We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Carlton

Certificate of Excellence
Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 93 | Piazza Sacrati, 44121, Ferrara, Italy
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Carlton
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

566 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016

We came to Ferrara to relax after Florence, before Venice, and it was perfect! Our room was very big and spacious, the bathroom was beautiful, the bed very confortable, and we had a beautiful balcony with an amazing view of Ferrara. With a perfect center location.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
EVVIVAFERRARA, Direttore at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review

I'm glad to read your review Michelle F. Certainly Ferrara is a perfect location between Venice and Florence, It's a city pretty and calm to spend some days. Thank you so much. The best Regards Paolo Colombarini - general manager More 

Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016 via mobile

In the heat of Ferrara, close to Este Castle and nestled in the shops along Via Garibaldi, the Carlton is well located to see the central sites of town. It's a 15 to 20 minute walk to the train station over sometimes rough pavement, but you pass by the medieval city walls. Bath was large, very clean, with a very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas G
EVVIVAFERRARA, Direttore at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review

Thank you very much to share with us your experience Nicholas G. I hope to will chose Carlton again the next future. Kind Regards Paolo Colombarini - general manager More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here recently and was disappointed. My room (320) was small and greatly out dated. The heating system was out of control resulting in a very hot night's sleep. The bath room was actually a reasonable size but unless you are a size 4 or below forget about fitting in the shower. B/fast is nothing special and as long as... More 

Helpful?
Thank ANP123
EVVIVAFERRARA, Direttore at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review

Dear ANP123 We are desolate for your comment. We hope to do better for your next overnight stay in Ferrara! Regards Paolo Colombarini - general manager More 

Lincoln
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2015 via mobile

As I've already said, excellent breakfast, and nice rooms with good service. Room was standard with a comfy bed. The fridge in the room was handy, but no tea / coffee facilities, abs the fridge was very small (mini bar oriented). Good Internet. The only thing letting it down is the very expensive parking (20€ per day).

Helpful?
Thank Alex M
EVVIVAFERRARA, Direttore at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review

Thank you Alex M, for your review. I'm desolate about the parking cost. For your next time in Ferrara, I remember you our garage at the price of 15€ per night! Kind Regards Paolo Colombarini - Manager More 

Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015 via mobile

Having never been too italy before but my partner living. There I wasn't sure where too book. I'm not disappointed at all by booking here it was amazing from start too finish. We stayed on the 3rd floor, the room was Beautiful and modern and was just perfect for what we wanted. The hotel itself is modern and very high... More 

Helpful?
Thank turnerfamily6
EVVIVAFERRARA, Direttore at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review

Dear turnerfam, thank you so much for your review. We will wait for your next visit!! Best Regards Paolo Colombarini - manager More 

Amherst, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

Our room was tiny, expensive, and overlooking a wall. But far worse than that was the surprisingly rude man at the front desk. Possibly because of the location of the room, the wifi connection was quite slow. The room was clean, and that's about the only thing that was satisfactory.

Helpful?
Thank JudyAmherst
EVVIVAFERRARA, Direttore at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I kindly want to answer you (I'm who you called "rude man"). People have to know that you booked a double single use room through booking.com and We asked you, at the moment of your reservation, an extra charge to use the double room booked for two people (You arrived at the front desk with another person). For... More 

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015

I had a very good time in Ferrara at the hotel Cartlon. Very close to the city center with an affordable price. Room was very nice, clean and comfortable. People at the reception always provided me all the information and helped me with my needs.

Helpful?
1 Thank uollter
EVVIVAFERRARA, Direttore at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review

Dear uollter, thank you for your review about Carlton Hotel. Waiting to meet you again send you our best regards Paolo Colombarini - manager More 

Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015

Nice hotel located downtown. Friendly staff and free wifi. The room was clean and quiet. Good breakfast with wide selection. I appreciated the tray full of free and fresh apples and pears to welcome guests at the reception. Just 2 negative points: the bathroom was large but it featured a small sink and a small bidet which were nice but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura C
EVVIVAFERRARA, Direttore at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review

Thank you dear Laura C for your review about us. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Paolo Colombarini - manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

Great location, rooms clean and beds comfy. Tea facilities in room although no coffee and no milk in any shape or form which unless you like fruit teas makes the facility pointless although you could but milk and keep it in the mini bar fridge if you wanted. You can hire bikes from the reception for €6 a day or... More 

Helpful?
Thank jayne b
EVVIVAFERRARA, Direttore at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review

Dear jayne, thank you so much for your review. Regards Paolo Colombarini - manager More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

Excellent Hotel in a nice location. Close to local attractions and restaurants. Room was great and as shown in photos. Excellent Buffet Breakfast with wide variety. Room cleaned daily. Nice bathroom and shower.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ahmedharis
EVVIVAFERRARA, Direttore at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review

Dear ahmedhari, we appreciated a lot what you wrote. Thank you for spending your time with us The best regards Paolo Colombarini - general manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

141 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
0:58
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ferrara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Annunziata
Hotel Annunziata
#1 of 34 in Ferrara
4.5 of 5 stars 1,426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#6 of 34 in Ferrara
4.0 of 5 stars 874 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Prati
Hotel De Prati
#2 of 34 in Ferrara
4.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ferrara
Hotel Ferrara
#7 of 34 in Ferrara
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#3 of 34 in Ferrara
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orologio Hotel Ferrara
Orologio Hotel Ferrara
#11 of 34 in Ferrara
4.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay