We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Alencon

187 Avenue du General Leclerc, 61000 Alencon, France
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with ACCORHOTELS.COM to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Alencon
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    26
    65
    42
    18
    5
See reviews for
31
62
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (156)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Fresh off the Newhaven ferry, we'd pre-booked the Mercure, based on previous positive experience with this chain. However, we found it disappointingly mediocre. We weren't expecting a red carpet but the receptionist barely raised her head when we arrived, our twin-bedded room turned out to be small and the associated restaurant was 'en vacances'. Nothing for it but to drive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stopped off at this mercure hotel to break our journey across to Il D'Oleron. This hotel was ideal as it was just off the motorway. First impressions were not great, as it looked like it was previously a Campanile hotel yet was bought out; it had old lettering atop a dirty roof. Must when you walk inside, your perceptions... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Have stayed at mercure hotels before and expectations were therefore set high. This mercure needs to be brought into the next century. It looks like the group have taken a hotel from another unrelated chain (lower price range) and placed their board outside. Yes they've upgraded the reception and lobby but once you take a ride in the lift (which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernard M, Directeur général at Mercure Alencon, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hôtel Mercure Alencon. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Sincerelly Bernard M Manager More 

Travelers are raving about these Alencon hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very grumpy welcome from receptionist who spoke no English (or French for that matter). Smile program had crashed clearly. Room on 2nd floor for family just big enough, L-shaped with double and 2 singles. Very stuffy. Louvre window helped but I had to beg a fan which they gave me. This was kind and really helped. Not central but easy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Casteljaloux, France
Level Contributor
95 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

So, Eurotunnel was way behind and we needed to get to Bordeaux , not possible so a stopover was needed . The intention was to travel to Rouen and see how we progressed . At 20.00 hrs we decided to make a stop , but where ,! sure to take the wrong turnoff - thanks to TomTom we now have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernard M, Directeur général at Mercure Alencon, responded to this review

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hôtel Mercure Alencon. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely Bernard M Manager More 

Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

I hate to write negative reviews, but you must forgive me after a terrible night at this hotel. We arrived around 11pm checked in and went straight to our room. It was spacious enough, but it was about 25 degrees throughout the night which was sticky and uncomfortable. This is France in July and there was neither air conditioning nor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015 via mobile

We only stayed 1 night here en route to limoges - it is well appointed and has a supermarket facing which is helpful as they don't serve evening meal. WiFi is free as is parking - the breakfast was ok but felt there could be more choice - reception were very friendly and gave us glasses n opened our bottle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernard M, Directeur général at Mercure Alencon, responded to this review

Thank you to left your advice about your stay in Alencon, and we hope to welcome again. Best reagrds Bernad M Manager More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

We have stayed at this Hotel 3 times now & have always been delighted with the care & attention towards a disabled visitor. Baggage is carried from the car to the bedroom.The Bedrooms are spotless & the walk in shower en suite room is enormous.Tea & Coffee facility is free with bottles of water. Lots of laying down space &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernard M, Directeur général at Mercure Alencon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this advise, I will agree your message to all the team of our Hotel. We will be happy, to welcome you again for your next trip. Best regards Bernard M Manager More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Worst hotel we have stayed in for 20 years No food and nowhere open in Alencon - believe me we looked high and low No wi fi Staff awful, they did not care Hotel and rooms were out of date decades ago No air con and the heating was off on a cold day No safe No complimentary water No... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bernard M, Manager at Mercure Alencon, responded to this review

Dear sir, Thank you to taking time to left your advise. We are sorry that you have not appreciated your stay. We remind you, if you have any problem during your stay you can dial 2424 on the phone in your room and you will be in contact with the manager on duty. We have different trainning during the year... More 

London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Well located on the outskirts of Alencon, somewhat dated rooms but clean and reasonably comfortable. Excellent breakfast BUT I arrived on a cold foggy night after driving from the UK - I was hungry and cold, the heating in the room was off so was cold though did heat up quickly. worst of all there is no room service and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernard M, Directeur général at Mercure Alencon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to left your advise. We are sorry about your stay, concerning the heat we think it was a mistake, don't hesitate to ask to change your room, we do it immediatly when it's possible. I will the problem concerning room service, usually we can order some salad and pizzas in town with a delivery 45... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alencon
1.5 mi away
Ibis Alencon
Ibis Alencon
#3 of 11 in Alencon
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel des Ducs Alencon
Hotel des Ducs Alencon
#2 of 11 in Alencon
4.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Hussard
Le Hussard
#4 of 11 in Alencon
4.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Chateau de Sarceaux
Chateau de Sarceaux
#1 of 3 in Valframbert
5.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Inn Design Resto Novo Alencon
2.8 mi away
Campanile Alencon
Campanile Alencon
#1 of 3 in Cerise
3.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay