We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Royal

Via Don Sturzo 1, 37016 Garda, Italy
Hotel amenities
Hotel Royal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #45 of 49 Hotels in Garda
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014
DAVEYNeEngland ne england
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    21
    22
    20
See reviews for
17
33
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (93)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Having spent 7 days between Rome and Florence we were looking forward to lake garda. Our first family room for 3 adults and a 16 yr old was a joke. 2 single beds, a camp bed and fold out bed. Moved next day to à family room which was more suitable but only 1 socket worked and no air con.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
chincherini, Direttore generale at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, we are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay in our hotel but sincerely you had a family room from the beginning and after your complaint we give you another family room bigger; about the air condiitoning as soon as knew it was not so easy to repair it we offered to you 2 rooms instead of 1 you... More 

ne england
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

An older type hotel, the rooms were a little tired but very adequate and clean, the staff were friendly and helpful. The food was pretty good and plenty of it, the breakfast juices were very odd to say the least, and very hard to make out what flavour they were. all in all a decent 3 night stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
chincherini, Direttore generale at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear many thanks for the review and I will try personally the Juices regards More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Where to start.. The rooms are old, the fixtures in the shower fell out of the wall, the AC could not cope with the warmth, the food was terrible, the waiters did not understand english that much. The pool was ok, but needed to be cleaned more regularly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
chincherini, Direttore generale at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, we are sorry that you didn't enjoy their stay in our hotel but it looks like you were in a different hotel. The rooms are not new but they are good for the standard category; the air condition work properly; about the food we have almost 250 pax every dinner and no one complained about it. In any... More 

Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I have just returned from holiday at the La Palme Hotel in Garda. I went with a friend and we had single rooms.The rooms were quite spacious and had walk out terraces. we had clean towels daily, also the rooms were cleaned every day. The staff were really helpful and the lounge areas very pleasant . We had a very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cluj-Napoca, Cluj, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Too expensive for what it has to offer. everything is old, from the furniture to the artificial flowers everywhere. poor wi-fi signal in the reception and no signal at all in the room. the only good thing about it was the breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent a week here 15-22 Sept 2013 and loved it, the hotel needed up dating and the walls were thin but it was clean, the beds were comfy and bedding changed mid week, the food was good and plenty of it both at breakfast and evening dinner. the reception staff were very ready to help and assist us with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

having choosen low cost hotel we realised on arrivel big mistake reception staff surly having no coat hangers in bedroom and asking for more pillows we were told to wait untill next morning i did not accept this and got what we needed only because i got angry as did the receptionist who told me it wasnt her job? our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Milan, Italy
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

would not recommend royal hotel in garda Italy, staff @ reception has attaiude, theres a fee to use the room safe of 2 euros per night, 8 euros per to use the internet ( what a joke and rip off ) bar fridge was working, tv was fusy, I think most of all other reviews regarding the royal are very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Mixed feelings about this hotel. Rooms very tacky, with a very uncomfortable mattress and an ineffective aircon. The towels provided, were more like table cloths. Walls must be paper thin as they offer no sound insulation; noises from adjoining rooms often caused disrupted sleep. No wifi in the rooms! Breakfast was good but dinner did not meet expectations. Salads and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The hotel is in need of a refurbishment as it has a 70 style going on that is true but this is a 3 star hotel not a 4 or 5 star. Saying that though the pool is huge and really nice and the food is fair too. Yes it is mostly the same things at breakfast and the juice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question