We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Chigwell hotels

Menzies Prince Regent

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manor Road, Chigwell IG8 8AE, England
Hotel amenities
Menzies Prince Regent
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Menzies Prince Regent to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chigwell
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Bryan G London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    71
    52
    40
    21
See reviews for
57
96
14
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (310)
  • Mar-May only
    (82)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (86)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a really good night and the food was very good-BUT The Men's Toilet was really bad.There was paper all over the floor, and the urinals had vomit over them obviously there was no one to attend them. You spent a lot of money on waiters and security and a guy on the cloakroom. Why not a toilet attendant.we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have stayed here several times and have always had a very pleasant experience The hotel is reasonably close to the central line and therefore easy access to London city we visited Winter wonderland on the Friday evening and whitefields shopping centre on Saturday

Was this review helpful? Yes
M_Ovsenjak, General Manager at Menzies Prince Regent, responded to this review

Dear Eva T, Thank you for your recent stay with us, and for the time taken to post your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Prince Regent, and I hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back soon. Have a wonderful festive season, and best wishes for 2015. With kind regards, Mario Ovsenjak, General... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms and the food are definately well above average but breakfast is brilliant.. the breakfast staff Nada and Leanne are really good and the evening staff are also really good the hotel is in good clean condition..The reception staff are again very thourough..would stop again for its well worth its money and would recommend to all.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
M_Ovsenjak, General Manager at Menzies Prince Regent, responded to this review

Dear edbolt, Thank you for your recent stay with us, and for the time taken to leave the review. This is much appreciated. I am glad that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, and i will pass your kind comments on to my team. I hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back at some point soon. Best... More 

Birmingham
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

have stayed here a few times mainly only as a last resort and all other hotels are full. Staff always friendly and good parking, however the rooms although clean are very tired the heating never works, three separate occasions I have complained the rooms is cold to be given a small heater usually broken wheel or stand and not adequate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
M_Ovsenjak, General Manager at Menzies Prince Regent, responded to this review

Dear DMTMB Thank you for staying with us and for the time taken to post your review. I am pleased that you found many positive aspects about your stay, and I apologise for any items that were less than perfect. You will be pleased to know that we are completing a major project on our plant room equipment. I expect... More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Plenty of positive features, including good parking facilities, friendly reception staff, well equipped room and well appointed bar and lounge. Free wifi is a bonus. Also decent tv, good shower and tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits. If you don't fancy eating in the restaurant, there are a number of pubs and restaurants in walking distance. On the downside,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
M_Ovsenjak, General Manager at Menzies Prince Regent, responded to this review

Dear John S, Thank you for your recent stay with us, and the time taken to share your experience via TripAdvisor. Feedback such as yours is absolutely vital to my team and I, as we work on making The Prince Regent a comfortable and relaxing place to stay with friendly and personal service. You will be pleased to know that... More 

Shrewsbury
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very disappointed with this hotel- It was a late booking, late arrival and early departure, so didn't raise with the staff- I just wanted to get to bed. My company was charged rack rate with breakfast, although I was due to leave well before breakfast was due to be served. Despite pasing this information to the receptionist, she was more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
M_Ovsenjak, General Manager at Menzies Prince Regent, responded to this review

Dear Jager66, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the time taken to post your review. Please accept my apologies for anything that was bellow expected standard. You have my assurances that the team and I work tirelessly on improving our hotel facilities as well as service. In addition, please rest assured that due to high levels... More 

Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our friends who stayed in the hotel said is was Okay, as we live close by we didn't need to stay in the hotel. We were attending a fund raiser in one of the function suites. The food was very average except for the cheese plate which was outstandingly good. Unfortunately the bar staff did not come up to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
M_Ovsenjak, General Manager at Menzies Prince Regent, responded to this review

Dear Keith R, Thank you for your recent visit and for the time taken to write your review. I apologise about running out of Diet Coke on the night of your event, I will make sure that our supplies are adequate moving forward. You are right in terms of training, my colleagues and I have recently completed the latest round... More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel on business several times now. It has all facilities needed to function and is well placed to get to and from the city to work. This was the first time i have stayed in the old part of hotel and the lack of heating in the bathroom was a shock, i will definitely ask... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
M_Ovsenjak, General Manager at Menzies Prince Regent, responded to this review

Dear shaunhaxby, Thank you for staying with us and for the time taken to write your review. I will share your comments with my team. Leanne will be delighted, i'm sure! In terms of menu options - I am pleased to say that we have a new head chef with us as of this week, and one of his priorities... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014 via mobile

i have stayed at this hotel on a regular basis , I have found the staff to be very helpful and professional on all my stays but one member of staff always go's the extra mile to help is Leanne who normally covers for breakfast's but is always on the move helping residents, this hotel is worth a visit good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
M_Ovsenjak, General Manager at Menzies Prince Regent, responded to this review

Dear Douggorrie, Thank you for your repeated custom, and for the time taken to share your experience. I am particularly pleased that you mentioned Leanne - she is a true star. I shared your comments with her. I hope to have an opportunity to meet you in person, please do make yourself known if at all possible during one of... More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Nice hotel. Big clean room. Went as a couple and was given 3 single beds which wasn't the best but they were comfortable. The food in the bar was nice but a little pricey same with the drinks. Only real complaint is the website says checkout was at 12 but at 11 was knocks asking us to vacate the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
M_Ovsenjak, General Manager at Menzies Prince Regent, responded to this review

Dear Bennykill, Thank you so much for staying with us, and for the time taken to post your review. Your feedback is very important to me as a new General Manager as it provides me with some key areas to focus on moving forwards. I will share your comments with my colleagues and look into check-out time discrepancy, thank you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Menzies Prince Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menzies Prince Regent

Address: Manor Road, Chigwell IG8 8AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chigwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Menzies Prince Regent 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Menzies Prince Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Prince Regent Hotel Chigwell
Regent Menzies Prince
Regent Hotel London
Regent London
London Regent
Menzies Prince Regent Chigwell, Essex

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (68)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay