We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Walworth hotels

BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Walworth Road, Walworth, Darlington DL2 2LY, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 22% off stays!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
71%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Walworth
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
kathycookstoo Fort Lauderdale, Florida
  • Reviews (383)
  • Photos (132)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (102)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    97
    55
    43
    17
See reviews for
55
206
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at Walworth Castle Hotel for one night on our driving tour of the UK in May 2014. I had booked it as a lark, just wanting the opportunity to stay at the type of place you can't get back home in the US, but it turned out to be a nice place, not just a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in early July 2014, the staff were very friendly on arrival. The room although needing a little TLC was spacious and the shower was good and parts of the room could have been dusted better (towel rail as an example). However, our room (on first floor), must have been near the kitchen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second visit to Walworth Castle. What you pay for here is the overall experience of staying somewhere different. Both times we have been we have stayed in the main part of the castle and booked a four poster bed. We like the quirkiness of the place, and although some of the furnishings are tired they somehow fit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall quite dissapointed. However the food was very nice and overall external appearance and location of the hotel really good. Let down by attention to detail, management & service levels. Place has great potential & could be so much better.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a 2 night stay booked by my partner as a surprise for me. I had no idea where we were staying..and was given directions and told to 'just drive'!!! I couldn't believe my eyes when I pulled up in front of A CASTLE!!! Throughout our stay, the staff were fabulous, very friendly, professional, smart and polite...the food was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hervey Bay, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at several Best Western Hotels during our visit to the United Kingdom so we were expecting the same level of service. But instead on our arrival we were greeted by a cohort of teens on their Prom so parking wasn't easy. Couldn't get to our room during the evening because of the teens milling around all the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel itself is nice enough and the location/views second to none. My room was large and clean if a bit tatty in places. What let the place down on the nights I visited was the food and service in the restaurant (ignoring the 20 minutes it took for someone to get round to checking me in). On the two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Owls17, Thank you for your recent review. On a positive note I am pleased you enjoyed staying in our hotel, although I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in our restaurant service. Last week was particularly busy due to the number of proms we had at the hotel, although I can assure you that it is not... More

Middlesbrough
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here just for one night as a little treat for ourselves. The surroundings of the Castle are beautiful, as you drive uo to it it is quite an impressive building. The check in was very good and done quickly and efficiently. Our room was "Victoria's Room" which was facing towards the back of the castle.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear miwb13, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your lovely comments onto all concerned and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More

Washington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked an overnight stay as my husband was racing at Croft the next morning. We travel regularly and always stay at Best Westerns but this one was really disappointing. Pros: The location is beautiful, the gardens and views are lovely and it was definitely a real castle so it has lots of atmosphere. The reception, bar and restaurant staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Floridafans, Thank you for your review. On a positive note I am pleased you enjoyed lots of aspects about the hotel, however being such an old building some of our rooms are smaller than others and I am sorry that you were disappointed with the one you were allocated. I have read through your comments regarding your experience in... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

Address: Walworth Road, Walworth, Darlington DL2 2LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington > Walworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Darlington
Darlington Best Western
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel Darlington

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (102)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Darlington's Premier Hotel nestled in 18 acres of Lawns and Woodland is the ideal location for meetings and conferences, wedding receptions and romantic getaways. 32 individually designed bedrooms. Complimentary Wifi access throughout. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
32

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer