We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cassis Hostel

4 Avenue du Picouveau, 13260 Cassis, France (Formerly Les Heures Claires Hostel)
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cassis Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cassis Hostel
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
2
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (21)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Do yourself a favour and stay with Sophie at hostel Cassis! She will make you feel very welcome, it was like staying at a friend's very clean and beautiful home. The pool is gorgeous, and there are many spots around the house to relax with a good book. Lots of communal areas to meet other guests, while the hostel room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassisHostel, Propriétaire at Cassis Hostel, responded to this review

Merci Shay and I am so happy you had a great stay with us... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Cassis is a nice to visit but with a good hostel to make the town even better. I stayed in this hostel..It is a very warm and tidy hostel. We have a great host and staff as well and it just feels like staying an old friend house. Thanks very much and I really have a great time in cassis... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The nicest hostel we have ever stayed in.loved the front room, kitchen, outdoor space and swimming pool.owner was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was basic but nice. Air con would have helped us sleep but we are used to a colder climate.fantastic location for the calanques and the centre.we loved cassis and the hostel.we did not want to leave!

Was this review helpful? Yes
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I arrived at the Cassis hostel with my three children and we were given a very warm welcome by the staff and the owner, Sophie. They were so generous and helpful! The hostel is lovely and the swimming pool is fantastic! We loved it here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassisHostel, Gérant at Cassis Hostel, responded to this review

Anna, so glad you had a good stay. It was such a treat accommodating you and your lovely kids. Hope to see you again very soon. Sophie More

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Really great facilities and lodging. Extremely great location to the main town and has wonderful views. Huge downside- the most unfriendly staff...in the world. Such a pitty as everything else is great. Other issue we experienced after 4 days besides being constantly shouted at by the staff, is the fact that there was only one toilet.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CassisHostel, Propriétaire at Cassis Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are sorry that our staff did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Communal living can sometimes be difficult and we have to remember to respect everyone in the hostel. We do, however, take on board your feedback and we wish you all the best. Cordialement, Sophie More

Hoersholm, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

At first sight the place seems really nice because of the soroundings but the staff doesn't belong to a turist place. They ignorere you and make you feel like you are in their way - a problem. And it is a really expensive place which it should'nt be at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CassisHostel, Propriétaire at Cassis Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately sometimes our staff are affected by the heat more than we would like. However, we always try to provide a friendly and helpful service for our guests and your feedback is duly noted. Sophie More

Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

For me, this Hostel in Cassis is a kind of island, isolated from world affairs, inviting to nativeness in beautiful landscape. The guests stay there for visiting the charming small town Cassis, hiking the Calanque Natural Parc, enjoying nature, the Mediterranean sea, or just to refresh in peaceful environment. Each season, Sophie the owner, leads an extraordinary and welcoming staff.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CassisHostel, Propriétaire at Cassis Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you Norbert for this lovely comment. We are happy to know you have enjoyed your stay in Cassis Hostel and we hope to welcome you again! Sophie More

aix-en-provence
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I thought, after reading the many positive reviews, that my stay would be lovely. I was, however, extraordinarily disappointed as my stay here was truly terrible. the location is ideal, the pool is refreshing, the utilities are clean, and the house is eclectic in the best way. however, my time at the cassis hostel was horrendous -- I did not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
CassisHostel, Propriétaire at Cassis Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much Mister George and Friend for your nice review. Before your arrival we had exchanged over 26 emails! for one night at 26€ per person with breakfast.... From that time I knew you will be a difficult customer not because you are American (that does not matter, we treat everyone the same here) but because you are... More

Paris
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

It's really too bad that the beauty of Cassis is spoiled by the staff of the Cassis hostel. After reading other reviews I had high expectations. However, from start to finish, my roommate I felt uncomfortable with the hostel's inhospitable atmosphere and rude employees. Be warned: if you are looking for a carefree, adventurous, and friendly experiment exploring the wonders... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CassisHostel, Propriétaire at Cassis Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much Mister George and Friend for your nice review. Before your arrival we had exchanged over 26 emails! for one night at 26€ per person with breakfast.... From that time I knew you will be a difficult customer not because you are American (that does not matter, we treat everyone the same here) but because you are... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in June 2014. Like being in your own villa with friends! First hostel I've ever stayed in that has an infinity pool, nice outdoor areas to lounge in, breakfast terrace. Friendly and knowledgeable staff, thank you Sophie.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CassisHostel, Propriétaire at Cassis Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks Sandra for the lovely comment, enjoy the rest of your trip with your son and by the way thanks for the quick recipe for scambble eggs!!!! Sophie More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Cassis Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassis Hostel

Address: 4 Avenue du Picouveau, 13260 Cassis, France (Formerly Les Heures Claires Hostel)
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cassis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cassis Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay