We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Santa Chiara

Via dei Colli 50, 53042 Chianciano Terme, Italy
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Santa Chiara
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Santa Chiara
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    9
    12
    2
See reviews for
10
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (68)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

2 nights accommodation part of a tour group. Room was dirty, dust everywhere. Bathroom a mess, with toilet seat unfixed (repaired it myself), no soap trays in the shower, toilet roll holder missing and few towels. No air conditioning available, despite high temperatures for time of year. Restaurant staff helpful, but demanding that the hotel tax be paid in cash,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

We stayed here as part of a tour, and for the most part everyone in our group hated this hotel. My chief complaints were an uncomfortable bed, mediocre food, dated decor and a geriatric atmosphere. The best thing about this hotel, though, is Helena, who works the front desk among other things. She made our stay, despite the fact that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers are raving about these Chianciano Terme hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

We have just come back from the classic Italy Tour (13-20 Sept '14) and stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. Enjoyed our stay here. Staff very helpful and cheerful. Very clean, food very good plenty of it. Better than hotel Danier in Sorrento. Maybe they need to come here for a few lessons. Rooms basic and clean showers need... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lytham St Annes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Really nice hotel and staff were happy to go out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. As a Coeliac needing a gluten-free diet they were most accommodating. Thank you. If you get a chance visit the local Cantina for a Chianti wine-tasting.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed at the Santa Chiara on the second leg of classic Italy tour by Newmarket. Hotel was fine if a little careworn. Staff are extremely friendly and the food is delicious and plentiful (five courses at dinner) rooms are basic but clean, however the hotel does turn off the air conditioning in the evening which made for both uncomfortable and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here as the second stage of my Classic Italy Tour with Newmarket Holidays and was delighted to find a clean, modern, well decorated and laid out hotel with cheerful, friendly and courteous staff. The whole party of 51 were given the keys to their rooms and directed to the appropriate lifts; I was amazed to discover that the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
paolacorvi, Direttore at Hotel Santa Chiara, responded to this review
Google Translation

E' stato un grande piacere leggere le parole gentili che ha usato parlando di noi, dell'hotel e dei servizi che... More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were well looked after by friendly staff and our group of 15 quickly warmed to them. Dinners were very good (4 Courses) and swiftly served by so few waiting staff. Rooms were clean and made up each day and contained what was advertised. We stayed for four nights and thoruoghly enjoyed our stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights as part of the Classic Italy (Newmarket) trip. I admit that the fact we had an appallingly obnoxious tour manager coloured our stay, but coming home with flea bites on our legs didn't help! The beds had old fashioned prickly blankets (so unhygienic) and the bathroom was dirty. The staff were excellent as was the food,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
King's Lynn
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Santa Chiara is a fine budget hotel with clean rooms, pleasant public areas and good surroundings. The lift is very small (hard to change) and most of the shower doors need a bit of maintenance (easy). However, it is the charming staff who really made the hotel a good choice for our four-night stay. The waitresses are cheerful and obliging,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
paolacorvi, Direttore at Hotel Santa Chiara, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to write about our hotel, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the service you received. Unfortunately we cannot change the dimensions of the lifts for architechtural purposes but we have engaged a local company to see to the maintenance of the fixtures during the winter period. We... More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here in September 2013 as part of Newmarket holidays Classic Italy tour. Rooms Clean and spacious, Staff friendly, however, Oh My Goodness the Food was awful. Very unimaginative, tasteless and Cold. Even the Fruit Juice in the morning was watered down and it was a game guessing the flavour. Stayed 4 nights but had to eat out twice, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
paolacorvi, Direttore at Hotel Santa Chiara, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with our menu however my waiting staff offered you alternatives which you refused. We pride ourselves on sourcing local products and offering a taste of our regional cuisine but as you chose to eat elsewhere every night there is little else we can add. Fortunately 93% of our British, French,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay