We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bachmair Hotel am See

Seestr. 47, 83700 Rottach-Egern, Bavaria, Germany
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bachmair Hotel am See
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bachmair Hotel am See
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    17
    28
    27
    16
    11
See reviews for
22
40
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (99)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Palo Alto
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

This is a large hotel that consists of many traditional Bavarian style buildings. Our rooms faced the lake and the view was terrific. The breakfast buffet was excellent, providing an over the top selection. The rooms are large and comfortable. The only suggestion is that the rooms and lobbies could use some updating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian B, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Bachmair Hotel am See, responded to this review

Dear guests! We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Your compliments regarding breakfast and room are really great to read! Thank you very much! More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

the hotel is really great located right on the tegernsee lake, but thats about it. The hotel is quiet run down and doesnt give the feeling of care and welcoming as we would have expected. the restaurant was really old fashion however the staff was great and that hence the only reason I did not gave it a one star... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian B, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Bachmair Hotel am See, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you very much for your review. We are glad, that you enjoyed our good service. Unfortunately, it seems that you stayed in one of our not yet renovated rooms. If you happen to return to Rottach-Egern give us another try, you will be surprised how much will have changed! More 

Boston, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We ( family of 4 plus grandparents) really enjoyed this hotel. Very good breakfast, nice park. Food quality excellent. Rooms clean and cozy. Nice pool. Staff generally friendly. Beautiful surroundings. Nice hikes. Not a new hotel but full of character.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christian B, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Bachmair Hotel am See, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice words! We are very glad that you liked your stay at Bachmair am See and we are looking forward to see you again! More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed here with a group of friends during one of the "Waldfest" events. While the area itself is stunningly beautiful, this hotel is seriously overpriced. We payed more than 300 Euros for a room which might be nice for half the price, but definitely not worth this kind of money. Breakfast was OK, but again, you'd expect more for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian B, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Bachmair Hotel am See, responded to this review

Dear guest! We offer different room rates for different room sizes, and your room was one of our largest rooms. You can stay at us for half the prize and with full service. I can´t understand your statement about non-existing service, usually this is one of our outstanding strong points. More 

Travelers are raving about these Rottach-Egern hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Erie, PA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The greet staff were very nice. We enjoyed our rooms and the outdoor pool. The breakfast buffet was the best we had in our two week stay in Germany and the Italian wait staff there made it special. Our one problem there came because we stayed as part of a self-guided travel package with Ryder Walker, and there was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian B, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Bachmair Hotel am See, responded to this review

Dear Guest! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at us! We are sorry for the confusion at dinner, but finally this problem could be solved! Thank you very much for being our guest! More 

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

The hotel has gone down in quality over the years unfortunately. This is such a pity given the super location the great tradition it once had. The fitness and sauna area was not working and very old and unkept in appearance. Bedrooms are ok but nothing special. Welcome at reception was so so, average. All in all nothing. Special and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Christian B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Bachmair Hotel am See, responded to this review

Dear guest! I´m very sorry to read about your dissatisfaction. Usually we are proud for our friendly staff, especially at the reception. The major problems with sauna and bath are solved now, but I understand that this is no apology for our faults during your stay. Please, if you happen to come back to Tegernsee, take a lokk at Hotel... More 

Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The hotel is a bit worn out and out of date. It was quiet on a Friday evening, as was the whole city. We did not have a view to the lake from our room, which was a small disappointment. The room itself was clean and spacey. The bed was not very comfortable, but it was ok for one night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian B, Leiter Front Office at Bachmair Hotel am See, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you very much for your report. As you know now, we offer more than 250 rooms in 7 different buildings. Not all of them have lake view, and of course there are differences in the room rate. You booked one of our best-price rooms, which are smaller than the regular double rooms and also have smaller matresses... More 

Mougins
Level Contributor
123 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The hotel is in front of the Tegernsee lake, with a beautiful view especially from the panorama restaurant. The hotel is really big, with rooms in two buildings. They gave me a room in the second building. The room was clean but really old style: it definitely requires some interior renewal. Similar case for the bathroom. Wifi didn't work. TV... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Just a quick stay in Germany but oh, how this hotel made the time a delight. From the wonderful view and quiet atmosphere to the amazing included breakfast, we had a more pleasant than expected stay at this beautiful lake-side hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

It may have been a 4 star but needs a lot of refurbishing work to keep being attractive to stay It is a labyrinth to get to some rooms And unthinkable to have conference rooms with no windows that can be opened The rooms and bathrooms need definitely a makeover

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rottach-Egern
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bachmair Weissach
Hotel Bachmair Weissach
#1 of 12 in Rottach-Egern
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Althoff Seehotel Ueberfahrt
Althoff Seehotel Ueberfahrt
#2 of 12 in Rottach-Egern
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
1.6 mi away
Das Tegernsee
Das Tegernsee
#3 of 11 in Tegernsee
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park-Hotel Egerner Hoefe
Park-Hotel Egerner Hoefe
#3 of 12 in Rottach-Egern
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
1.5 mi away
Der Westerhof Hotel
Der Westerhof Hotel
#1 of 11 in Tegernsee
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seehotel Waltershof
Seehotel Waltershof
#8 of 12 in Rottach-Egern
3.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay