar case for the bathroom. Wifi didn't work. TV... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Just a quick stay in Germany but oh, how this hotel made the time a delight. From the wonderful view and quiet atmosphere to the amazing included breakfast, we had a more pleasant than expected stay at this beautiful lake-side hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

It may have been a 4 star but needs a lot of refurbishing work to keep being attractive to stay It is a labyrinth to get to some rooms And unthinkable to have conference rooms with no windows that can be opened The rooms and bathrooms need definitely a makeover

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bachmair Hotel am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bachmair Hotel am See

Address: Seestr. 47, 83700 Rottach-Egern, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Rottach-Egern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bachmair Hotel am See 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bachmair Hotel am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bachmair Hotel Rottach Egern

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay