We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Scarness accommodations

Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay

184 Torquay Road, Scarness, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay to your Saves list
Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
53%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 weeks ago
344Lucy Perth, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (90)
  • Photos (18)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    14
    11
    9
    21
See reviews for
3
17
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here before. Did not like the staff, Did not like the hotel, Did not like their services. Please do not stay here, you have been warned. We went to frasier Island and it was a terrible experience with a poor tour guide. And we got robbed of nearly $500 for a deposit we paid on the 4wd, we gave... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this review

Thanks Keano1000 you have already posted a negative review last year.If you feel that we have done the wrong thing by you please read our response from last time. We have given you opportunity to contact us and resolve your alleged issue's. I am finding it hard to believe your allegations due to you never contacting us. More

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Hervey Bay is a usual jumping on and off point for Fraser Island Tours. Palace Backpackers is a great place to stay when passing through. The staff are really friendly and do their best to make your stay a great one. There is a free shuttle into town and pick up/drop off for travellers arriving on the Greyhound. The rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

My friend and I booked a 3 day 2 night Fraser Island package and got 2free nights at palace backpackers. We were picked up by the hostel and the coach terminal. Each Fraser group had it's own unit where the facilities were shared but not by an overwhelming amount of people so it felt spacious. The rooms and facilities were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this review

Hi Sally, We were so happy to hear you had a great stay with us. We try our best from cleaning to reception to tour guides to make your experience the best possible. Getting feedback like this give us all a smile. Travel safe and enjoy! More

Hervey Bay, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

So pleased with this hostel. Our trip to Fraser included a night stay before and after the tour. First night we were in a 4bed which has enough space for us all. The shower room was big and both it and toilet room were the cleanest i have seen yet! The kitchen was great although some other girls left it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review! We're glad to see you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back again one day. Safe travels from The Team at Palace. More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Me and my four girlfriends stayed at Palace Backbackers before our trip to Fraser Island. We got a room on the first floor, and since there were no lockers in the room (which there usually is in a hostel) we had to keep our valuable stuff next to our bed. When we woke up the next morning at six o'clock,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this review

We're very sorry to know that your trip was impacted by theives Iphigenia H. As we know our guests often are travelling with valuables we have certain security measures in place to prevent you from any harm. Lockers are not available in your rooms, but there are secure lockers in a designated locker room available at all times - which... More

Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed in this hostel the night before and after my trip to Fraser Island - it was included in the package. the first room where I slept was small and too hot but the second one was good, with a big window and fan. there is a lot of space to chill out in each unit's common area, which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Matilde P! We're glad you loved the island - it's a magical place. More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Too much to say and not enough time to say it. Great staff, spacious rooms, nice communal areas , clean bathrooms and kitchens and of course a great location. We stayed here for a few days after our Fraser Is trip and was a great way to unwind

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for the review Mary, we are glad that you enjoyed you stay with us More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I did my Fraser Island trip with palace and stayed there the night before and after the tour. I loved every minute, the staff was helpful and the facilities where good and clean. The tour itself was amazing. The camp has everything you need and is right on the beach. The tour guide was amazing, and he knew everything there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this review

Thanks Mannie, we are pleased that you enjoyed our hostel and Fraser Island tour. More

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for in february 2014. Palace was extremely clean and the facilities were great. The reception and management team were always happy to help and couldnt do enough for us throughout our stay. Loved the layout of the hostel and its in a great location being 2mintutes away from the beach, bars and resturants. We went to fraser island... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review Emily, we do have a great team here at Palace and we are proud of the customer service they provide. We do hope you can make it back at some stage. More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Palace is a great place to stay. Clean, tidy and only a 5 min walk to the main stretch of beach and shops. The people who worked there are great. Really helpful when we had questions to ask. The trip it's self is probably the best trip down the east coast. We had a great group of people and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review Milly, We will pass on this on to Craig. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay

Address: 184 Torquay Road, Scarness, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Scarness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay Australia - Scarness

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
1:53
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
1:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay is located a short 3 minute walk from the beach, offering self contained units for a little extra comfort with our guests. Each unit contains a private kitchen, lounge and dining area, as well as two bathrooms and two toilets for guests to use. Your apartment houses a range of dorms (ranging from 3, 4 or 6 share) plus a private room allowing you to interact and meet other like-minded travellers! The property also boasts a refreshing outdoor swimming pool, sun hammocks, FREE BBQ facilities, 24-hour television access, secure lockers, communal laundry and entertaining areas, and a FREE courtesy bus to and from the Hervey Bay Transit Centre! At Palace, we like to ensure you feel right at home during your stay. So why not check out one of our dorm, twin or double rooms and stay a night! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
39

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer