We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rancho Viejo Resort

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1 Rancho Viejo Drive, Rancho Viejo, TX 78575
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rancho Viejo Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rancho Viejo Resort
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    10
    6
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
2
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (22)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We actually booked this "resort" bc of the pool. We had one night in the area and wanted a little down time away from the island. Pros: 1.You can see attached pics. The pool is really pretty and well maintained. 2.The pool staff were incredibly nice, available for food/drink service and even let me charge my cell. 3.The rooms were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

What a secret place. They've taken a few homes on the water and converted them into 4 plexs in order to rent . Very quiet, very nice beds, kinda sultry views if you have a partner. Two issues; You must be under 5' in height to enjoy the shower. My Driver was to big to fully clear the room of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Youngstown, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

i have been part of a group going to Rancho Viejo for a golf getaway for 15 years. What a find! We have enjoyed all the golf we could possibly want and more. The offering of a variety of cuisines in the immediate area have been enough to satisfy the cravings of each one of us and there is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woodstock, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

I brought my family to Rancho Viejo last week for a four night stay. I had read a couple of negative reviews so I was a little nervous. I now assume the negative reviews are from those same people that give bad feedback at each hotel they stay at in order to get some kind of discount. Our stay was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014 via mobile

Overpriced, dirty limited and poorly kept golf course. Roaches in the room. Gross! Not worth 200 dollars. Stay at la Quinta. Pompous staff members. A feeling of "you should feel privileged to be at our gross motel." Worst place to call itself

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GerardoGonzalez, Manager at Rancho Viejo Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for feedback regarding your stay with us. I sincerely apologize for the issues that you experienced; our hotel works hard to ensure the comfort and satisfaction of our guest and we are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback with our team so we may lear form where we failed you.... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

We had our company sales meeting at Rancho Viejo in October 2014. The food at the club house was top notch as well ast the staff. Our rooms were well keps and the location was quite and relaxing. The property is absolutly beautiful and full southern heritage and history.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Connie H, Director of Sales at Rancho Viejo Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to tell us about your experience. Please know we will work diligently to continue to give our guests the best service/experience possible. More 

Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

I had to travel to S. Texas for a 3 week business trip that had me commuting between Harlingen and Brownsville Texas. I was fortunate to have stayed at the Rancho Viejo Ranch conveniently located between the two cities. Pros: The grounds of the resort were kept up nicely and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. I stayed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cedar Hill, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Our group of more than 10 people was accommodated well throughout our stay at Rancho Viejo. The on-campus restaurant served delicious food during both of our meals there, the staff remained helpful (even with the changes that needed to be made somewhat last minute), and the facilities are beautiful as the well manicured golf course and suites create a nice,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

My husband and I wanted a midweek getaway before going on a weekend family vacation and selected Rancho Viejo as our two day golfing vacation. We were very pleasantly greeted and checked in easily. The one bedroom villa was lovely and had a beautiful view of the water and the golf course. The golf course itself is great, and it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This place has the potential to be a destination resort to me, but where it is now just doesn't cut it, especially for the price. This is exactly what I would imagine a Motel 6 resort would be like. PROS: Nicely situated close to both Harligen and Brownsville. The gold course looked well kept. CONS: The villas themselves were outdated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Connie H, Director of Sales at Rancho Viejo Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our Resort. We value your comments and promise to continue to find ways to improve the overall experience for your next visit. We welcome the opportunity to once again be your host facility on your next travels. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Viejo
24.7 mi away
Ramada Limited South Padre Island
Ramada Limited South Padre Islan...
#13 of 33 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
13.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Harlingen
25.0 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#16 of 33 in South Padre Island
3.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Los Fresnos Inn & Suites
Los Fresnos Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Los Fresnos
4.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Harlingen
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brownsville North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Ready to book?