We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Les Thoules, 74360 La Chapelle-D'Abondance, Abondance, France
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel l'Alpage to your Saves list
Hotel l'Alpage
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
37%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013
mondialer Paris, France
  • Overview
  • Reviews (37)
  • Photos (8)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (1)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    8
    8
    8
See reviews for
6
15
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I had the unfortunate experience of staying here with my ski club. None of us had showers in our rooms...that's right...NO SHOWERS! There is a hand-held sprayer and a tub--no shower curtain or doors, so the water goes everywhere. My dog groomer has a better setup than the bathrooms in this hotel!! Worse yet...there was NO hot water. What trickled... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
acouty, Propriétaire at Hotel l'Alpage, responded to this review
Google Translation

je voudrais juste apporté une précision sur votre groupe, vous avez déranger l'ensemble des client de l'hôtel a cause du... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We had made a reservation to stay here for twelve nights half board whilst undertaking an instructors course. Unfortunately three days before arrival and post a fall, a dislocated shoulder meant that we had to cancel our stay. Rather foolishly but we were asked to do so, we had paid in full upfront. The owner / proprietor could not have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
acouty, Gérant at Hotel l'Alpage, responded to this review
Google Translation

bonjour je comprend que vous soyez déçu mais sur le séjour on vous à déjà offert 2 nuitée et suite... More

Lexington, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights with our ski club (32 people). We had the smallest room for 3 people when larger rooms only had 2. We were only given 2 bath towels so one of us had to use a hand towel. There is no shower, only a tub with no doors or curtain and a hand held sprayer. Be careful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
acouty, Propriétaire at Hotel l'Alpage, responded to this review
Google Translation

voici une belle déclaration mais quelque peut incomplète, en effet votre groupe de 36 personnes est arrivée avec 2 personnes... More

Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Despite being a bit nervous due to some of the negative reviews, we had a great weekend here. The breakfast were much better than expected - heaps of choice, good quality and plenty of it even at a relatively late hour. The manager was very helpful and gave us good advice - he is a bit nervous in english though,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed here on a group ski trip and I have to say, this was my first time in a hotel in France. I'm from America and recently moved here, so my review may be a bit biased. The rooms were a bit different than what we're used to, various beds in the room which I assume are for kids... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Love2ski
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed during the ski season. Rooms were rather on the small side, clean but dated considering the price. Bathroom in need of renovation. Walls very thin- could hear all of next door's activities- even at 2am! We only ate in the restaurant once and that was mediocre- priced quite heavily yet didn't live up to expectations. The hotel's manager... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Puyallup, Washington
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
26 hotel reviews
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Of course I didn't stay at this hotel to stay in the hotel, I went to ski! So that being said, it was fine for that. The rooms were decent size and clean. Bed was comfortable. The shower/tub was horrible. The shower sprayer did not hang on the wall (typical in France) and was so calcified that the spray went... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Channel Islands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

Stayed before the snow season had started so bar and restaurant not open so can not comment on that. Weather was cold but the room was freezing. Only a tiny lukewarm rad in the bedroom with an even smaller one in the miniscule bathroom. No heat at all in the toilet. No shower but a pull- out hose that you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

Very unexpectedly, this hotel was lovely! I thought it would be a half mast hotel, but it wasn't - rooms were charming and always clean. Restaurant was great (with a lovely French waiter!!), served very upper class food! Entertainment at night was good as well, we were there (a Welsh school group) during the Rugby SIx Nations, watching Wales V... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

This medium sized Hotel offered excellent food and comfortable rooms. The rooms we had (we had 10 rooms!) all were set up for families and were clean, airy and well appointed. There is a seperate games/TV room which was excellent for our school trip and a fitness suite and Hot tub and Sanua for us. The food was authentic and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel l'Alpage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel l'Alpage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Alpage

Address: Les Thoules, 74360 La Chapelle-D'Abondance, Abondance, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Abondance > La Chapelle-D'Abondance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Alpage 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel l'Alpage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Alpage France/Haute-Savoie

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in La Chapelle-D'Abondance with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
32

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel l'Alpage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer