We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rockliffe Hall

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hurworth-On-Tees | County Durham, Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington DL2 2DU, England
Rockliffe Hall
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed today
Mmmwhatsnext Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Rate this Hotel

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    150
    58
    21
    21
See reviews for
172
613
15
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1276)
  • Mar-May only
    (316)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (319)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (329)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (312)
All months
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

We planned to stay at Rockcliffe for my birthday treat having stayed there last month which we really enjoyed! We stayed at Rockcliffe for my birthday on a VIP night away (we spent £760 in total), I can't rate enough how accommodating the staff were and our meal in The Orangery was exceptional! However, within the package me and my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We went as for a Bridal Shower for afternoon tea, and were delighted with the choice. Elegantly presented and dainty portions served to us in traditional way. Plenty of tea and coffee as well. Gluten free version was thoroughly enjoyed- well recommended for this!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

Stayed one night one Friday. Lovely hotel and we have stayed before. Previous stay was in a Tiplady room in the main hotel, which was really nice. This time we were given a Tiplady Lodge room not in the hotel. The room was a little tired and the entrance a bit basic and smelled a bit musty. For the spa... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Upon arrival this hotel has the wow factor! Check in was fast and informative, we were promptly shown to our room which was in the new hall and wow it did not disappoint. It was beautiful and huge and had everything you needed and more, from a fabulous view to a tv in the bath, wish we could have stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rockliffe_Hall_Hotel, Chief Executive at Rockliffe Hall, responded to this review

Dear Caroline2203, Thank you for your ‘wow factor’ review of Rockliffe Hall, and for choosing to stay with us for a 30th Birthday celebration. Your feedback has been shared amongst the team who were pleased this special occasion has been marked with a memorable experience staying with us. Guest feedback is extremely important to us and your comments regarding the... More 

Wallsend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Rockliffe is an exquisite hotel; we'd upgraded our room to a suite overlooking the golf course- we needed 1 more night. 1 night doesn't give you enough time to enjoy the huge room with its 2 chase lounges (spelling correct?) and massive bed, wet room, bath with tv, separate loo, mood lighting, balcony etc. then there are the 2 spas... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rockliffe_Hall_Hotel, Chief Executive at Rockliffe Hall, responded to this review

Dear Richard A, Thank you for your ‘need another night’ review of Rockliffe Hall. Your detailed feedback has been shared amongst the teams who were pleased to hear you enjoyed your bedroom suite and all of its facilities. Guest feedback is very valuable to us, and your constructive words have also been discussed regarding your dining and wine offering. We... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We just managed to get away for one night and started by arriving early for afternoon tea with a pot of Hendrix & tonic. What a wonderful start, it was a beautiful sunny day and the afternoon tea was lovely. By the time we finished, it was time to check in. I had pre booked to have my nails done... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rockliffe_Hall_Hotel, Chief Executive at Rockliffe Hall, responded to this review

Dear Psnt15, Thank you for sharing your experiences at Rockliffe Hall with the Tripadvisor community. Your comprehensive review and wonderful words have been discussed amongst the team. We were so pleased to hear of your enjoyment in the ‘Hendrix and tonic’ Afternoon Tea, Spa and your overall experience noted as a ‘touch of luxury’- we like that phrase - thank... More 

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for his birthday- it really is a luxurious hotel. From the valet parking and the phenomenal spa, you really do feel spoilt whilst staying here. The only downside to Rockliffe is the 5 star price tag. Unfortunately, I was unwell during our stay and wasn't able to make dinner reservations. We opted for room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rockliffe_Hall_Hotel, Chief Executive at Rockliffe Hall, responded to this review

Dear Hannah W, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Rockliffe Hall for your husband’s birthday, and for reviewing your stay on tripadvisor. We were sorry that you were unwell during your stay with us, and hope you have now made a full recovery. We appreciate your kind words regarding the hotel and spa, and hope we can... More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great place the only downside is checking in at 3pm Friday and having to leave 11am Saturday not giving you much spa time. Breakfast was very good and plentiful, the service in the restaurant during breakfast was excellent

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rockliffe_Hall_Hotel, Chief Executive at Rockliffe Hall, responded to this review

Dear Julie S, Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear of your enjoyment in your ‘overnight getaway’ staying with us. Just to note for future, we do offer extended spa usage for hotel residents, this can be taken either on your day of arrival or day of departure from £30 per person. We hope you... More 

barnsley
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

From the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out this was a wonderful experience. The staff were brilliant, the rooms were excellent and the food was perfect. We enjoyed a weekend that we will always remember The spa was an experience, that we would recommend to anyone. The championship golf course was amazing with every hole being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rockliffe_Hall_Hotel, Chief Executive at Rockliffe Hall, responded to this review

Dear BarnsleyRaiders, Thank you for sharing you ‘Wonderful experience from Check In to Check Out’ review of Rockliffe Hall on tripadvisor. Your valuable feedback has been shared amongst the team, who were overwhelmed with your kind feedback and amazing words. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and thank you for your recommendation to others. Kind Regards, Eamonn Elliott... More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

From the stunning approach this hotel promises much and certainly delivers. The Hotel is beautifully appointed with a wealth of amenities and complemented with friendly but courteous staff who all seemed to take pride in their appearance. My room was contemporary and spacious and it is obvious that the designer has paid great attention to detail. My day consisted of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rockliffe_Hall_Hotel, Chief Executive at Rockliffe Hall, responded to this review

Dear David S, Thank you for sharing your experiences at Rockliffe Hall on tripadvisor and providing such an in depth review. Your thoughtful words have been communicated amongst the team, who were overjoyed to receive your most valuable feedback and reflections. The team were also particularly pleased to hear you found such enjoyment in our golf course and the ‘Man... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

355 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (237)
Viewed
Room/suite (71)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (118)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (35)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question