We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Portwrinkle hotels

Whitsand Bay Hotel

Bookmark
You added Whitsand Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Portwrinkle PL 11 3BU, England
Hotel amenities
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portwrinkle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portwrinkle
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    103
    22
    25
    17
See reviews for
79
150
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (367)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (88)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (112)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (105)
All months
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just finished a four day stay at the hotel having been party to an organised mixed golf competitions with the adjacent golf course. The hotel and the golf course both owned and run by the Phillips family. This is my seventh visit ,ask for the tower room, views of the course,bay sea, and a unique and quirky lay out. A... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard E, Guest Relations at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Really lovely to read how much you and your group all enjoyed your 4 day stay with us. After 7 visits, we naturally consider you as part of the family now. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to extending another warm and friendly welcome to you in the... More

penzance
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for a night whilst walking the coast path. Fantastic location on the coast path with amazing views. The building and rooms are lovely although quite tired around the edges. Breakfast was very nice with a good selection of fruit, yogurts and pastries. We had opted for the 3 course dinner and as the hotel insists on a dress... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard E, Guest Relations at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this review

We are saddened and apologise that on this occasion our kitchen team made mistakes during dinner service to you. We immediately acknowledged, apologised and appropriately adjusted your bill at the time. We love to see our guests enjoying our fantastic location, stunning views and friendly service and typically receive volumes of regular praise for our freshly cooked food. We are... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I cannot rate this hotel highly enough! Having just spent the most amazing weekend at Whitsand Bay Hotel with 30 of my close friends and family to celebrate my 50th birthday I would like to thank the Phillips family and their staff for helping to create such a special weekend. All of my guests were blown away by the stunning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard E, Guest Relations at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for offering such lovely feedback. It was our pleasure to host your 50th Birthday celebration weekend. Great to read that you all enjoyed delicious food and had such a good time together. We all look forward to seeing you again. More

Portsmouth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very average Sunday lunch with soggy roast potatoes, prawns from Iceland, and manky new potatoes. Service was below average with Untrained, clueless kids waiting on tables. When asked if everything was alright and I said it wasn't the lady at reception said she was sorry about it but didn't ask anything further? Will not be going back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard E, Guest Relations at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry to read that you did not enjoy aspects of your roast Sunday lunch. Had we known, our restaurant manager would have happily replaced any dishes at your table. It seems such a shame that you did not raise any points with her or any of the waiting staff at the time of being served or eating... More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On 11th Sept booked a table for lunch to treat an old schoolfriend of my wife. The food as usual was fine and the cost was still very reasonable. Our guest, a 70-year-old lady approached a waitress and asked to order drinks, which drew the response that she had to do so at the bar at the other end of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard E, Guest Relations at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for offering valuable feedback. Whilst you did enjoy good food for lunch at very reasonable costs, we also note and appreciate your previous glowing reviews and references to many consistently enjoyable visits for lunch. As it is now November and time has passed since your visit in September, we hope you appreciate that this limits us in terms... More

Cheltenham - UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is our third time at this hotel in as many years. Our room was clean, comfortable and commanded a fantastic view of the sea with the Eddystone Lighthouse on the horizon. All the staff were genuinely friendly and accommodating (particularly the girls in the restaurant - thank you for looking after us so well). The food was absolutely superb,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Howard E, Guest Relations at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience and delighted to read how much you enjoyed your 3rd visit to Whitsand Bay Hotel. As a family, we also take a great pleasure from our local beaches and the wider stretches of spectacular coastal walks - the dogs love them too! We are thrilled that you are already talking about your 4th visit,... More

Alcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Had a great long weekend at the hotel, location is great as is the food which was really good. Liked the feel of the hotel warm and friendly staff. Just a very nice place to be. Only down side was room 2 which is awful, lacks character and felt like a barn. Stopped it being excellent. Would not put us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We stayed here in September 2014 and it was dreadful. We were given top floor rooms which were sadly in need of renovation. The bed had surely been there for 100 years - it sagged so badly. The lid on the bathroom pedal bin kept flying off and eventually was removed altogether by cleaning staff. The tap on the bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard E, Guest Relations at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this review

It is naturally concerning to read that you did not enjoy your stay as much as your parents told us ‘they did’. We were very truthful, clear & transparent about availability and remaining room options to accommodate improved access for your parents. We were also clear & reluctant to release an ‘out of service’ room, and only agreed on the... More

sevenoaks
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Returned to this hotel for our third visit in just over a year. The welcome was as warm as ever, the service first class and all with a smile and as other reviewers have said the food, both breakfast and dinner, are excellent. The rooms all vary but those at the front have wonderful sea views and are comfortable and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard E, Guest Relations at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and lovely feedback. Our most compelling recommendation is when guests return to enjoy another stay with us, and we were delighted to welcome you back for your 3rd visit. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

First visited this place more than ten years ago, back then the food and hospitality was excellent but the fabric of the building needed attention. On our recent stay great to see that the food was still excellent (great breakfast) and that the rooms had been upgraded. Our room overlooking the sea was just fine. Played a couple of rounds... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard E, Guest Relations at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Delighted to read that you returned and enjoyed another great stay with excellent food and a few rounds of coastal golf. Thank you for your kind recommendations and we look forward to extending another warm welcome in the future. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Whitsand Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsand Bay Hotel

Address: Portwrinkle PL 11 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Portwrinkle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Hotel Whitsand Bay
Whitsand Bay Torpoint
Whitsand Bay Hotel Portwrinkle, Cornwall

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (94)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Whitsand Bay Hotel

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Top-rated Attractions Nearby