We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Chigwell hotels

Menzies Prince Regent

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manor Road, Chigwell IG8 8AE, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Menzies Prince Regent to your Saves list
Menzies Prince Regent
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
64%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Chigwell
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Jan V Purley
  • Overview
  • Reviews (274)
  • Photos (83)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (62)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    62
    43
    36
    20
See reviews for
49
82
12
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Purley
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A very pleasant overnight stay. The staff were friendly, polite and helpful. The room was very clean and spacious, the view was not very good but for one night it really made no difference. The breakfast was delicious and there was an excellent choice. I would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Friell, General Manager at Menzies Prince Regent, responded to this review

Dear Member, Thank you very much for your recent review. I was delighted to read your review and I will certainly share your kind comments with my team. Kind Regards, Stuart Friell General Manager More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel for one night as we were attending a wedding in the area. First impression was not good. Cigarette ends littered the entrance which was also dirty. Our bedroom and bathroom were very small but at least clean, which was more than can be said for the rest of the hotel. Dining room carpets couldn't have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Friell, General Manager at Menzies Prince Regent, responded to this review

Dear Member, Thank you very much for your recent review. Firstly I would like to apologise for your first impressions, we do have a designated smoking area and from time to time due to the volume o four catering business do find our guest smoke around the entrance areas and today I have discussed with my team that more frequent... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Randomly picked this hotel because it was close to where I was working. It is a lovely building with a nice garden and very efficient, chatty and friendly staff. One mark off for no air conditioning and I was staying in a heatwave but really happy with my stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
Friell, General Manager at Menzies Prince Regent, responded to this review

Dear Member, Thank you very much for your recent review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and I will certainly share your kind comments with my team. Kind Regards, Stuart Friell General Manager More

London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I would like to start this review positively so the receptionist was lovely and very welcoming and even called us after a few mins of being in the room to see if we're ok and happy with the room, obviously I was polite and said yes everything was fine. The view from the room was lovely and the windows they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Friell, General Manager at Menzies Prince Regent, responded to this review

Dear Member, Thank you very much for your recent review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and considered it value for money. I will certainly highlight the shortcomings you experienced with my Head Housekeeper. Kind Regards, Stuart Friell General Manager More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Bridal party stayed here yesterday and we were impressed with how accommodating the hotel was with requests for a quiet spacious room, additional lighting and a fan etc... Breakfast was also decent with a variety of hot and cold food. I would concede that the hotel could do with air-con in the rooms and could do with a general refresh/refurb... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Friell, General Manager at Menzies Prince Regent, responded to this review

Dear Member, Thank you very much for your kind comments I will certainly share them with all of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon Kind Regards, Stuart Friell General Manager More

London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I recently stayed at the Menzies prince regent and have got to compliment it's hard working staff that go the extra mile to make you feel at home , the girls at reception "Kelly,ela,roxy,and Natalie were ever so thoughtful ,helpful ,polite and with no fuss rearranged availability when hotel was fully booked just to make sure my I was at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Friell, General Manager at Menzies Prince Regent, responded to this review

Dear Member, Thank you very much for your kind comments I will certainly share them with all of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon Kind Regards, Stuart Friell General Manager More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I held a charity Ball at the Prince Regent last weekend for 320 people. This should have been very stressful, but the wonderful staff and managers at the hotel made it so stress free for me. Nothing was a problem and they ran the night with true professionalism. The waiters and waitresses were efficient and helpful and the food was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Friell, General Manager at Menzies Prince Regent, responded to this review

Dear Katie, Thank you very much for your kind comments following your very successful charity ball. Firstly may I say how pleased I was to be the duty manager for the event and proud to be part of an extremely successful evening and in saying that I will also ensure I extend my thanks to my team who worked extremely... More

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night room stuffy and had to open all the windows as no aircon .I feel all so called four star hotels should have this as standard especially when charging what they do. Room was ok and clean but carpet was very marked and had stains caused by god knows what. Breakfast was satisfactory and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Friell, General Manager at Menzies Prince Regent, responded to this review

Dear Member, Thank you for your recent review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay albeit that the room you stayed in does not have air conditioning. I will certainly pass your comments of to my housekeeping staff and I was especially pleased to read that you would recommend my hotel and my team. Kind Regards, Stuart... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I thought this was meant to be a good hotel. Had to pay when booking in. Very disappointed by the night staff as I watched another guess complain in front of me that they did nothing about then when he went they took the micky out of him with me there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Friell, General Manager at Menzies Prince Regent, responded to this review

Dear Member, Thank you for your recent review. I as disappointed to read your comments and since your review I have discussed your findings with my team and would like to offer my apologies. It is our policy to take payment on arrival as it is with most leading hotel companies and booking agencies and I am sorry if this... More

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On booking in I was requested to pay for my stay. I handed over my credit card and an amount was debited. The following day was my son's wedding day so we had a very early start. Several items belonging to my nieces were left out whilst we were away from the room. Housekeeping had obviously been in and cleaned... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Friell, General Manager at Menzies Prince Regent, responded to this review

Dear Janet, Thank you for your recent review. Firstly may I apologise for having not replied to your sooner having, recently returned from holiday. I know that Kelly has spoken to you along with my Duty Manager on occasion. Naturally with every review posted on this site both my team and I meet to review the comments and take the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Menzies Prince Regent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Menzies Prince Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menzies Prince Regent

Address: Manor Road, Chigwell IG8 8AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chigwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Menzies Prince Regent 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Menzies Prince Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Prince Regent Hotel Chigwell
Regent Menzies Prince
Regent Hotel London
Regent London
London Regent
Menzies Prince Regent Chigwell, Essex

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
61

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer