We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

3.0 of 5 Walworth Road, Walworth, Darlington DL2 2LY, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    121
    72
    48
    20
See reviews for
64
242
13
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (457)
  • Mar-May only
    (105)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (134)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (135)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (83)
All months
Hersham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed one night whilst up that way for work. Rooms were clean and comfortable but the bar and lounge areas were the highlight as they are stunning, with roaring fires, and the food was delicious - large portions and very tasty.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very disappointing stay. Rude staff, awful food and hideous room. This visit was bought as a present and was a waste time and money. Room needed updating and the bathroom had no hot water and hadn't seen a cleaner in some time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for one night and would recomend this hotel. I stayed in the annexe but this had an internal corridor to the main hotel. The room was spacious, warm and comfortable. My only slight quibble was the bathroom where the shower was in the bath with a shower curtain which was a bit awkward to draw round and it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AnneE3108, Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We do offer non slip bathmats which are available upon request, and I am sorry if this was not made clear in the guest information pack. I am pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast and I will pass your comments onto the staff who... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here last week in November. 2nights b&b afternoon tea and one evening meal £99 each. Very impressive place a real castle. Staff were very welcoming,it felt like being at home. Not awkward like some places are. The evening meal we had in the pub part. Large portions unfortunately the chicken was over done and the profiteroles were still frozen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fridaydiners, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a family run hotel so I am glad you found it to be a home from home. I will also pass your comments onto Laura for the service she gave to you during your stay. The king... More 

South Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The building itself is lovely and the staff helpful but the rooms are horrible. I rarely give bad reviews but the room I was offered really wasn't a nice place. I have uploaded some photos, but to summarise the bathroom had a terrible smell, mould on the ceiling and some damaged, dirty "artwork" The shower was pretty much a trickle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear stephen7761, Firstly I would like to say how sorry I am that you were unhappy with your room. I can clearly see from the photos you have supplied that there are aspects which are not up to scratch and I can assure you that we are rectifying the problems you have highlighted. I tried to contact you directly to... More 

Okehampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

spent the night in this stunning hotel in one of their Superior rooms, and was very impressed with the décor and character it has, the 4 poster beds were high but very comfortable, most of the furnishings in the rooms matched the building (not all) and there was a lot of dust in the room, but this is just trying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear stuartmoore79, Thank you very much for your recent review. Its really nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have recently upgraded a lot of the mattresses in the hotel so I am pleased that you had a good nights sleep. Hopefully next time you might make it down to breakfast though! We look forward to seeing you... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Needed to stay in the area at short notice and found this hotel. Great staff, steak in the bar was good, cooked exactly as I liked it and staff were friendly without being over the top! Breakfast was one of the nicest I've had in a long time, so no complaints from me. Room was enormous with a 4 poster... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David G, Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you decided to stay with us and I will certainly pass your comments onto the members of staff who served you, and the chefs who prepared your food. We will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More 

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Set in a beautiful old castle, really nice venue for a short break. Rooms could do with a bit of soundproofing, decent breakfast. Only slight issue, we got back there at 21.30, although you could get a drink, it would have been nice if there were a snug little bar to relax in, other than that, would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alan F, Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a comfortable lounge which you could have had a drink in, which is open 24 hours. I am pleased that you are happy to recommend us and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our... More 

North East England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was also part of the group who stayed weekend of 21st November. My opinions are pretty much the same of other members of the party. A beautiful building which is being improved but which seems very awkward at times particularly in terms of delivering food from kitchen to dining room, especially at breakfast. The breakfast was very good but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hectoria, Thank you for your review. Although it appears you a were pleased with some aspects of your stay and disappointed with others. The benefits of operating a hotel within a castle means that it is a beautiful building but some issues such as hot water have been a challenge for us. We have installed a hot water boiler... More 

northumberland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for Friday and Saturday evening as part of a large group using the hotel as a venue for a wine tasting. The castle and public rooms are very impressive, well decorated and an interesting mix or old and new furnishings and fittings. The dining room with the glass atrium roof was a spectacular venue for our meals, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear suzichick, Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall, in particular the function rooms and public areas. I am also pleased that you enjoyed the food which was served to your group. I would like to confirm that we are a privately owned hotel. Best Western are the largest group of independently... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

Address: Walworth Road, Walworth, Darlington DL2 2LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington > Walworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Darlington
Darlington Best Western
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel Darlington

167 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (134)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay