We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotellerie du Bas-Breau

22 GRANDE RUE, 77630 Barbizon, France
Hotel amenities
Hotellerie du Bas-Breau
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Barbizon
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015
bob r New York City, New York
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    29
    23
    25
    21
    7
See reviews for
14
57
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (105)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had to back up our stay by one night and did so within their 48 hour window. Upon our arrival we were refused a room and charged for the night before. Whether or not this was our mistake or booking.com they were rude and unaccommodating. Even though the hotel was practically empty and it would have cost them nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this review

Madam, Thank you for having posted your so nice comments on our property!!!! We are very sorry to have had to charge you the room that you had not bothered to cancel. When booking on Booking.com you were informed of cancellation and you had accepted. Also arriving at the Bas-Breau you had problems with your taxi that you did not... More 

London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed a few months ago and were the only guests. The staff were very unhelpful and lazy. For instance, we chatted for almost 3 hours by the fire which we tended ourselves and only when we were literally getting up did the staff ask whether we wanted anything to drink! Meanwhile, dried dirt on the stairs stayed there for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this review

Thank you for having posted your comments on our property. We are quite surprised that you waited so long to submit your comment after reading we understand that three months were needed on reflection. Kindest regards More 

Travelers are raving about these Barbizon hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

That was a deal through Groupon, and I am happy it was. The room was spacious with a super duper bathroom, bed was 160mm bended but still ok, and 2 uncomfortable pillows. Welcome was friendly, service was nice with attention to details, like the waitress offered to have our dessert by the fireplace, nice attention. The food is the big... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this review
Google Translation

Nous avons pris bonne note de vos remarques. Nous sommes sincèrement navrés que vous n'ayez pas apprécié votre Dîner. Merci... More 

Roseland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
451 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We have always wanted to return to the charming little village of Barbizon after two prior visits over the years. We stayed at Bas Breau about twenty years ago, and read the mixed reviews. Our experience was once again that it was cozy, comfortable and charming. Not a Luxe place, but nice. We had a second floor room on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for having posted your so nice comments on our property. Your satisfaction is all we need to try even harder to welcoming our guest the bestway we can. The whole Bas-Bréau's team will be delighted to welcoming you soon in Barbizon. More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Barbizon is a great little town with picturesque views and beautiful architecture. My family and I arrived to Barbizon around 10 pm, we did not know that everything would close at this time. And as we were all tired and had nothing to eat all day. We walked along the strip of closed shops and came to Hotelier ie du... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed the table and the service of our Hotels. We look forward to welcoming you again soon for you to discover our rooms, the garden and pool. Thank you very much for taking a few minutes to share your satisfaction. More 

UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed here for one night on business. The resturant and bar were really good and they were able to put on a great event for us. The room however was not worth the price tag. It was very large and the bed was comfy, but the decor was tired. The bathroom in particular was not great. The bath looked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

we were attracted by the reputation of this hotel, as a quiet and refined place not far away from Paris. We were surprised to notice that the hotel needs urgent refurbishing. the swimming pool is a large bath, tables,chairs are really worn out. Works were underway in some parts of the hotel. Room was OK but not worthy of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Spend 1 night at this hotel. Very overprized (€10 for a 25cl Heineken beer) and €278 for 1 night (even without WIFI as this would be charged separately). First impression was very pushy to have lunch. Showing you first the extensive menu (very expensive) before the menu of the day. Food is good and breakfast is really nice and fresh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The room was quite nice but the bedding was SO heavy and very uncomfortable. Bed a large double. Bathroom good all mod cons and clean with power spa shower and spa bath. Old French furniture. The Nespresso machine didn't work and the young girl tried hard to fix it but in the end exchanged it - took 3/4 hour to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
paris
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

- excellent location in the heart of this nice village and nice the famous forest. - room nicely decorated but not very large - excellent restaurant but irregular service : very professional guy for helping you to choose the perfect wine and food is excellent. but the waiters should be more professionnal sometimes and should be more clean and without... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay