We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel l'Alpage

Les Thoules, 74360 La Chapelle-D'Abondance, Abondance, France
Hotel amenities
Hotel l'Alpage
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015
MRBSIXTYSIX Abertillery, United Kingdom
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    8
    10
    8
See reviews for
6
18
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (44)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Returned again this year for our ski trip. Nice hotel, with evidence of further improvements. Great location for the lifts, the bus, access to the village and the supermarket. Unobtrusive staff with a quiet and gentle atmosphere. We'll be back next year! Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I had the unfortunate experience of staying here with my ski club. None of us had showers in our rooms...that's right...NO SHOWERS! There is a hand-held sprayer and a tub--no shower curtain or doors, so the water goes everywhere. My dog groomer has a better setup than the bathrooms in this hotel!! Worse yet...there was NO hot water. What trickled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
acouty, Propriétaire at Hotel l'Alpage, responded to this review
Google Translation

je voudrais juste apporté une précision sur votre groupe, vous avez déranger l'ensemble des client de l'hôtel a cause du... More 

Travelers are raving about these La Chapelle-D'Abondance hotels

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We had made a reservation to stay here for twelve nights half board whilst undertaking an instructors course. Unfortunately three days before arrival and post a fall, a dislocated shoulder meant that we had to cancel our stay. Rather foolishly but we were asked to do so, we had paid in full upfront. The owner / proprietor could not have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
acouty, Gérant at Hotel l'Alpage, responded to this review
Google Translation

bonjour je comprend que vous soyez déçu mais sur le séjour on vous à déjà offert 2 nuitée et suite... More 

Lexington, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights with our ski club (32 people). We had the smallest room for 3 people when larger rooms only had 2. We were only given 2 bath towels so one of us had to use a hand towel. There is no shower, only a tub with no doors or curtain and a hand held sprayer. Be careful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
acouty, Propriétaire at Hotel l'Alpage, responded to this review
Google Translation

voici une belle déclaration mais quelque peut incomplète, en effet votre groupe de 36 personnes est arrivée avec 2 personnes... More 

Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Despite being a bit nervous due to some of the negative reviews, we had a great weekend here. The breakfast were much better than expected - heaps of choice, good quality and plenty of it even at a relatively late hour. The manager was very helpful and gave us good advice - he is a bit nervous in english though,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed here on a group ski trip and I have to say, this was my first time in a hotel in France. I'm from America and recently moved here, so my review may be a bit biased. The rooms were a bit different than what we're used to, various beds in the room which I assume are for kids... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Love2ski
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed during the ski season. Rooms were rather on the small side, clean but dated considering the price. Bathroom in need of renovation. Walls very thin- could hear all of next door's activities- even at 2am! We only ate in the restaurant once and that was mediocre- priced quite heavily yet didn't live up to expectations. The hotel's manager... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Puyallup, Washington
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
28 hotel reviews
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Of course I didn't stay at this hotel to stay in the hotel, I went to ski! So that being said, it was fine for that. The rooms were decent size and clean. Bed was comfortable. The shower/tub was horrible. The shower sprayer did not hang on the wall (typical in France) and was so calcified that the spray went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Channel Islands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

Stayed before the snow season had started so bar and restaurant not open so can not comment on that. Weather was cold but the room was freezing. Only a tiny lukewarm rad in the bedroom with an even smaller one in the miniscule bathroom. No heat at all in the toilet. No shower but a pull- out hose that you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

Very unexpectedly, this hotel was lovely! I thought it would be a half mast hotel, but it wasn't - rooms were charming and always clean. Restaurant was great (with a lovely French waiter!!), served very upper class food! Entertainment at night was good as well, we were there (a Welsh school group) during the Rugby SIx Nations, watching Wales V... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question