We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Villa Cilnia

#5 of 31 Hotels in Arezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Montoncello, 27 | Bagnoro d'Arezzo, 52040 Arezzo, Italy
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Cilnia
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Villa Cilnia
Add Photo

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    46
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
40
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (68)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The friendly staff welcomed us to this beautiful hotel a little outside arezzo. We enjoyed a fantastic dinner. Loved the flan, a recommendation from the very friendly waiter. Unfortunately, also very nicely renovated, our room had a tiny window, which gave it a bunker like feeling as only the artificial light illuminated the room. Apparently to keep the historic feeling...... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillaCilnia, Responsabile reception at Villa Cilnia, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy you enjoyed the dinner and hopefully the stay too. All the rooms have been recently renovated, maintaining and preserving the original design of the Villa that cannot be altered, therefore the top window of some of our rooms are typical and original. In the main building, we have different... More 

Bloomfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while touring around Tuscany area. We had some trouble finding the hotel initially when the GPS in our rental car and the google map gave different directions and neither was correct. We finally located the place based on the driving instruction from the hotel booking email. It is situated on a hill... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillaCilnia, Responsabile reception at Villa Cilnia, responded to this review

Dear guest, We would like to thank you for your review and for the nice words you have spent. It has been also a pleasure for us having you as guests. Sometimes GPS does not work well and reaching us it can be hard. For this reason, we send an e-mail with the proper instructions to reach us. Thank you... More 

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at beautiful Villa Cilnia for one night during a short stay in Tuscany. The hotel was very quiet and unfortunately the restaurant was closed. The room looked very nice, but it turned out to have some imperfections that could not be solved. The fridge didn't work and the light in the bathroom was broken. Because it was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillaCilnia, Responsabile reception at Villa Cilnia, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Our apologies for the inconvenience you have found during your night at Villa Cilnia. Regarding the room, our basic rooms are small but comfortable. Due to their size, they are equipped with only one small table. I’m afraid, probably it was not possible to change you the room. If we had known about the bulb we would have... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We had planned only a one night stay on our travels around Tuscany, and now regret that we couldn't stay any longer. Although only a couple of miles outside of Arezzo, it felt incredibly rural and peaceful, with its own vineyard lining the impressive drive up to the Villa. Our room was very chic, the spa/wellness centre was beautifully serene... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights whilst touring around the area. It is very easy to visit Cortona, and Perugia The hotel is just on the outside of Arezzo situated on a hill overlooking the vines. There are great views from the terraces. The staff are extremely helpful. We eat in the restaurant twice and the food was excellent. We really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We booked a last minute trip to Tuscany and finding this hotel was pure fluke. We had a really lovely time here, it's a great location to explore from, whilst having the peace and quiet and views you'd expect of Tuscany. Free shuttle into Arezzo available morning and early evening, and not expensive to get a taxi back. Wouldn't walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Virginia Beach
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We literally stumbled onto Villa Cilnia after cancelling a reservation at a hotel further away from Arezzo, that would not work with our "no-car" situation. WHAT A FIND! This place could write the book on customer service and helpfulness. From being greeted with freshly made expresso while we were checking in, to bringing a beautiful salad and antipasto plate to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Long Island City, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed at the Villa Cilinia for only two days mid June, I wish it could have been more! The facilities are wonderful, the beautiful outdoor pool, the spa and the gorgeous views could not be beat. This was a perfect location 10 mins to Arezzo, and a comfortable driving distance to Cortona, I traveled with two family's with older... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ponteland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We have just spent a week at Villa Cilnia in Arezzo and were very impressed by the service, rooms, and staff. The hotel and spa is superbly desigigned with a fantastic restaurant offering high quality food and wine at very reasonable prices and the service was superb by very friendly and knowledgable staff. The location is stunning with fantastic views... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VillaCilnia, addetto front-office at Villa Cilnia, responded to this review

Dear guests, we thank you very much and we really appreciate your lovely review. For your kindness and courtesy It has been a pleasure also for us to have you as guests,and sincerely we do hope to have you here again in the near future. All the best. Kind regards, all the staff More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Villa Cilnia has it all, location, views, spa, good wine and good food however for us something was missing. The spa was good and we had two massages which were "ok" however for over 120 Euros I expected it to be very good. The room was well appointed and a lovely view. Dinner was ok again, good food and good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VillaCilnia, Responsabile reception at Villa Cilnia, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your review. We are glad that you have appreciated the most important characteristics of our place: the location, the view, the spa, the wine and the food…so we don’t really understand what you may have missed…and thank you for your remark upon our staff, which is an essential and dynamic part of the Villa. Nevertheless,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay