We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Croft Hotel

3.0 of 5 Dalton Road, Croft-on-Tees DL2 2ST, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Croft Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Croft Hotel
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    43
    27
    16
    10
See reviews for
27
50
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (155)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Darlington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked for Sunday lunch. We have previously been several times throughout last year and the food has always been good. This time however what a let down. Beef was ok but not a lot of it, gravy was like water, only veg was some sugar snap peas and some tasteless carrot. A few roast potatoes and Yorkshire pudding attempted to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rob B, General Manager at The Croft Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark A, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent visit. My apologies you felt our food had not been up to our previous standards you had experienced in the past. We are currently making changes to our Gastropub offering, including a Roasted Rib of Beef on a Sunday rather than Topside and have... More 

Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here the night of a wedding. The staff were very helpful friendly and the wedding itself went off without a hitch. The room we stayed in - room 1 - was absolutely freezing. It had a broken, single glazed window letting in the cold, coupled with a broken heating system. Needless to say given it was 27 December... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rob B, General Manager at The Croft Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PFC157, Thank you for taking the time to complete your review, I am sorry there was an issue with the heating in your bedroom on the night you stayed, if you had of called down to the Night Porter that was on shift over the entire night of the wedding he would have most certainly and immediately rectified the... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had lunch in the almost empty restaurant prior to Xmas and the service was terrible. We only had soup and a starter and waited almost 45 minutes to be served. In the end it was a rush to eat as both my guest and I had further appointments to keep that afternoon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rob B, General Manager at The Croft Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ann B, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit and my apologies that you felt the service was so slow on the lunchtime of your visit, I had not been made aware of a complaint on the day so if you could please contact me at the hotel to discuss in further detail. More 

Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

Very recently I booked the function room to host a large dinner for my friends and family for my birthday. Rob made this a very easy and stress free procedure and couldn't have done any more to help us make sure the night was special! First of all, the room looked so lovely! We had half of the function room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rob B, General Manager at The Croft Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nina P, Thank you for your kind words which I will pass on to my team, I am glad you all enjoyed the food and the service you received and we were able to provide you with a memorable experience on your 21st Birthday. I am also glad you father enjoyed the Pork Crackling and indeed I did fetch... More 

Geordieland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014 via mobile

It was a vintique fair event, a warm summers day . The hotel is small and personal but grand too. Sunday lunch - delicious! Surrounding it a perfect little village......ive been back several times with my camera as it's so pretty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rob B, General Manager at The Croft Hotel, responded to this review

Dear toony40, Thank you for the review, I am glad you enjoyed our Craft Fayre and the decor the building now has after our refurbishment in 2012/13. I will pass on your comments regarding the Sunday Lunch you had to our Chefs and Restaurant Team and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. More 

Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

A large group of us recently had our Christmas party there. The room was cold,sparsely decorated,with a small tree in corner.The pre ordered food was well below standard for a'gastro' pub,the leek and potato soup was like water and not even hot. The main course,vegetarian option can only be described as mixed veg floating in dark brown gravy with two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rob B, General Manager at The Croft Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gillsegger, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on the Christmas Party you attended, my sincere apologies that you did not feel our food was at our usual Gastropub quality, we do strive to provide all our guests with good food and service experience whether they dine in the Tea Room, Gastropub or our Banqueting rooms.... More 

Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
57 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

booked late one night, arrived three hours later at nearly midnight, check in was friendly informative and frankly just easy and pleasant, room was large spacious and clean, free w fi, not picking but another chair would have been goo to put clothes on our price included breakfast, which for one was absolutely top notch, faultless, fresh cooked, lovely choice,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rob B, General Manager at The Croft Hotel, responded to this review

Dear robv12, Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I am glad we managed to offer a speedy, friendly and pleasant check in and that you enjoyed the Bedroom size and our Breakfast offering too along with it being good value for money. I will pass on your kind comments to... More 

Novorossiysk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

Four of us had an evening meal on a Friday. Pre drinks, good bottle of wine, 4 mains of various fish dishes and 4 desserts all for a little less than £110, in our view good value. My wife is gluten and dairy intolerant and was very helpfully accommodated. A great evening in good surroundings, just can't understand why it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rob B, General Manager at The Croft Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 501Dave, Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent visit to the Gastropub, I am glad you and your party enjoyed your food and the service. I am also glad we were able to accommodate your wife's dietary requirements with such ease, and that you found us to be value for money and also recommend us in your... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We were attending a wedding at Rockcliffe Hall, which was way out of our price range, we therefore chose this hotel due to its close proximity. On checking in, we had to wait at least 10mins as there was only one member of staff at the desk. We were given a room card and found our way to the room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rob B, General Manager at The Croft Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ann Y, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay, I'm glad you enjoyed the peaceful and comfortable nights sleep and your breakfast in the morning, my sincere apologies for our shortfall on this occasion surrounding the heating in the room and also the window cleanliness, these have now been highlighted to the... More 

Sale, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

We are a family of 4 adults who stayed here for one night this week and felt very lucky to have found this hotel. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. The evening meal and breakfast served in the gastro pub area were lovely. The staff were efficient, friendly and amazingly helpful particularly to my 94 year old father who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rob B, General Manager at The Croft Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GillyW199, Thank you for the positive review on your parties recent stay at the hotel. I am glad you all felt well looked after by the team and will pass your kind comments on to them all. I'm glad you found us to be good value for money and look forward to welcoming you all back in the near... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Croft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croft Hotel

Address: Dalton Road, Croft-on-Tees DL2 2ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Croft-on-Tees
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Croft Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Croft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Croft Hotel Croft-On-Tees
Best Western Darlington
Croft Spa Hotel
Darlington Best Western
Best Western Croft
The Croft Hotel Croft-On-Tees, England

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay