We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Waiuku B&Bs / inns

Castaways Resort

685 Karioitahi Road | Karioitahi Beach, Waiuku, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Castaways Resort to your Saves list
Castaways Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
83%
Ranked #1 of 1 Waiuku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
PlonkMistress Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (60)
  • Photos (48)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (20)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    25
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
25
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Below is an email I sent to Castaways about our experience on their Pure Coastal pakage on 15 and 16 August 2014. So disappointed...... Hi there, We stayed at Castaways last weekend on a Pure Coastal package which our friends had bought for us an engagement present. While the location was amazing, I do feel the need to raise a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There are not enough adjectives to describe the absolutely soul-filling weekend we had !!! THANK YOU CASTAWAYS !!!! Gary and all the staff, including restaurant, were so lovely. Always smiling. Nothing was too much trouble. They were flexible and accommodating to all our ever-changing needs. We ate ourselves stupid with all the lovely food from the menu! ( thank goodness... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Hi there. WOW - what can we say! What an amazing review. Thank you so much for sharing your recent Castaways experience with the TripAdvisor community. Castaways Resort is still being discovered by so many and we know that reviews from guests like yourself are of real value to people who may be considering coming to our little slice of... More

Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently spent a weekend at Castaways Resort. What a great place for a quick and easy getaway out of Auckland. It's less than an hour to get there, yet seems like a world away. We stayed in one of the studio units which at first looked small, but in fact was very well appointed and designed, very comfortable and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Hi there Tim. Thank you for such a great review. We love hearing that guests like yourselves had a wonderful time with us at Castaways Resort and we know that people find it really helpful to read about actual guest experiences.We look forward to welcoming you both back to Castaways Resort in the future. Cheers! More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been to Castaways at least three or four times and will try and get back as often as I can! I love to bring members of my family for special catch ups and creating new memories. Our family love the wilderness of the west coast and as kids we grew up lodging, fishing and exploring the Whatipu Wilderness.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Hi Jay and thank you so much for your wonderful review. We love hearing from our return customers and really appreciate you choosing Castaways Resort for your experience. We look forward to hosting you again soon and if you haven't tried our wonderful new Glam Camping yet...be sure to give it a go as we're receiving rave reviews. Cheers! More

Samut Prakan, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The place is in the remote area. That's our choice, no complaints. The very bad things that we experience are (1) House keeping = just folding the towel and put on the rack. No floor mopping, No carpet vacuum, no refill bath gel or shampoo. (2) There is kitchenette in the room and utensils provided, but funny enough , no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're sorry that the internet was not available during your stay. This is a service that we provide complimentary to our guests, so do not charge for it but regardless, our aim is to always have it working well as we know customers like to use internet while away from home. Unfortunately due to the... More

hamilton, N Z
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed in the 2 bedroom unit for one night with 3 other ladies. The units look like the pictures and for us it was good to have 2 bathrooms and we were able to get 4 single beds.The views are lovely and our dinner in the restaurant was delicious with friendly and efficient staff. All in all a very positive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Many thanks for your wonderful review. We often have guests like yourselves staying in our spacious two bedroom chalets on a single basis with 4 guests per chalet. This option is available for all of our chalets or guests can enjoy super king beds if staying as a couple. Our restaurant team are committed to providing excellent dining experiences so... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were told about this from a friend who had been to a conference there. She gaves us a good overview saying we should try it if ever looking for a local beach break. So off we went from Auckland central out along the Southern motorway to Waiuku after a 40min ride arrived at Castaway Resort. The road in is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your great review! It's wonderful when others share their neat experiences as you have done and we know many of our potential customers use TripAdvisor to see which places are great to visit. Be sure to take look at our Glam Camping experience when you wish to return for another fab experience - we've had great... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

As a surprise for my parents on the Mother's Day weekend 9 to 11 of May 2014 my wife and I hired one of the two bedroom / 2 bathroom Chalets at Castaways. It was a magical weekend for all four of us but especially so for my parents. It was so heart warming to see them smile and enjoy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Hello Clint & Jude. Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It sounds like you had a fabulous weekend with us at Castaways Resort - great photos! What a wonderful treat for your parents and neat to see that you enjoyed many of our onsite services, including activities which are always fun. Thanks again for sharing your review with... More

Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I stayed at this hotel at the end of March for a wedding and I LOVED the venue, really beautiful and the accommodation was clean, spacious and beautiful. Roddy from the venue was fantastic, really helpful and kept everything running smoothly, band was great and food was delicious. The major issue we had was with the accommodation managers. They were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Hi Amie. Thank you for your review and wonderful to hear of the fab time you had at your friends wedding at Castaways Resort. Our venue team love providing guests like yourself with great experiences and we receive wonderful feedback about our food, so very glad you enjoyed your dining experience also. On the flipside, I am concerned to read... More

Julatten, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Very relaxing way to end our trip. The chalets are well equipped and the restaurant is fantastic. Had a small issue with housekeeping which the hotel manager made amends for. Look forward to going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Hello Claire. Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. Wonderful to hear that we provided a nice relaxing conclusion to your trip. We often find overseas visitors can do with a day or two to simply relax before they hop on the plane back home and with our tranquil setting and facilities including Bersantai Day... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Castaways Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Castaways Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Resort

Address: 685 Karioitahi Road | Karioitahi Beach, Waiuku, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Castaways Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Castaways Resort is located on the stunning cliff tops of Kariotahi Beach, Auckland.With a fabulous range of services available, friendly and helpful staff and a commitment to providing wonderful experiences to guests, Castaways Resort is Auckland most popular cliff top ocean front resort.Be pampered at onsite Bersantai Day Spa, recharge with a walk along the ocean beach below, savour as you dine on the cliff tops at Agave Restaurant with the sounds of the ocean below, have fun with onsite activities such as 4WDing, archery and blokarting and relax in seaview accommodation - it's all here at Castaways Resort.Wonderful as a weekend getaway, perfect for a stopover during your New Zealand holiday (Aucklands International airport is only 45 minutes away), gorgeous as a wedding destination, ideal for your next conference or retreat and a true escape for a day trip, Castaways Resort is not to be missed! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
25

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Castaways Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer