We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
5.0 of 5
7 place du Chapitre, 30400 Villeneuve-les-Avignon, France
Hotel amenities
Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    58
    14
    10
    4
See reviews for
42
123
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (230)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (86)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Dubai
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Our stay here was fabulous ... and lucky. We had assumed this relais and chateaux hotel was in Avignon (no GPS). Would highly recommend those wanting to stroll around Avignon base themselves here. Avignon is a 8 minute drive away across the river. The staff were super friendly, upgrading us to a junior suite, and the Michelin one-star restaurant was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

A lovely hotel with a beautiful garden and setting. Fabulous restaurant. But we went in off-peak season and were given a room with a bizarre bathroom - it felt like an old church with wood paneling and the bath had no shower curtain so you couldn't take a shower without flooding the bathroom. I find it hard to believe that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cascais, Portugal
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Enjoyed very much the Stay , everyone were very Nice , the place is very well located the acommodations are Great and the breakfast was one of the best is This tour ! Enjoyed very much the Brunch we ordered in the Middle of the Afternoon, good selection of cheese, Excelent regional Wine, and what a Bread ! The water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014 via mobile

it's a real pleasure stay in this hotel......unfortunately only one night. Dinner was excellent, service was perfect and room was very nice. My family has a wonderful memory of this hotel and we will be back soon in Avignon

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
South Africa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

From the moment we arrived our time in Avignon was perfected by this lovely hotel - the friendly, helpful staff, our stunning room with a balcony, the divine food and wine. Book dinner at the restaurant - if they have a table available. We had dinner served in our room - it was absolutely fantastic and the private atmosphere made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights here in our tour of Provence. We had a junior suite on the ground floor with our own terrace. The room was large and well furnished. We had a small sitting room with TV. The bathroom was huge and well appointed. Especially enjoyed the lovely garden, pool and vine covered buildings. Breakfast was expensive at 27 Euro... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel last summer, expecting great things. Although the room was pleasant, my husband came out in bites after a few days. Not just a few bites, but all over his body. We noticed there were bugs on the bed and complained to reception. They immediately moved us to another room. However, my husband then came out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Jean André C, Gérant at Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Your comment is not fair because you didn't pay one euro for your stay. We asked our insurance company to pay for the luggage, you should have told us the insurance company didn’t refund the cost of the luggage we would have contacted them. With my regrets Jean-André Charial More 

Schweinfurt, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

My stay was AUG 2013. Wow! The atmosphere at the hotel is wonderful. The grounds are very well taken care of, the staff was friendly, and the food was incredible. We stayed there for almost a week and ate in the Restaurant only once because it was quite expensive. The sommelier "Boris" is more than competent, in fact amazing! any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

My sister and I spent 5 nights at Le Prieure Hotel in Room 64 and could not have been more pleased with the stay. The setting is absolutely beautiful set in an old convent in the little village of Villeneuve-les-Avignon. Our room had a wonderful stone, covered balcony overlooking the courtyard with a large table and comfortable chairs where we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

My family had 4 rooms at this hotel. The hotel is located across the river from Avignon. It is a 25 minute walk or an 8 minute walk to the old city of Avignon. However, the town of Villeneuve is not without its own charm. There are several restaurant options within a 4 minute walk from the hotel as well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

140 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (113)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question