We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Auberge du Roua

3.0 of 5 46 Chemin du Roua, 66700 Argeles-sur-Mer, France
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auberge du Roua
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Auberge du Roua
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    49
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
23
95
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (139)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

This is a really super hotel on the outskirts of Argeles Sur Mer which is quite difficult to find even with a good satnav. There are signposts from the centre of town but these seem to run out at the crucial moment. The proprietor is Norwegian and speaks fluent English as well as French. Rooms are well appointed and in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your detailed appreciation of our Auberge, in which we fully recognise our hotel and restaurant. What a pleasure to read you, and it would be a even greatest pleasure to see you again. Kindest regards, Magalie Tonjum More

Cheddleton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

we stopped at auberge du roua for six nights in august that we really enjoyed , however we did find it a little strange that we hardly ever saw anybody including hotel staff .it was quite off putting and also that the only access to the rooms was by a lift. however it did seem that a tremendous effort was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review

A bit strange... we have 2 parking lots, 2 staircases and 1 lift, a well functioning air-condition system, a restaurant with extensive a la carte and menus in both French and English. And above all, in August, oh yes we are all here, for both the hotel and the restaurant. Best regards, Magalie Tonjum More

Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We will return to this area of France just for Auberge du Roua and the oysters we enjoyed along the way. We loved everything about our stay. I am very late with the review as we stayed September 23-25, 2012. (the date will show as 2013 because 2012 is not on drop down menu). Today I was cleaning up paperwork... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review

We are extremely happy that 2 years later we are still the Highlight of SW France. Your souvenirs are very accurate and still fit the current Auberge. We would be happy to see you again. Kindest regards, Magalie Tonjum More

Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed for a week at Auberge du Roua and had a pleasant stay there. The hotel itself is a bit hard to find if you miss one of the signs (our GPS could not locate the address) first of all the pros: - Great staff especially the breakfast lady was very keen on giving out suggestions about the day activities... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit. We offer junior suites with contemporary furnishing suitable for two people, although a separate bed for children only can be added. A new suite facing the pool area, with 2 separate bedrooms, will be opened next spring. Hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again. Best regards, Magalie More

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The Auberge du Roua was a delightful and unique surprise, a 17th-century stone farmhouse remodeled into a small luxury hotel on the outskirts of the family beach resort Argeles sur Mer. The grounds were really far more beautiful than the website photos suggested, and the pool and shaded lounge chairs a peaceful respite from the crowded, go-go atmosphere of a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review

Dear guests, It is a real pleasure to read from you. What a delight ! We are very pleased that our Auberge was even better than expected, and we look forward to welcoming you again. Thank you very much for sharing your experience. Kindest regards, Magalie Tonjum More

North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Original translation suggests Auberge signifies an inn. This is far and away beyond that. Difficult to find it is and you must research the best way to reach the Auberge, thoroughly , believe me it is well worth the effort. Set in delightful grounds you can enjoy meals around the pool, weather permitting and there are also areas where you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review

Thank you so much ! Dear clients, it is a real pleasure to read your appraisal, a delight that you had a good time with us. We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again, Kindest regards, Magalie More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We decided to stay at this hotel as most hotels in Collioures were fully booked. Being located on the outskirts of Argeles sur mer is an asset. Access to the hotel might be a little difficult at first but a GPS will help. You definitely need a car. We stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is a beautiful mas, with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay and your appreciation. We hope to see you again, maybe longer ! ;) The Auberge is nicely located to discover the Roussillon. Best regards, Magalie More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed here for a night back in August last and I've been meaning to put a review up for quite some time as it was a memorable break. The hotel is spectacular, pool, scenery, rooms, location, service, food, ambience, staff all wonderful - its definitely a really special place, honestly I can't praise it enough to be honest. However,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thank you for your visit. We were very well aware of the wasp issue during the summer 2013. It was a rare wasp year for everybody, and being located in the countryside didn’t help. We strived to remediate as much as possible, and we are very sorry that you had the impression that we didn’t care. We addressed... More

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked in for 5 nights following a long journey though France. Difficult to find as its on the wrong side of the tracks from Centre Ville, but worth persevering; even after 5 days, we failed to find a simple route from the town. Located close to Route Nationale in rural surroundings we were unsure whether this is a hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review

Dear David and Ann, We are very happy that after a "bumpy" start, you finally had a good time with us. We truly hope that all our guests enjoy the Auberge as much as we do. Best regards, Magalie More

luxembourg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've been terribly disappointed with the food at our hotel. The servings were so small, that we were leaving the table still hungry. We had booked half board for 42€ per day and were served a small main course and an average size dessert for that. They didn't even bother with a starter and the food was very salty. Having... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review

Oh dear, I suggest setting the records straight on this : the €43 half-board option comprises breakfast + dinner. You were served lobster, a highly popular and expensive à la carte dish. The restaurant was full and some wait may thus occur, although the beautiful surroundings should still invite for a relaxing evening. But frankly what a complete and utter... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Auberge du Roua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Roua

Address: 46 Chemin du Roua, 66700 Argeles-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Pyrenees-Orientales > Argeles-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge du Roua 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Auberge du Roua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Roua Hotel

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay