We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Cocking B&Bs / inns

The Bluebell at Cocking

Bell Lane, Cocking, Midhurst GU29 0HU, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Bluebell at Cocking to your Saves list
The Bluebell at Cocking
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
68%
Ranked #3 of 3 Cocking B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Paul G Buckingham, United Kingdom
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good service, good food, reasonable rates. Very convenient for Goodwood races, car or horse. The restaurant has a good selection of well prepared food in the evening. A full English breakfast is included but cereal, toast etc also available. Rooms are not large but perfectly acceptable for over night/weekend stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sussex
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had hoped and were cautiously optimistic that a change of Ownership would bring great things to the Bluebell. We have visited twice since, and we were disappointed on both occasions. The menu is unexciting, and apparently the open fire in the bar area "is too much trouble" to keep going. So, there is no real improvement in the ambience... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon T, Owner at The Bluebell at Cocking, responded to this review

I am sorry that you feel we haven't done a good job in the very short space of time we have been here. 11 weeks isn't a long time to change the things that were needed. I am also sorry you felt our menu was uninspiring, we do try to cater for the tastes of everyone as much as we... More

Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My daughter and I were disappointed by the lunch on offer on Christmas Day. The turkey lacked taste and came I suspect from a pre-cooked supermarket pack. It was accompanied by a tiny sausage wrapped in a sliver of bacon plus a little ball of stuffing. There was no bread sauce. My Christmas pudding doused in run of the mill... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon T, Owner at The Bluebell at Cocking, responded to this review

It is always difficult to understand why people feel the need to run someones business down online when they are happy to say everything is ok at the time. On Christmas Day you were served by me, as I was the only one serving, and in our conversations you said how happy you were, and on paying the bill at... More

Guildford
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We decided to use the Bluebell Inn, whilst travelling the South Downs Day on a Cancer charity challenge in December and received a warmer reception from the weather. The rooms were a little pokey and lacked the essentials, such as heating throughout the night and TV. On top of this due to some of our party dropping out of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Simon T, Owner at The Bluebell at Cocking, responded to this review

I have to say its not a surprise to get a bad review from this man as he left a note in his bedroom saying he was going to do it. I would like to fill in the gaps though. When booking, this party booked for 7 people in 4 rooms which would normally total £420.00. in this case, because... More

Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night and ate dinner here. The minimalist décor of the pub and dining area is really stylish, clever and very suitable. The food was ok - maybe just not our taste, as it was well presented and the service was good. The homemade bread was too heavy/dense and certainly got worse toasted for breakfast, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stopped at the Bluebell Inn whilst walking the South Downs Way, and what a treat it was! The rooms were individually decorated to a high specification. The Nespresso machine for our early morning coffee was a great hit! We dinned in the pub for our evening meal - it was fabulous, worthy of a high end restaurant. Breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My cycling buddy and I chose this Inn from a limited choice of places to stay during our South Downs cycle adventure at the end of April. It was not advertised specifically as a cycle friendly stop-over so we were unsure of the reception two sweat stained, slightly smelly, beer hungry, hairy [--] mountain bikers would get. We were greeted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent two nights here in February and were pleased with the room and delighted with the service. On the first night we asked if the owners knew of a bike hire place nearby. They didn't and neither did anyone else at the bar, the owners said they'd find out for us. In the morning (and we were down for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My first visit was a couple of weeks ago for evening dinner. Such a treat to eat a varied selection of fresh vegetable that were correctly cooked so retaining their flavour! Every dish was beautifully presented and just so tasty. Hard to believe they are a village pub, the food is of an exceptionally high standard. Very attentive and owners... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Dined as a couple and this is our second visit. Extremely impressed again with two outstanding 3 course meals. The service is very attentive and the menu is great. This really is an excellent restaurant we would recommend to anyone. Great value dining and we will be back again

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to The Bluebell at Cocking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bluebell at Cocking

Address: Bell Lane, Cocking, Midhurst GU29 0HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Midhurst > Cocking
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cocking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bluebell at Cocking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bluebell at Cocking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.