We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pier House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Harbour Front, Charlestown, St Austell PL25 3NJ, England
Special Rate
Special Offers
The Pier House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
ljm250 Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    139
    91
    35
    8
    11
See reviews for
40
155
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (284)
  • Mar-May only
    (63)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (109)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (70)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Charlestown is a small Cornish village and the location of The Pier House makes the most of the harbour view. We were lucky enough to have a warm evening so we could sit on the terrace and watch the local children jumping into the harbour while we ate. Unfortunately we had a poor room, no 5. Having booked through Booking.com... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
254 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This place was so popular when we walked past at lunchtime that we vowed to come back that evening. Ideally located right on the Harbour and with a diversemenu, we were very happy with our seafood pancake and rump steak. Would recommend reserving a table because of its popularity.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Popped in today for lunch. When my husband ordered he asked THREE times for the children's sandwiches to be split onto two plates. He also asked for no chutney. They arrived on one plate, with chutney. We asked the waitress to replate it and I got the feeling it was too much like hard work! The children and my husband... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Columb Major, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having just bought a house in Charlestown, we wanted to start exploring the local pubs/bars. Went to Pier House Hotel a couple of days ago and was extremely impressed with the quality of the food we ordered, i.e. a Steak and Brie Baguette and Jambalaya. Both dishes were well presented, piping hot, delicious and great value. On the basis of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just stayed here for 4 nights in Room 3, which enjoys a fab view of the harbour. We used the hotel as a base for visiting villages and towns around and found it really well situated for that. Staff were friendly, food was good, spotlessly clean and comfortable. Bit pricey but we feel paid a slight premium to wake up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

At a recent funeral the wake was held at The Pier House Hotel. They gave us a room to ourselves which had a bar attached next door. The view was of a pretty cornish quayside and all we needed was the sun to shine. The food that they provided was a finger buffet with some lovely sandwiches and some beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a wonderful hotel... The room was great; looked recently refurbished, offering all amenities, the staff were extremely friendly, the food was fabulous and the views spectacular. There is no lift and so those that don't feel like a stair climb with luggage may find it difficult. On Saturday evenings there is a live band in the adjoining Harbourside Inn;... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although this hotel is in a great location on Charlestown Harbour we were disappointed with the overall experience. Room was ok but lacking any charm - felt more like a room for business travellers. We found the dinner overpriced and distinctly average, and the service and attitude of the staff a bit hit and miss - but the worst thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently stayed a night at the Pier House. Our room was very recently renovated, it was spacious and had a great bathroom. The location of the hotel is fantastic being right at quayside over loooking Charlestown harbour. Great area for coastal walks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Absolutely awful, got stuck with Room 25, Oh NO!! WHAT A TORTURE CHAMBER! Not told room was on top of noisy pub \ disco\ live entertainment venue also owned by Hotel company. Music began at 9-30 pm, finished at 2-00 am! Could hear every bump and thump ,all the rubbish live music. Just as you thought it couldn't get any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PierHouseHotel, General Manager at The Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

We are really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay at The Pier House Hotel. We did not have any live entertainment during your stay and both the Harbourside Inn and our Public Bar both close at midnight. We find it difficult to understand your comments and can only think that the noise was coming from another establishment. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (75)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
0.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 10 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 stars 992 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn St Austell
Premier Inn St Austell
#2 of 10 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 stars 526 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Trenython Manor
Trenython Manor
#1 of 1 in Par
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cliff Head Hotel
Cliff Head Hotel
#9 of 10 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
1.6 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#7 of 10 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay