We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Waiuku B&Bs / inns

Castaways Resort

685 Karioitahi Road | Karioitahi Beach, Waiuku, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Castaways Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castaways Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Waiuku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
TyrellS2015 Christchurch, New Zealand
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    29
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
16
35
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (75)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had only planned to stay at Castaways for one night, but the stunning location, excellent service, and relaxing atmosphere captured us. We ended up staying 3 nights and only left because we had to catch our flight out of the country:) I would recommend this place to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I am currently sitting on the deck of my chalet overlooking the west coast at Karioitahi beach at Castaways. An incredible place to stay. Very friendly staff, well cared for grounds and the chalets have everything you need. A fantastic place to run away to and escape the city and work.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location of this property is amazing. I don't even know this area existed. Overlooking a magnificent beach and the ocean. Your own completely self contained apartment. One bedroomed not such a great view bit the two bedroomed two bathrooms fabulous views. Everything in them that you could need to have your own holiday, countdown about 20 minutes away in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

My wife and I recently celebrated our 45th wedding anniversary at Castaways. Not knowing what to expect I can honestly say that we were very pleasantly surprised. We had originally gone for the anniversary package but changed our mind to the "Murder Mystery" evening, which was a absolute blast. From the moment we arrived we were mad to feel welcome... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Wow, Wow, Wow! Thank you so much Tom and Val for your fabulous review and thank you for choosing Castaways Resort as the destination for your special occasion. We are very fortunate to host many lovely couples like yourselves who are celebrating special milestones and we really enjoy helping to make their occasion memorable. We warmly look forward to hosting... More 

North Shore City, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

I was attending a wedding here recently and wife & I decided to stay the night. I'd been here before to another function and raved about how lovely it was so wife & I decided to book a room for the night. We went to check in early, but room was not available and it was the last room to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you very much for your review. Yes the views from all of our Chalets are amazing! I'm sorry about your TV viewing - the TV's are actually on a hydraulic lowering system so that when you aren't watching the TV, you can raise it out of the way so you may enjoy the stunning views you mentioned.... More 

Tuatapere, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

I visited Castaways for a friends wedding. What a stunning site for a wedding. However I felt the venue itself is in need of modernising or upgrading. Some aspects are starting to look quite tired and my partner mentioned the men's toilets were disgusting. The food was pretty average for a wedding and the service staff were also pretty average,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. Thank you also for your kind words about Castaways Resort - we do have a stunning setting for weddings which is just one of the many reasons why Castaways Resort is such a popular choice among wedding couples. We are always focused on improving the experience we provide and we have just recently... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

We had a birthday party for 50 guests at the resort. What a spectacular location! After the party, my wife and I headed off to one of the glamping sites. We had never "glamped" previously. First checking in was friendly and efficient. Secondly we were led to a golf buggy. We the drove for about 15 mins across sheep paddocks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Hey Kiwifrank. Thanks so much for your great review! Glam Camping is our newest experience on offer and we're so glad you had the opportunity to enjoy it. Since launching our Glam Camps, we've received so much wonderful feedback about the neat settings, fab food and total feeling of escape people experience, so thank you very much for sharing your... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Having previously been to the Agave restaurant at Castaways at Kariotahi Beach and been very impressed with the restaurant, I decided to book overnight accommodation as a surprise birthday present for my girlfriend. Unfortunately the accommodation and experience ended up being a real disappointment, which I am still upset about now. Trying to book was a bit of mission. On... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Whilst the majority of the feedback we receive is extremely positive, if things have gone wrong we do like to know so that we can resolve any issues. What you have noted is certainly not our standard and I sincerely apologise. I am assuming you have not contacted us directly to discuss the... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

My daughter & new son-in-law recently held their wedding at Castaways and from the moment we all arrived we were not only greeted by stunning views but also by a very hospitable and accommodating staff. Roddy in particular was exceptional and I can't thank him enough for the long hours and huge effort he afforded us to ensure the wedding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Hello Heather. On behalf of us all here at Castaways Resort thank you so much for taking the time to write your wonderful informative review! We really do consider it a privilege to be part of a wedding couples special day and as you witnessed, our teams are very committed to providing a truly WOW experience. I'll be sure to... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

I can not fault this place. My partner took me here for a birthday surprise on Friday 10 Oct 2014. When we arrived, we were greeted by name. The lovely woman at the reception desk knew to keep secret the surprise planned for the next morning, so spoke in code to my partner about where to meet and what not.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much Adrian and Ben for your wonderful review! How lucky are we having lovely customers like yourselves. We will be sharing your fabulous feedback with our team who strive very hard to provide WOW experiences to our guests. We look forward to being of service to you both again here on the cliff tops at Castaways Resort... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Castaways Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Resort

Address: 685 Karioitahi Road | Karioitahi Beach, Waiuku, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Castaways Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay