We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Campanile Calais

35 Rue De Maubeuge Zac Du Beau Marais, 62100 Calais, France
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Campanile Calais
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Campanile Calais
Campanile Calais
Campanile Calais
Add Photo

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    9
    46
    64
    21
    18
See reviews for
32
83
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (158)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Leeds
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I usually take bad reviews with a pinch of salt but this time I'm leaving one. Bad points:- Rude staff Not able to have a drink No atmosphere Thin walls Not enough drink options (2 people and no tea) Good points:- Clean Decent shower The info in the room and on the website say you can relax and have something... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nicolas l, Gérant at Campanile Calais, responded to this review
Google Translation

Cher client, Nous vous remerçions de nous avoir fait un retour concernant votre séjour. Etant dans une démarche d'amélioration constante,... More 

Sandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Campanile is in a good position when getting of the ferry/eurotunnel. We arrived quite late, but all was fine. Parking is for free! The reception is in the same room as the restaurant in this kind of central building. The room was basic, but for 60GBP, we couldn't complain too much. We had dinner and breakfast there; I wouldn't say... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nicolas l, Gérant at Campanile Calais, responded to this review

Dear customer, Thank you to have taken time to make us share your opinion. The opinion of our customers is a source of constant improvement. We are pleased that you have appreciated your stay in our establishment. Looking forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards, Nicolas L., Manager More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

We booked this as we were picking up family from Calais, they had been delayed and we needed a 'base' so my husband could have some sleep for the long journey home mainly. The rooms are basic but clean, the bed was comfortable and the bedding soft, the towels were ok, the only problem we had was that the shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nicolas l, Gérant at Campanile Calais, responded to this review

Dear customer, We took high note of your comment. Being in an approach of constant improvement, opinions of our customers are welcome. As you have noticed our rooms are clean and comfortable so we apologise for the inconvenience with the shower. Next time, don't hesitate to ask to the reception for an other room, so we will be pleased to... More 

Caledon, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

The rooms need renovation. No color in the rooms or pictures. Very tired. Very thin towels! No BBC world available. Close to the Channel Ferry. Secure parking. Staff were pleasant, but we would not stay there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
nicolas l, Gérant at Campanile Calais, responded to this review

Dear customer, Thank you to have taken time to make us share your opinion. The opinion of our customers is a source of constant improvement. We are pleased that you have appreciated the hospitality of the staff and the location of our hotel. Our rooms are cleaned and bright and despite ,there are not redecorated, offer a nice bedding so... More 

Travelers are raving about these Calais hotels

Pickering, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Pleasantly surprised .. opposite ibis if your trying to find it . nice safe area with own secure free car park nice and clean and very quiet. The food looked and smelled lovely unfortunately we decided to walk into calais and missed out. calais a fair walk in rain not a good idea.. Really wished we had just spent the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nicolas l, Gérant at Campanile Calais, responded to this review

Dear customer, I thank you for having made us a return of your stay. The opinion of our customers is a source of constant improvement. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our establishment and we will be pleased to welcome you in our restaurant which is opened from 7pm to 10pm during your next visit. Your returns... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Little overpriced for what's in room & could do with a good clean in the bathrooms, but great location for ferry & euro tunnel. didn't eat here as had to travel early but all in all the stay was ok and got a good nights sleep for the long travel ahead of us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
nicolas l, Gérant at Campanile Calais, responded to this review

Dear customer, I thank you for having made us a return concerning your stay. The opinion of our customers is a source of constant improvement. We are pleased that you had a good nigth sleep and that you have appreciated your stay in our hotel. As you have also specified, the hotel has a good location because it's situated in... More 

Mailhac
Level Contributor
152 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

Well run hotel in a convenient location, but we visited twice recently and found the standard of the decor in the rooms was getting worse. Covers missing off taps and wall lights hanging on only by the electric cables! Towels are thin and too full of softener, meaning that they do not dry you properly. Needs to be upgraded before... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nicolas l, Gérant at Campanile Calais, responded to this review

Dear customer, We took high note of your comments and thank you to have taken time to write to us. Our rooms are clean and bright and we are sorry if standards of our rooms are not what you expected. Hotels Campanile are in the course of renovation and I understand your impatience. We have the concern of the satisfaction... More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

Friendly staff, accommodating to our traveling Westies and a good, affordable restaurant that made us reminiscent of the years when we used to live in France. There will be no Michelein stars, but if you need a place to stage a morning channel crossing, this is it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
nicolas l, Gérant at Campanile Calais, responded to this review

Dear customer, I thank you to have taken time to make us share your comment. Being in an approach of constant improvement, opinions of our customers are welcome. We thank you for underlining the quality of our welcome as well as our restaurant. I am going to share your compliments with the team. Comments of our customers allows us every... More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Stayed here to break up our journey. It is basic accommodation but exactly what you paid for. Simple rooms with noisy toilet lights . A place to rest your head. Appeared clean. Staff were friendly. We didn't eat there but went out instead. Very close to the euro tunnel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
nicolas l, Gérant at Campanile Calais, responded to this review

Dear customer, I thank you to have taken time to make us share your opinion. The opinion of our customers is a source of constant improvement. A personalized and smiling welcome is our priority and we are delighted that you have appreciated the work of our staff. Our purpose is to give full satisfaction to our customers and we are... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

It is not up to usual Campanile standards; The WC and room were not clean .. The meal was of poor quality for the price and the service was very poor.The restaurant / reception also attempted to overcharge us for the meal, Very poor.

Review collected in partnership with Campanile.com - Louvre Hotels Group

Was this review helpful? Yes
nicolas l, Gérant at Campanile Calais, responded to this review

Dear customer, Thank you to have taken time to make us share your opinion. Being in an approach of constant improvement, opinions of our customers are welcome. The quality of our equipments is provided by daily measures of upkeep. Our daily controls had been not enough and we are going to strengthen our vigilance. We understand that this situation has... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay