We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

3.0 of 5 Walworth Road, Walworth, Darlington DL2 2LY, England
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    112
    64
    48
    19
See reviews for
64
230
11
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (434)
  • Mar-May only
    (105)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (134)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (117)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (78)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I had read a lot of bad reviews so was very nervous of what it would be like, however I was not dissatisfied, the castle is set in stunning surroundings. The staff on reception were friendly told us about the restaurants we could eat in unfortunately the main restaurant was fully booked so never got to try it so we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caroline P, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that the restaurant was fully booked, but we did have the option of the Farmers Bar which could have served that same menu. I know sometimes when reading reviews online, it can give a bad impression, but I am a firm believer of try... More

Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Only a one night stay but everything excellent.. The evening meal was served quickly and hot. The food was good and plentiful. The individually cooked breakfast was of the same excellent standard. The room was all e asked for.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan H, Thank you for posting your recent review. What more do you want when staying in a hotel - excellent service, good and plentiful food served quickly and hot. Excellent cooked breakfast and a room with all you could ask for! Again thank you for your comments they really are appreciated and I will pass them onto everyone... More

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and i recently stayed at this hotel,sadly only for one night as we were travelling home. The hotel was lovely from the historic architecture to the charming furnishings,we could fault anything.the Setting and grounds was just as pleasant. Our room was in the turret with a four poster bed,making a rare treat for us compared to the more... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear andy p, Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will certainly pass your comments onto all involved. Thank you for recommending us and we would love to see you back at our hotel at some point in the future. More

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room smelt musty, window frames on windows rotting. Housekeeper needs to go to specsavers, dust and dirt everywhere. Would not stay here again. Food awful. On a positive the staff were very nice and helpful

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pauline N, I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and I will certainly pass your comments onto the housekeeping team so that we can improve on the service we offer. There is obviously no excuse for a dirty room and I can assure you that I will be looking into our housekeeping procedures to make... More

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited the hotel on the 13th September 2014 on arrival the receptionist checked us in and took my debit card for authorisation, I raised the fact that he had taken £50 out of my account to which he replied that he hadn't and it was just a held amount. I checked my account on the Monday only to find... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephyc247, We are always open to receive constructive criticism about our hotel. But when a customer stays with us and then sends numerous emails after their stay demanding a refund or else reviews like this will appear on Tripadvisor and Twitter, we take this very seriously. When a refund was declined, you decided to complain to Best Western International... More

Richmond, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Only two good things about this one night break. The Birds of Prey Centre situated in the Castle Grounds (Not owned by the same people but quite obviously a good draw to stay at the castle) and the friendly staff in the Farmers Bar. The Castle looks stunning from the outside. We booked a family room in the hotel and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Spud4131, I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. I was actually on reception when you checked in and spoke with you about the birds of prey centre. I am not sure why you didn't mention something at the time of your stay rather than on tripadvisor afterwards. We may have been able to move your... More

Burnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My second stay in this hotel, and a late arrival prevented me from enjoying the restaurant and views which I enjoyed so much the first lime. I was given a large room on the first floor of the West Wing. I have still to try a room in the castle itself, but this one was a pleasant improvement on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter S, Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased that you decided to stay with us again and found the room to be modern and clean. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area. More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a horrible dissapointment. We stayed in the 'west wing',so not in the castle as such. The room was very small and absolutely filthy,cobwebs up the wall,radiater poles(old fashioned radiater) encrusted in dirt and dust months if not years old,ratty old cushions along with what looked like a horse blanket on the bed, An enormous television,migraine inducing facing the bed.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cerip58, Firstly I would like to say that I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room in the west wing. I can understand that it may be disappointing if you are not in the castle but we do try and make it clear on all our literature that the west wing is an annex from the main... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Service - so to be fair all the staff are very friendly and welcoming and very pleasant, but sometimes service could be a little slow (waiting for coffees in the lounge in the evening and honey that came after I'd already finished my porridge in the morning). But for me the small downsides of delays are outweighed by the smiles... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JFLeur, Thank you for your review of our hotel. Being such an old building many of our rooms are of different shapes and sizes and I am sorry that on the occasion you stayed with us you were allocated one of our smaller ones. I am also sorry that you had a lack of hot water as this certainly... More

norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel and I think the service has improved slightly from last time. Definitely stay there again. I think next time I will pay the extra and book a room in the castle itself.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve P, Thanks for taking the time to post your recent review. It is lovely to receive your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

Address: Walworth Road, Walworth, Darlington DL2 2LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington > Walworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Darlington
Darlington Best Western
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel Darlington

154 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (121)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay