We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Villa Ottone

Certificate of Excellence
Localita Ottone, 57037 Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy
Hotel amenities
Hotel Villa Ottone
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Portoferraio
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Ibidunni London
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    40
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
28
80
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (131)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Amazing hotel by the sea! We were helped along the way prior to arrival, even with our ferry booking. It was clear the type of service we were to expect upon arrival. The reception we received was very warm. The room was spacious and comfortable! Welcome fruits in the room and a balcony, though no view. The bathroom had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

We spent 4 days at this wonderful place and loved every second of it. We upgraded to a sea view room and it was worth every money. The hotel is placed in the idyllic area, very quiet, perfect for couples. Plenty to do (tennis, pedalo). Worth recommending, we would most certainly go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Payson, Arizona
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

This review is two years in the writing. We stayed here last year and had a couple unpleasant experiences. Not wanting to review it with those negative comments, and knowing I would be returning this year, I decided to give them another chance. Unfortunately, more unpleasant experiences happened and we will probably not be returning. Don't get me wrong, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Roberto D, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Ottone, responded to this review

Dear Passiona, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Villa Ottone. I am happy to read that you appreciated the overall atmosphere of the setting and the quality of the food. I am very sorry that you were disappointed with the services provided by our staff during your stay. I took good... More 

Odiham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
65 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We took advantage of a secret escapes offer here to take a classic room with about 40% discount. It included breakfast and worked out about £120 per night. We had room 62 which was classic. Classic Italian. A bit dated but not old. It wasn't a big room and was on the first floor above reception. Aircon was a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Roberto D, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Ottone, responded to this review

Dear BazzerBoy, Many thanks for your kind review. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Villa ottone and would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. Kind regards, Roberto Di Mario - owner More 

Ottery Saint Mary, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

This was our fourth visit to Villa Ottone and what is good is excellent, i.e. Location, food and ambience. Our holiday was somewhat spoilt at checkout when it was discovered that my brother-inl-law had paid significantly less for the ferry crossing, organised by the hotel, than us. The Management did/would not discuss this matter and we left the hotel saddened.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Roberto D, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Ottone, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Yoffey, Many thanks for your comments. Unfortunately the difference in price for the ferry tickets does not depend on us as we do not have any control on the final prices of the ferry tickets. We offer to our clients, for all the companies, a discount of approximately 20%. The problem is that the ferry companies apply a... More 

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. Greeted by a fabulous porter on a golf buggy that continued to say hi and wave every time we saw him around the complex. Room was very nice, no sea view and the balcony was simple, but perfectly adequate. We soon realise that it was beautiful to watch the sun set over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roberto D, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Ottone, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your Honey Moon at Villa Ottone. The members of our staff always do their best to make our guests' stay at Villa Ottone a pleasant one and we are happy that you appreciated the quality of our services. Thank you for sharing your experience on... More 

Ithaca, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Beautifullly placed in the wonderful Island of Elba, this hotel provides a wonderful place to enjoy the island. The staff is truly excellent, well trained, polite and helpful. The location on the beach allows you to enjoy a swim at any time. The food is excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roberto D, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Ottone, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Ottone and would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. Kind regards, Roberto Di Mario – owner More 

Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Very charming place with excellent service and super Italian atmosphere. Holidays in Italy don't get better than this. The rooms unfortunately need some refurbishing, and the beds definitely need to be changed. Highlight of the day is spending the evening in the beautiful bar in the Villa, watching the sunset, with Paolo, the head barman, and his superb hospitality. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed for one week at the Villa Otttone in Portoferraio. We had three rooms as the whole family travelled together. The location is very nice although one needs a car to go to Portoferraio. The gardens are beautiful and very well kept. Also the service is very good especially I would like to mention Paolino who went out of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This hotel is grand but relaxed, formal yet relaxed,staff professional yet relaxed! Five star in every way, I adored it. I was traveling with 2 elderly ladies, and the respect and gentle kindness shown to them by all the staff was noticeable and just lovely. Food superb service superb, in fact I can't think of a more perfect place to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
1:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay