We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chalet Le Sommet

Val Thorens, Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Val Thorens
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Chalet Le Sommet
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

My friend and I booked a twin room at this chalet with Ski Total and had a brilliant week! George, the main man, was great in keeping us informed on weather reports, events and recommended venues. He also booked us for dinner at a brilliant french restaurant during the chalet staffs night off. He's a great chap and really takes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Will S
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

George our Rep was very good. He had plenty of advice and was always around for us to talk to. Steve our chef was amazing- The food was lovely & Very well presented for such a big group of guests at one time. The room cleanliness when we arrived was disappointing, but we when we are skiing the rooms are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emily B
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The place suggests ski in and ski out, but this is not so. The staff at the chalet are okay and try hard. The company who we booked with are an utter joke and not only unpleasant but also incompetent. If you want to go to Val Thorens there are many better places run by much nicer people. Avoid ski... More 

Helpful?
Thank CJTW
Esprit_Holidays_1982, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Le Sommet, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your holiday in the Chalet Le Sommet last winter, CJTW. Our team in the chalet this season are doing a sterling job, as confirmed by recent reviews and guest feedback received, so it's clear that our current season guests are happy. It's a shame that you were not equally so and have... More 

Travelers are raving about these Val Thorens hotels

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have just returned from a work trip and already have the holiday blues!! (A planned trip of 3 days turned into a week.... And the staff and my love for VT played a very important role in my decision to stay!) The staff could not have been more accommodating. George (our rep) was there to greet us at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rio S
Esprit_Holidays_1982, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Le Sommet, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your experience in the Chalet Le Sommet, Rio S, despite the holiday blues! It's fantastic to hear that you and your group had such an excellent time in Val Thorens and that our chalet staff and Rep looked after your every need throughout your time with us. We hope that we'll... More 

England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at Chalet le Sommet last week along with 20+ colleagues. Ski Total did an amazing job accommodating us all (the number of people staying varied each day of the week). We were greeted at the airport by our rep and then greeted on resort and helped to the chalet by the rest of the team. It is a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jodielara
Esprit_Holidays_1982, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Le Sommet, responded to this review

It's great to read your fantastic review of the Chalet Le Sommet, jodielara, where we're so pleased to hear that our team looked after you and your colleagues so well throughout the course of the week. Albeit not the closest to the transfer drop-off point, this is certainly more than made up for with the sensational views from the chalet... More 

Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

After arriving with a group of 11 there was no rep to meet us. The food at dinner was passable just the wine as we were told they spent 75 cent a bottle was not drinkable so we bought our own. The bread instead of local fresh bread and breakfast croissants they were pre bought and heated up which amazed... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Justin-Frampton
Hotelplan, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Le Sommet, responded to this review

Hi Justin, We are very sorry that you were let down by aspects of the service provided at Le Sommet during your stay. We can assure you that this is not the standard we expect from our team and we will be addressing the issues with them. Thank you for your feedback. More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Chalet is very down market and a real struggle to get into as loads of stairs and corridors. We were told it was ski in, ski out - absolutely not unless you're a very good off piste skier. Therefore skis had to be carried downstairs, along corridors before finally getting to the lift which went down to garage and then... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Gill W
Hotelplan, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Le Sommet, responded to this review

We're sorry to learn that Le Sommet did not match your expectations. As it is part of the Chalet des Neiges residence, access is via the reception area and past other accommodation. We do not advertise it as ski in/ski out, but recommend that good skiers join the Plein Sud run only about 500m from the residence, so we regret... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We spent a week here in March with SkiTotal. The chalet is really good for a large group - there were 10 of us. The rooms aren't huge, with just two small wardrobes and no drawer space - typical ski chalet really. Balconies have amazing views over the village and are good for a natter if you are in rooms... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MyrtleTurtle1
Hotelplan, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Le Sommet, responded to this review

Dear Myrtleturtle1, Thank you for your kind review; we're so pleased that you found Le Sommet to be a lovely chalet for your party and enjoyed Ollie's "yummy" food. We have recently revised our information on ski access from this chalet and agree that it is perfect for intermediate skiers, although beginners are well served by the free resort bus... More 

Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

just come back from here last week. great views, helpfull staff, although young. chef was good. very flexible. rooms basic but warm and cosy. no where no put things though. no dresser or drawers or chair in room. small bathroom but it all did the job. balcony with views over the mountains. hard walk to get into chalet, up loads... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tonimcfall
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here in March 2013 as a group of 26 friends. After reading some of the earlier reviews, I was very apprehensive about staying there. However I must stay I was very impressed, the food and choice of wine was excellent. The ski total chief/hosts were very friendly and very helpful. The accommodation was very comfortable and clean and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mic_and_Deb
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
7.0 mi away
Mercure Val Thorens
Mercure Val Thorens
#13 of 31 in Val Thorens
3.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
6.6 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#1 of 31 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
6.9 mi away
Le Portillo Hotel & Residence
Le Portillo Hotel & Residence
#11 of 31 in Val Thorens
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#2 of 31 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
6.7 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#9 of 31 in Val Thorens
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#6 of 31 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities