We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Portwrinkle hotels

Whitsand Bay Hotel

Save Saved
You added Whitsand Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Portwrinkle PL 11 3BU, England
Hotel amenities
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portwrinkle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portwrinkle
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    102
    21
    23
    17
See reviews for
78
148
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (361)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (88)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (106)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (105)
All months
Alcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a great long weekend at the hotel, location is great as is the food which was really good. Liked the feel of the hotel warm and friendly staff. Just a very nice place to be. Only down side was room 2 which is awful, lacks character and felt like a barn. Stopped it being excellent. Would not put us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here in September 2014 and it was dreadful. We were given top floor rooms which were sadly in need of renovation. The bed had surely been there for 100 years - it sagged so badly. The lid on the bathroom pedal bin kept flying off and eventually was removed altogether by cleaning staff. The tap on the bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sevenoaks
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Returned to this hotel for our third visit in just over a year. The welcome was as warm as ever, the service first class and all with a smile and as other reviewers have said the food, both breakfast and dinner, are excellent. The rooms all vary but those at the front have wonderful sea views and are comfortable and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard E, Guest Relations at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and lovely feedback. Our most compelling recommendation is when guests return to enjoy another stay with us, and we were delighted to welcome you back for your 3rd visit. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First visited this place more than ten years ago, back then the food and hospitality was excellent but the fabric of the building needed attention. On our recent stay great to see that the food was still excellent (great breakfast) and that the rooms had been upgraded. Our room overlooking the sea was just fine. Played a couple of rounds... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard E, Guest Relations at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Delighted to read that you returned and enjoyed another great stay with excellent food and a few rounds of coastal golf. Thank you for your kind recommendations and we look forward to extending another warm welcome in the future. More

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Don't expect modernism. This hotel is over 100 years old. Rooms are warm and comfortable. Food is excellent, a varied dinner menu, well cooked and ample portions. Breakfasts are first class and served with a smile. If you stay here you don't need lunch! Play golf instead. Not a long course, but challenging enough for holiday golf. We'll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard E, Guest Relations at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind recommendation. We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, including cooked breakfasts, evening dinners and rounds of golf. We look forward to extending a warm welcome when you return for another visit to Whitsand Bay. More

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been involved in golf holidays at Whitsand Bay Hotel for nearly 30 years - the hotel has changed hands once in that time completely seamlessly. The food is excellent especially the dinners and the breakfasts seem to be cooked to order. The golf is extraordinary - a test for the most accurate of golfers yet strangely forgiving to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard E, Guest Relations at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind recommendation, loyalty and valued custom stretching over 30 years. Our coastal golf course is a real gem and one of the reasons why many regularly return to stay, enjoy our hospitality and our unique coastal position. Please accept our warmest regards and we look forward to extending another genuinely warm welcome. More

Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We ate here with friends,I would describe food as average,much the same as I could do at home. When eating out I like something with a bit extra. As per a previous review I was not impressed with paper table clothes,better nothing at all and good table mats. We were not advised that coffee is always served in the lounge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard E, Guest Relations at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for offering feedback. Our 2 courses for £11 bistro menu is very popular at lunch with most of our guests, mainly because if provides truly exceptional value in a relaxed, informal bistro setting – not to mention the fabulous views, which are equally popular. Our A la Carte dinner menu does offer a far greater range of different... More

Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went here for a round of golf and lunch. Hotel receptionist was miserable and truly unhelpful. The venue is in a lovely spot but very, very tired, and really needs updating. The paper table cloths in the restaurant, the dire faded photographs on the wall, and the attitude of the serving and bar staff all need replacing. You get the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard E, Guest Relations at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were unhappy with elements of service, however make no apology for paper tablecloths in our Bistro where we serve a selection of tasty bistro classic dishes during lunch. Our bistro menu is particularly popular and offers exceptional value, as regularly indicated by other reviewers. We do use formal linen table attire but only in our... More

London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent one night here whilst walking coast path. The hotel is quite a sight in a small place like Portwrinkle - an imposing Victorian gothic building. The public rooms are very impressive with excellent sea views. We had a good room with great sea view from both windows...although the bathroom could do with a bit of a spruce up. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard E, Guest Relations at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and recommendation. Our hotel is in an ideal coastal position for walking the South West Coast Path and we hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your walk. We will share your lovely feedback with our team and hope to extend another warm and friendly welcome to you in the future. More

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is a beautiful old building with stunning views and delicious food. Unfortunately, the hotel is in need of a substantial amount of renovation work and the rooms require updating. Our room was tiny and we could hardly get into the shower. Also, the staff are shabbily attired and have no idea how to serve in the restaurant but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard E, Guest Relations at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed beautiful food with 'views to die for' from our hotel and coastal golf course. However, on behalf of all our guests, we don't agree with your ageist remark. Our unique coastal position does prevent mobile signal reaching us and the Cornish stone used to build our hotel has a metallic element which... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage Whitsand Bay Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Whitsand Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsand Bay Hotel

Address: Portwrinkle PL 11 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Portwrinkle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Hotel Whitsand Bay
Whitsand Bay Torpoint
Whitsand Bay Hotel Portwrinkle, Cornwall

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (94)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay