We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Menzies Prince Regent

Manor Road, Chigwell IG8 8AE, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Menzies Prince Regent
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Menzies Prince Regent
Menzies Prince Regent
Menzies Prince Regent
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    79
    57
    43
    25
See reviews for
64
103
16
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (341)
  • Mar-May only
    (100)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (86)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
Chipping Sodbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was recommended this hotel by a colleague. I read the reviews, which were quite mixed. Some good some bad. I was pleasantly surprised. Got a warm welcome from the receptionist, my room was large, clean and tidy. In fact I thought it was excellent. The bathroom was large with an excellent shower. On the down side, it was quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our wedding day was a great success due in large part to the lovely reception arranged at the Prince Regent Hotel, Chigwell. The celebrations that included a lovely drinks reception, a sumptuous dinner and a lively evening disco were thoroughly enjoyed by ourselves and all our 50 guests. The venue ambience in the Princess Suite, the warm and friendly staff,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Bedroom carpet not fit to walk barefoot on, bathroom sink looked as though it had been cleaned with a dirty rag.Both mornings we were woken by noisy pipes.Good point was a lovely breakfast and nice staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No idea how it got 4 stars, we upgraded to a superior room after seeing the standard room photos on here after we had booked,, well if this was superior I dread to think what the standard rooms are like, this room had stained carper mould on ceiling in bathroom and around window frame in bedroom room 109. Décor is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Comfy beds. Awful hard pillows. Dusty, rattling windows, tea n coffee facility in rooms (that's if they fill it up). Needs a refurbish. On a good note the breakfast was excellent and the staff were helpful and friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chigwell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have stayed here several times, usually for one night, and been really disappointed with the standard rooms. This time I stayed 4 nights over the bank holiday weekend and decided to pay the extra for a superior room and I must say it was well worth the extra. Stayed in room 308 which is right at the very end of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Loughton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just awful. Damp walls in our bedroom and dirty carpet that you just would not walk on without shoes. The windows were rotten and black around the edges. Didn't even use the bathroom apart from brushing my teeth as so awful. Used wet wipes until I got home!

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
M_Ovsenjak, General Manager at Menzies Prince Regent, responded to this review

Dear jackiec469, Thank you for your stay with us December 2014, and your recent review. It is very disappointing that you did not find the hotel to be of a good standard. I sincerely apologise for this. My colleagues and I have inspected all the bedrooms since seeing your review. I was not able to identify the room you refer... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had another lovely evening at the Prince Regent Chigwell. The hotel is always wonderfully clean and tidy. We have been coming here for a few years regularly now and really love the place. All the staff are nice and polite, nada yvette lucy leanne excel in the bar and breakfast area but we want to give a special mention... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
M_Ovsenjak, General Manager at Menzies Prince Regent, responded to this review

Dear edbolt, Thank you so much for your repeat custom, it is much appreciated. Also, thank you for the time taken to post your review, I shared your comments with the team, in particular with Denise, who remembers helping out with your button. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time here, and my team and I look forward to... More 

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

The staff were brilliant on the night, the Duty Manger and the Head Waitress, were calm professional and organised. Our guests were treated to great service and some lovely food. We would definitely use the venue again for a corporate event.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
M_Ovsenjak, General Manager at Menzies Prince Regent, responded to this review

Dear Phil B, Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased that you and your guests enjoyed the evening. I am glad that you pointed out the professionalism of my team. Some of my colleagues have been working on events such as yours for over 10 years and more. The Prince Regent hosts a variety of private and corporate... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Booked in for the weekend to attend friends christening. We took advantage of the two night weekend package which was great value. The meals we had in the restaurant were excellently cooked and reasonably priced. The buffet breakfast was also very good. Our room was clean if a bit basic, bed was comfy, good value for money. What made the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
M_Ovsenjak, General Manager at Menzies Prince Regent, responded to this review

Dear Steve S, Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel, in particular, thank you for your compliments regarding the team here. I am glad that you found our special two night promotion to be of a great value. We will continuously strive to be competitive in our market place. My recommendation... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (78)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities