We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 36 Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels

La Couleuvrine

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 place de La Bouquerie, 24200 Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added La Couleuvrine to your Saves list
La Couleuvrine
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
72%
Ranked #19 of 36 hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Peripatetical Portland
  • Overview
  • Reviews (237)
  • Photos (138)
  • Location
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (17)
  • More
true
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    95
    47
    19
    6
See reviews for
45
130
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've stay at La Couleuvrine every time we are in Sarlet.It's location is great, Old Town is next door. The staff is friendly and helpful. All the rooms are comfortable but the vary widely in size and location. Tell them what you like and they will try to accomadate you. The hotel charming. The breakfast buffet (not included with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed in one of the smaller rooms - room 6, the one directly above the hotel's reception, with one window overlooking the courtyard/bike parking in front of the hotel and another window looking out to the side. In pictures of the hotel's facade, it's the window directly above the entrance. The room was a good size and it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We spent two weeks touring Spain and France in June and July, 2014. La Couleuvrine in Sarlat-la Caneda was truly an unexpected surprise. Yes, the rooms were a tad small but for a two star hotel everything else was exceptional. First, its location is within a stones throw of the heart of the town. Second, the half board deal was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
isacoul, Responsable réception at La Couleuvrine, responded to this review

Dear guest. Thanks for sharing your experience with the other travelers. Glad you enjoyed the city and the hotel. It is a satisfaction also for us to read that you have enjoyed the half board formula because we really made efforts to propose some other dishes than local ones. See you during your next stay in Sarlat ! More

Indianapolis
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Once again on our trip through smaller type towns in France without our iPad to guide us through Trip Advisor recommendations, we stumbled on this hotel. We wanted to stay in the old city so that we could walk around easily before and after dinner. We were given a very nice room with a large bathroom and a private little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
71 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The family run La Couleuvrine Hotel is located at 1 Place de Boucquerie at the North East former gate of the once walled medieval town of Sarlat. It is within walking distance of the centre of the old town with its many restaurants. The hotel does not offer private car parking but municipal car parking for which an hourly charge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
isacoul, Responsable réception at La Couleuvrine, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thanks for your stay at the hotel. I thank you for all the details you wrote to describe your stay. It is a good opportunity for us to evaluate the lakes and stenghts of the hotel and above all to enhance the quality of our services. Please next time you come to visit us, don't hesitate to remind... More

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We spent two very pleasant nights here in May during a walking tour of the Dordogne. The location is perfect, right on the edge of the old city. On Saturday the markets are just around the corner. Our room was a good size with a comfortable bed and good sized bathroom. Although the room had evidently not been redecorated for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
isacoul, Propriétaire at La Couleuvrine, responded to this review
Google Translation

Bonjour et merci de partager votre vécu. Vous nous encouragez à continuer sur cette voie. More

Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This property is right next to the Medieval City. Good location for walking around. Room was small but comfortable. If you are there on Saturday be sure to go to the farmer's market. Extraordinary. If you plan to leave early the next morning (before 8AM) you may want to pay the night before.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
isacoul, Responsable réception at La Couleuvrine, responded to this review
Google Translation

Cher client, merci pour votre séjour dans notre hôtel et aussi pour avoir pris le temps de nous faire partager... More

Calgary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel location was absolutely great. We stayed in an upgraded room 9. The carpet on the staiways and hallways was dirty. The room size was very satisfactory. The furnishings were charming, but the floor was made of cheap panelboard, totally out of character with the old building the hotel was located in and the style it was trying to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
isacoul, Propriétaire at La Couleuvrine, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment on our hotel. Be ensure we took your advices into account. Regarding the decoration, the floor in the room is not that "cheap"...It responses to customers' inquiries in terms of hygiene. For the carpets in the hallways, it has to be changed but we didn't have time to do it this year. As a matter of... More

Ormond Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We were two couples eating dinner at the La Couleuvine and we were all very disappointed in our meals. The food was tasteless and the preparation was poor. The atmosphere was fine, but unfortunately none of us were happy with our meals.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
isacoul, Propriétaire at La Couleuvrine, responded to this review
Google Translation

Bonjour, Merci d'avoir déposé votre avis. Nous sommes désolés que le repas ne vous ai pas plu. Il aurait été... More

Stratham, NH
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We spent three nights here while exploring the Dordogne River Valley and Cro-Magnon caves. This hotel, La Couleuvrine, couldn't be in a more perfect location. Just turn right when coming out of the front door and walk down the cobblestone lane and there you are right in the midst of a perfect medieval town. We were there in mid April... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
isacoul, Responsable réception at La Couleuvrine, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for your stay at our hotel and also for your comment. Sorry for the feeling you had regarding the staff at the front desk. Trust me we are considered as being very friendly and sometimes also...funny. Anyway, you might be wright, but if you felt that we did not care about you during your stay it might be... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage La Couleuvrine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to La Couleuvrine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Couleuvrine

Address: 1 place de La Bouquerie, 24200 Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Couleuvrine 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your La Couleuvrine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Couleuvrine Sarlat Canéda
La Couleuvrine Hotel Sarlat Canéda
La Couleuvrine France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

138 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (118)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (3)

Near La Couleuvrine

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
28

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from La Couleuvrine staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer