We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel Besson

Hotel website
Via del Rio 15, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Besson
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grand Hotel Besson
Add Photo Write a Review

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    93
    64
    23
    13
    3
See reviews for
42
74
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (196)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (111)
All months
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Besson
See the most recent reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We upgraded our room for a premium with a jacuzzi & view so I can't say about the standard room sizes but ours was big. Beds fine, hard but comfy & good for your back. Really clean. Food was hit & miss - breakfast is fine. The starter buffet at dinner was usually pretty disappointing because it was often cold....... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015 via mobile

Staff so friendly, efficient and helpful. The hotel felt so relaxing and everyone went out of their way to make our stay so special. Would definitely recommend this hotel, 5 star service and great location to the slopes. Excellent bus service daily to the slopes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newark, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

The twin rooms are tiny small - no place to pass between the beds and the desk. Decoration and furniture are old. Shower is small and the hot water are coming in a low pressure. Plastic cups in the room for bath and for the mini bar - which has only soft drinks. No international channels in the TV. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

We returned from our ski holiday with Crystal 2 weeks ago staying at the Grand Besson. We had chosen this hotel mainly because it was 4* and had a spa. The hotel is in a quiet location in the old town of Sauze but it's only a 5 minute walk through lovely cobbled streets to where all the bars are.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dronfield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

This was our 3rd ski-ing visit to Sauze, in 4 years. We went for the Grand Besson due to the location, good reviews and the spa. The good reviews we'd read were surpassed by our own experiences. We spent 1 week over the New Year period and were looked after extremely well by ALL the staff. Certain individuals stood out,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Just come back from a Crystal holiday staying at this hotel. Could not find fault. The hotel staff were all, without exception, wonderful. They were unfailingly friendly, smiling and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. A shuttle bus driven by the lovely Raphael to and from the slopes meant that the distance to the skiing was not an issue... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mario B, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Besson, responded to this review

Dear Ms Melanie Many thanks for thaking the time to write a review about you recent stay at the grand hotel Besson and to share on TA. We are very happy for your really nice words and especially for your mention to the hotel staff. It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our hotel again.... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Staff friendly, rosanno the barman a absolute delight very friendly and welcoming. The reception staff were friendly and organised a taxi for us to visit sestrierre. The waiting staff again friendly and joked with us about the quality of food or should I say lack of quality. Every meal was cold and very repetitive if you don't like chicken or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mario B, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Besson, responded to this review

Dear Jmt80, Thank you for your review it is appreciated. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the Staff really friendly and professional. Your feedback about the food is surprising as all the rest of reviewers are really very very happy about it but this report is appreciated as it give us the... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
6 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here with Crystal Ski Holidays. We found all the staff that we came into contact with helpful, welcoming and charming. In particular Rosanno in the bar with his quirky music selections, the driver of the shuttle bus (along with all his other duties!) and the main staff in the dining room. I didn't use the spa but heard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mario B, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Besson, responded to this review

Dear We wish to thank you for your review. We are happy that you did appreciate and enjoyed the our staff professionalism and especially that food sharing your feedback and positive experience with other tripadvisor users best regards More 

Lancashire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Very disappointed with this hotel particularly as reviews from 2014 seemed to say the hotel was ok - it appears that there has been a recent change in management / staff and generally the hotel gives the impression that they are trying to save money eg No heating in many of the rooms including parts of the dining room. Most... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mario B, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Besson, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. we are sorry that the Hotel Besson did not meet your expectations and that you did not enjoy enjoy your stay with us as much as you’d hoped. Your comments give us the chance to explain to yourself and other readers the reasons behind some of the problems you encountered. We do not... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Lovely hotel with the most friendly helpful staff. Ros in the bar is outstanding as is Seve ( you know who I mean) in the restaurant together with all members of the staff who couldn't do enough for us. The standard rooms are a little on the small side so I would upgrade as you get more room and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mario B, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Besson, responded to this review

Dear Jackajwoo, Thank you for the preference given to Grand Hotel Besson and for sharing it on Tripadvisor. We are really happy you did enjoy your stay in our Hotel. It will be a pleasure to host you again in future. Kind regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay