We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Waiuku B&Bs / inns

Castaways Resort

685 Karioitahi Road | Karioitahi Beach, Waiuku, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Castaways Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castaways Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Waiuku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
kiwigirl2212 Wellington, New Zealand
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    27
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
30
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (68)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Having previously been to the Agave restaurant at Castaways at Kariotahi Beach and been very impressed with the restaurant, I decided to book overnight accommodation as a surprise birthday present for my girlfriend. Unfortunately the accommodation and experience ended up being a real disappointment, which I am still upset about now. Trying to book was a bit of mission. On... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Whilst the majority of the feedback we receive is extremely positive, if things have gone wrong we do like to know so that we can resolve any issues. What you have noted is certainly not our standard and I sincerely apologise. I am assuming you have not contacted us directly to discuss the... More

Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My daughter & new son-in-law recently held their wedding at Castaways and from the moment we all arrived we were not only greeted by stunning views but also by a very hospitable and accommodating staff. Roddy in particular was exceptional and I can't thank him enough for the long hours and huge effort he afforded us to ensure the wedding... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Hello Heather. On behalf of us all here at Castaways Resort thank you so much for taking the time to write your wonderful informative review! We really do consider it a privilege to be part of a wedding couples special day and as you witnessed, our teams are very committed to providing a truly WOW experience. I'll be sure to... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

I can not fault this place. My partner took me here for a birthday surprise on Friday 10 Oct 2014. When we arrived, we were greeted by name. The lovely woman at the reception desk knew to keep secret the surprise planned for the next morning, so spoke in code to my partner about where to meet and what not.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much Adrian and Ben for your wonderful review! How lucky are we having lovely customers like yourselves. We will be sharing your fabulous feedback with our team who strive very hard to provide WOW experiences to our guests. We look forward to being of service to you both again here on the cliff tops at Castaways Resort... More

Manukau
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

Still undecided about Castaways. I had been wanting to go there for years and had previously tried to book but they'd been full, but I was disappointed when we arrived, we had a frosty reception and were told to make our own booking at the restaurant but the phones weren't working so we'd have to walk up and book (no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. Great to hear that you have now had the chance to experience Castaways Resort! We receive great feedback on the studios as for a studio room they are considered very spacious and enjoy lovely ocean views but if lots of space is what you are seeking, then your tip about booking a chalet is a... More

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

First time glampers, absolutely amazing experience. Wonderful location, great food and drink and a great place to unwind without phones and internet. You must sample the outdoor hot tub and swing in the hammocks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Hey there Glampers! Thank you for your great review. Glam Camping is something new we now offer at Castaways Resort and we have had such wonderful feedback from guests like yourselves who have experienced our Glam Camping. Demand has been so high we can't keep up... so we're building more! We look forward to hosting you both again in the... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

A wonderful place to escape the stresses of life - a wild windswept beach. Accomodation was great - good facilities, spacious and clean and tidy. We also had dinner at the restaurant and enjoyed our meal. Only comment of improvement was the bed was a bit soft. Great place to take the family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Thanks you for your review. We feel very fortunate to have such a fantastic setting to share with all of our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back to the cliff tops at Castaways Resort in the future. More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay off the main road.got off to a bad start with key not left under mat but they handled the problem well and would recommend as an awarsome place to stay.The cabins are truely on the cliff face and the views are sensational. Can be very windy but adds to the experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Hi there and thank you for your review. We are very fortunate to have such an amazing location and love sharing it with guests such as yourselves. We hope to be of service to you again in the future on the cliff tops of Karioitahi Beach, Auckland at Castaways Resort. Regards, More

Auckland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We were there in August 2014 as a company "away day" . A treat from our employer for a hard year's work. Although I have lived in Auckland only an hour and a half away I'd never visited Castaways but have heard lots about it. What a great getaway in an amazing location even in the cool winter months. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. Great to hear that you had a fab time with us on your recent away day. Many guests discover Castaways Resort whilst attending company events and then return another time on a personal getaway. We look forward to hosting you again in the future on the stunning cliff tops at Castaways Resort. More

Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Below is an email I sent to Castaways about our experience on their Pure Coastal pakage on 15 and 16 August 2014. So disappointed...... Hi there, We stayed at Castaways last weekend on a Pure Coastal package which our friends had bought for us an engagement present. While the location was amazing, I do feel the need to raise a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear of your experience with us. Whilst the majority of the feedback we receive is extremely positive, occasionally we do get things wrong and when we do, we like to be made aware so that we can resolve any issues. I understand that our Lodge Managers have been in touch with you to discuss this... More

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

There are not enough adjectives to describe the absolutely soul-filling weekend we had !!! THANK YOU CASTAWAYS !!!! Gary and all the staff, including restaurant, were so lovely. Always smiling. Nothing was too much trouble. They were flexible and accommodating to all our ever-changing needs. We ate ourselves stupid with all the lovely food from the menu! ( thank goodness... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Hi there. WOW - what can we say! What an amazing review. Thank you so much for sharing your recent Castaways experience with the TripAdvisor community. Castaways Resort is still being discovered by so many and we know that reviews from guests like yourself are of real value to people who may be considering coming to our little slice of... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Castaways Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Resort

Address: 685 Karioitahi Road | Karioitahi Beach, Waiuku, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Castaways Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay