We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Croft Hotel

Dalton Road, Croft-on-Tees DL2 2ST, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Croft Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    71
    59
    37
    18
    15
See reviews for
33
69
4
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (200)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hotel is run down looking from the outside - the reception/bar/reception area is very nice, modern and clean. However drinks not cheap from the bar. We were allocated room 1 which was supposed to be a superior double however it did not resemble anything on the pictures on the internet. The room smelt of damp and when we arrived despite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Popped in for a Sunday roast on the 30th August with friends. We were served the most delicious roast beef platter, full of roast potatoes, slices of beef and the yorkshire puddings were huge!! The vegetables that accompanied our meal were spot on! What a wonderful way to serve a roast dinner. You can help yourself to what you want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A group of 8 handsome, weary cyclists arrived at the hotel after 85 gruelling miles. Utterly exhausted and in need of a shower, the hot water was t working. Whilst we waited, the staff at the hotel were amazing. Craig, Ian and especially Bethan really looked after us. 100% recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived as a bunch of cyclists on a long ride. There was an issue with our hot water but thanks to amazing staff, Craig, Ian and beth, they took great care of us, as compensation... Brill. The rooms were well equipped, clean and comfortable. And beth was our brilliant and lovely waitress. Thanks again

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived after a long day of cycling from Keswick. No hot water when we got here however was quickly sorted out by Ian and Craig. Bethan served our food, good laugh and really looked after us. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I/we have been visiting the Croft since 1978 & have experienced many changes over the years particularly in their cuisine. I have to say generally it is good, but on Sunday 23rd August we called in at approximately 17:00 for a very late lunch & I/we have to say it was very disappointing. Initially, the meal was warm, the vegetables... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Croft is a good clean hotel with friendly staff.. The rooms are ok, with slightly outdated furniture and ours had a sloping floor in the bathroom. The hotel breakfast was a good selection of cereals and a good size full English. The problem was the 2 guys trying to serve us were a bit slow and didn't actually serve... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rob B, Owner at The Croft Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly, thank you for taking the trouble to leave a review. Although the whole content is not positive we do feel that without feedback we can not always improve. I am glad there were many positives with your stay which was tarnished by the time we took to serve you breakfast in the morning. I have to say that I'm... More 

Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found this little gem after taking our son to the Croft Circuit (18th birthday present driving experience!!) we were all absolutely ravenous so this was the first place we came across and it didn't disappoint. Myself and my youngest both ordered the afternoon classic tea. Most satisfying and fantastic value for money. We got egg and cress, lovely thick... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rob B, Owner at The Croft Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More 

Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

We were initially given a room on the front of the hotel, but the staff happily moved us to a room on the back when we asked. The room was perfectly pleasant, but not particularly special. In contrast, the evening meal which we ate in the bar, was really very nice indeed. And breakfast the following morning was also very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rob B, Manager at The Croft Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind review. We take on board your 'room not special' comment, but, as the staff may have told you, the hotel is undergoing a complete refurbishment which should be completed in about 9 months and really hope you will visit us again at which point I'm sure you will feel the rooms are... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

Visited this hotel with my husband after a wedding at Rockliffe Hall. Ideally situated with a 10 minute walk from Rockliffe Hall. Had a very modern bar area and reception. Breakfast was tasty and large. Room was disappointing with tired furniture and bathroom. Overpriced for quality of stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rob B, Manager at The Croft Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review although I am of course disappointed in its content. We are so sorry you felt the hotel didn't represent value which, in its present guise is what we try to deliver. We are however pleased you enjoyed your breakfast, and, hope you will come back and stay with us again in the future when the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croft-on-Tees
3.0 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
0.5 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 stars 1,481 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clow Beck House
Clow Beck House
#1 of 19 in Darlington
5.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#7 of 19 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
8.9 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 stars 2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay