We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Waiuku B&Bs / inns

Castaways Resort

685 Karioitahi Road | Karioitahi Beach, Waiuku, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Castaways Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Castaways Resort to your Saves list
82%
Ranked #1 of 1 Waiuku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
TrepidExplorerNZ Auckland Region, New Zealand
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    27
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
25
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (63)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A wonderful place to escape the stresses of life - a wild windswept beach. Accomodation was great - good facilities, spacious and clean and tidy. We also had dinner at the restaurant and enjoyed our meal. Only comment of improvement was the bed was a bit soft. Great place to take the family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to stay off the main road.got off to a bad start with key not left under mat but they handled the problem well and would recommend as an awarsome place to stay.The cabins are truely on the cliff face and the views are sensational. Can be very windy but adds to the experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Hi there and thank you for your review. We are very fortunate to have such an amazing location and love sharing it with guests such as yourselves. We hope to be of service to you again in the future on the cliff tops of Karioitahi Beach, Auckland at Castaways Resort. Regards, More

Auckland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We were there in August 2014 as a company "away day" . A treat from our employer for a hard year's work. Although I have lived in Auckland only an hour and a half away I'd never visited Castaways but have heard lots about it. What a great getaway in an amazing location even in the cool winter months. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. Great to hear that you had a fab time with us on your recent away day. Many guests discover Castaways Resort whilst attending company events and then return another time on a personal getaway. We look forward to hosting you again in the future on the stunning cliff tops at Castaways Resort. More

Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Below is an email I sent to Castaways about our experience on their Pure Coastal pakage on 15 and 16 August 2014. So disappointed...... Hi there, We stayed at Castaways last weekend on a Pure Coastal package which our friends had bought for us an engagement present. While the location was amazing, I do feel the need to raise a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear of your experience with us. Whilst the majority of the feedback we receive is extremely positive, occasionally we do get things wrong and when we do, we like to be made aware so that we can resolve any issues. I understand that our Lodge Managers have been in touch with you to discuss this... More

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

There are not enough adjectives to describe the absolutely soul-filling weekend we had !!! THANK YOU CASTAWAYS !!!! Gary and all the staff, including restaurant, were so lovely. Always smiling. Nothing was too much trouble. They were flexible and accommodating to all our ever-changing needs. We ate ourselves stupid with all the lovely food from the menu! ( thank goodness... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Hi there. WOW - what can we say! What an amazing review. Thank you so much for sharing your recent Castaways experience with the TripAdvisor community. Castaways Resort is still being discovered by so many and we know that reviews from guests like yourself are of real value to people who may be considering coming to our little slice of... More

Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We recently spent a weekend at Castaways Resort. What a great place for a quick and easy getaway out of Auckland. It's less than an hour to get there, yet seems like a world away. We stayed in one of the studio units which at first looked small, but in fact was very well appointed and designed, very comfortable and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Hi there Tim. Thank you for such a great review. We love hearing that guests like yourselves had a wonderful time with us at Castaways Resort and we know that people find it really helpful to read about actual guest experiences.We look forward to welcoming you both back to Castaways Resort in the future. Cheers! More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I have been to Castaways at least three or four times and will try and get back as often as I can! I love to bring members of my family for special catch ups and creating new memories. Our family love the wilderness of the west coast and as kids we grew up lodging, fishing and exploring the Whatipu Wilderness.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Hi Jay and thank you so much for your wonderful review. We love hearing from our return customers and really appreciate you choosing Castaways Resort for your experience. We look forward to hosting you again soon and if you haven't tried our wonderful new Glam Camping yet...be sure to give it a go as we're receiving rave reviews. Cheers! More

Samut Prakan, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The place is in the remote area. That's our choice, no complaints. The very bad things that we experience are (1) House keeping = just folding the towel and put on the rack. No floor mopping, No carpet vacuum, no refill bath gel or shampoo. (2) There is kitchenette in the room and utensils provided, but funny enough , no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're sorry that the internet was not available during your stay. This is a service that we provide complimentary to our guests, so do not charge for it but regardless, our aim is to always have it working well as we know customers like to use internet while away from home. Unfortunately due to the... More

hamilton, N Z
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed in the 2 bedroom unit for one night with 3 other ladies. The units look like the pictures and for us it was good to have 2 bathrooms and we were able to get 4 single beds.The views are lovely and our dinner in the restaurant was delicious with friendly and efficient staff. All in all a very positive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Many thanks for your wonderful review. We often have guests like yourselves staying in our spacious two bedroom chalets on a single basis with 4 guests per chalet. This option is available for all of our chalets or guests can enjoy super king beds if staying as a couple. Our restaurant team are committed to providing excellent dining experiences so... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were told about this from a friend who had been to a conference there. She gaves us a good overview saying we should try it if ever looking for a local beach break. So off we went from Auckland central out along the Southern motorway to Waiuku after a 40min ride arrived at Castaway Resort. The road in is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your great review! It's wonderful when others share their neat experiences as you have done and we know many of our potential customers use TripAdvisor to see which places are great to visit. Be sure to take look at our Glam Camping experience when you wish to return for another fab experience - we've had great... More

Do you own or manage Castaways Resort?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Castaways Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Resort

Address: 685 Karioitahi Road | Karioitahi Beach, Waiuku, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Castaways Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Castaways Resort

Enlarge Map