We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hurworth-On-Tees | County Durham, Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington DL2 2DU, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Rockliffe Hall
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rockliffe Hall to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Anne S Morpeth, United Kingdom
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    140
    50
    21
    19
See reviews for
161
574
14
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1197)
  • Mar-May only
    (276)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (319)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (329)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (273)
All months
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Spent three days over the weeked at Rockcliffe Hall. First visit. Wonderful building and immaculate grounds - looked great in the sunshine which we were lucky to have over all three days. Beautiful hotel - well furnished and decorated. Agree with previous reviewer that the Orangery Restaurant Tasting Menu was excellent (especially the bread buns which were made to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Osmotherley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Have stayed here 3-4 times now - does seem to get better each time Stayed in one of the 2 bedroom apartments last night - one double and one single room - ideal for our family - Spa is excellent at Rockcliffe and certainly the service overall was first class Nice touch to leave flowers for my wife as booked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A few friends and I attended the winter warmer twilight spa for my 30th Birthday. The hotel and surroundings are beautiful, i just love this place. This was my first visit to the spa and all i can say is wow! this has got to be the nicest spa i have been too. The facilities are fantastic and all of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our second visit to Rockliffe, having spent a weekend there in January 2013. We had enjoyed our first experience so much that we were very much looking forward to our stay. Rockliffe is a very well appointed resort. The Spa has excellent facilities, the room (a superior double) was tastefully appointed and excellently equipped, and the staff range... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Billingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I haven't stayed at hotel but visited spa on a twilight deal recently. The food was lovely but has turned out to be the most expensive tapas I have ever had. The hotel looked really lovely and the spa changing rooms were immaculate. However as soon as we stepped into the spa it was like being at a train station... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matlock, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I had the pleasure of experiencing the superb environment which is Rockcliffe Hall Hotel and Spa, near Darlington this weekend. We booked as there was an event based on Busdy Holly including a two course meal and having had the venue recommended by a friend this appeared to be the ideal opportunity. The hotel is advertised as five star and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rockliffe_Hall_Hotel, Chief Executive at Rockliffe Hall, responded to this review

Dear Susan W, Thank you for taking the time to share the review of your stay and experience of the Buddy Holly event at Rockliffe Hall, it is wonderful to know you had such an enjoyable visit. Your very kind words have been shared with the team, who strive every day to ensure you, the guest, has the most pleasurable... More 

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The setting was fantastic as was the food which was of the highest quality. We had the taster Menu unfortunately the last course took a full hour to arrive and it was not what I ordered. This was a shame as the meal was of the highest quality. We did however have issues with the room in the Tiplady suite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rockliffe_Hall_Hotel, Chief Executive at Rockliffe Hall, responded to this review

Dear Mark P, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Rockliffe Hall on tripadvisor, feedback both positive and negative is very valuable to myself and the team, and I have discussed your review with the team at length. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us, however, of course I was disappointed there... More 

Washington, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have stayed at Rockliffe a number of times, however the last time there was a number of issues which were addressed with the reception manager. Our stay was a Friday night and i did not get a response about these issues until Wednesday (not good for 5 star) where they said it had been passed to their new CEO... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
durham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a fantastic hotel and we had a lovely relaxing break. We stayed in a junior suite and everything was of the highest standard. Big room, king sized, comfortable bed, all first class facilities. The spa was near our room and we enjoyed using all the facilities. Staff made us feel welcome from first walking in. David helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rockliffe_Hall_Hotel, Chief Executive at Rockliffe Hall, responded to this review

Dear durhamcouple, Thank you for sharing your experience at Rockliffe Hall on tripadvisor, and wow thank you for your 5-star review. I am so pleased to hear you had a lovely relaxing break. I will have great pleasure relaying your kind feedback to the team, and in particular as you mentioned, David, one of our Concierge. Thank you for your... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have stayed at Rockliffe on several occasions and have found every time that staff very are attentive, we always feel as though we are (nearly) royalty when we visit here. Staff are always polite, offering to assist wherever possible. The on site spa is also fabulous with a main pool, sauna, steam room, ice room, and a rather pleasant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rockliffe_Hall_Hotel, Chief Executive at Rockliffe Hall, responded to this review

Dear 20-Abs-13, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent Rockliffe Hall experience with the Tripadvisor community and I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. I have shared your feedback with the team who were also so happy to hear of your whole experience, including your enjoyment of the spa, the hotel and the surroundings we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rockliffe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockliffe Hall

Address: Hurworth-On-Tees | County Durham, Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington DL2 2DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington > Hurworth-on-Tees
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rockliffe Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Rockliffe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockliffe Hall Hotel Hurworth-On-Tees
Rockliffe Hall Hurworth-On-Tees, United Kingdom - Darlington

344 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (226)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (65)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (53)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (118)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (35)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay