We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bachmair Hotel am See

Seestr. 47, 83700 Rottach-Egern, Bavaria, Germany
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bachmair Hotel am See
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bachmair Hotel am See
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    27
    26
    12
    11
See reviews for
22
35
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (91)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Palo Alto
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

This is a large hotel that consists of many traditional Bavarian style buildings. Our rooms faced the lake and the view was terrific. The breakfast buffet was excellent, providing an over the top selection. The rooms are large and comfortable. The only suggestion is that the rooms and lobbies could use some updating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian B, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Bachmair Hotel am See, responded to this review

Dear guests! We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Your compliments regarding breakfast and room are really great to read! Thank you very much! More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

the hotel is really great located right on the tegernsee lake, but thats about it. The hotel is quiet run down and doesnt give the feeling of care and welcoming as we would have expected. the restaurant was really old fashion however the staff was great and that hence the only reason I did not gave it a one star... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian B, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Bachmair Hotel am See, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you very much for your review. We are glad, that you enjoyed our good service. Unfortunately, it seems that you stayed in one of our not yet renovated rooms. If you happen to return to Rottach-Egern give us another try, you will be surprised how much will have changed! More 

Boston, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We ( family of 4 plus grandparents) really enjoyed this hotel. Very good breakfast, nice park. Food quality excellent. Rooms clean and cozy. Nice pool. Staff generally friendly. Beautiful surroundings. Nice hikes. Not a new hotel but full of character.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christian B, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Bachmair Hotel am See, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice words! We are very glad that you liked your stay at Bachmair am See and we are looking forward to see you again! More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed here with a group of friends during one of the "Waldfest" events. While the area itself is stunningly beautiful, this hotel is seriously overpriced. We payed more than 300 Euros for a room which might be nice for half the price, but definitely not worth this kind of money. Breakfast was OK, but again, you'd expect more for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian B, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Bachmair Hotel am See, responded to this review

Dear guest! We offer different room rates for different room sizes, and your room was one of our largest rooms. You can stay at us for half the prize and with full service. I can´t understand your statement about non-existing service, usually this is one of our outstanding strong points. More 

Erie, PA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The greet staff were very nice. We enjoyed our rooms and the outdoor pool. The breakfast buffet was the best we had in our two week stay in Germany and the Italian wait staff there made it special. Our one problem there came because we stayed as part of a self-guided travel package with Ryder Walker, and there was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian B, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Bachmair Hotel am See, responded to this review

Dear Guest! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at us! We are sorry for the confusion at dinner, but finally this problem could be solved! Thank you very much for being our guest! More 

Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

The hotel has gone down in quality over the years unfortunately. This is such a pity given the super location the great tradition it once had. The fitness and sauna area was not working and very old and unkept in appearance. Bedrooms are ok but nothing special. Welcome at reception was so so, average. All in all nothing. Special and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Christian B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Bachmair Hotel am See, responded to this review

Dear guest! I´m very sorry to read about your dissatisfaction. Usually we are proud for our friendly staff, especially at the reception. The major problems with sauna and bath are solved now, but I understand that this is no apology for our faults during your stay. Please, if you happen to come back to Tegernsee, take a lokk at Hotel... More 

Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The hotel is a bit worn out and out of date. It was quiet on a Friday evening, as was the whole city. We did not have a view to the lake from our room, which was a small disappointment. The room itself was clean and spacey. The bed was not very comfortable, but it was ok for one night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian B, Leiter Front Office at Bachmair Hotel am See, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you very much for your report. As you know now, we offer more than 250 rooms in 7 different buildings. Not all of them have lake view, and of course there are differences in the room rate. You booked one of our best-price rooms, which are smaller than the regular double rooms and also have smaller matresses... More 

Mougins
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The hotel is in front of the Tegernsee lake, with a beautiful view especially from the panorama restaurant. The hotel is really big, with rooms in two buildings. They gave me a room in the second building. The room was clean but really old style: it definitely requires some interior renewal. Similar case for the bathroom. Wifi didn't work. TV... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Just a quick stay in Germany but oh, how this hotel made the time a delight. From the wonderful view and quiet atmosphere to the amazing included breakfast, we had a more pleasant than expected stay at this beautiful lake-side hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

It may have been a 4 star but needs a lot of refurbishing work to keep being attractive to stay It is a labyrinth to get to some rooms And unthinkable to have conference rooms with no windows that can be opened The rooms and bathrooms need definitely a makeover

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question